Vinyl ~ "Heroes" David Bowie 1977

in #vinyl5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0521.jpg

Way out ahead of everyone... this is what great artists do isn't it? His Berlin era is scary and dark and fantastic. 1977...i can only dimly imagine him and the musicians working on this. This record freaks me out in a way even more now than it did when it came out.

Listen to Joe The Lion. Listen to it loud on an old school stereo with real speakers turned up very loud.

That song references artist Chris Burden! Check him out. Hes famous/infamous for one rather wild scene where he had a friend shoot him in the arm. Yeah. And there's a lot more than that though. Worth a look. How many people get sung about by David Bowie? :)
The album

IMG_0522.jpg

IMG_0523.jpg

IMG_0524.jpg

IMG_0525.jpg

IMG_0526.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I adorevthis song. I often wake up with it in my head.

Posted using Partiko Android

Heroes? It's amazing isn't it. I really need to listen to the "other side" of the record more. I skipped over it mostly. It's not an easy listen in some ways

I dont know it. I wasn't ever really into Bowie, only been appreciating him the last few years, but always liked that track.

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember the first time i heard him. It was Space Oddity. I had gotten a ride to beach to go surfing from an older neighbor who had a drivers license and a car. It came on the radio and i just was sitting there wondering what? What? Who is this? I was just a kid!

Such a great album. And looks like a nice vinyl you goth there. And Bowie's German period I love it's dark experimental influence. As I just turned one in 1977 I love to read about the rock en roll heroes from those days and listen to their music off course.

It was a shock when he broke up the Spiders From Mars band... hard to describe now but he really tweaked everyone hard with the albums after that.

I heard something about that from my dad in my younger days indeed, will do some more reading g about the stardust period and the direct period after that. Love your vinyl posts cause it brings some realy good music to mine attention again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love Bowie, my whole life - still mourning.

Me too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too.

Perhaps i have a strange view that he's only changed form.

He's not really gone.

I don't even have to play the song. I saw the thumbnail and it's in my head. I don't have it on vinyl but I will listen to it as loud as I can. Right now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @rossfletcher! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3750 replies. Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82