😍DRESS MY SHOP WITH ME 😍

in #vintage6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

One of my favourites parts of my job is the shop dressing. After laying out the stock and dressing the floor for five years, I have learnt what goes with what, and can promise you that there are some items that will absolutely surprise you when put together. We often have the most random pieces of furniture and decor, and it's my job to make sure they are displayed properly and in a position that will best highlight the pieces.

I thought it might be fun to share what my process is, and how I go about laying a corner out. We have had this beautiful old desk for yonks now, it has been hidden in a dark corner, just living it's worst life. 😓 I was doing a shuffle over the weekend and decided to use it to in a corner of a room, as they are pretty much dead spaces.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-17 at 15.53.36 (3).jpeg

I started with the old desk, which is a beautiful old Edwardian walnut desk. The top is a just-distressed-enough leather. So, I wondered, "What traditionally goes with a desk?" - BOOOOOKS!!" I had just purchased this super cool set of French dictionaries, so they were the first thing I thought of. It's such a pity the set is missing a book. 😓😓

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-17 at 15.53.36 (1).jpeg

Then, I thought that the desk needed a chair. Traditionally a desk like this would have a sturdy, no nonsense sort of chair, and I wanted to play with that idea. The desk has a lovely warm tone, so I actually just set out to find a red chair, when I found this totally over the top dressing table chair. This thing is off the chain in your face, so I thought it would be fun to pair it with the very serious desk.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-17 at 15.53.36 (2).jpeg

Spot the Weird Doggo Statues in the Background

Then, because I am pedantic about symmetry, and we already had these mirrored wings on the wall, I needed something equally as shiny, but in a gold tone. I chose this pair of Gimble lamps, which one upon a time, would have been used as bedside lamps on a train. They have that swinging mechanism to keep their balance as the train rattles along. I just love them.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-17 at 15.55.17.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-17 at 15.57.02.jpeg

And, then, as I was already going full magpie, I decided to add the vintage boat lights, for an extra bit of interest, and to tie in with the brass lamps, and mirrored wings.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-17 at 15.57.02 (1).jpeg

These boat lights are really pretty, and I am selling them quite regularly to client's looking for something that is a bit industrial or modern. Placing these in an old home or restaurant brings a very cool mix to the party, and I think they are one of the best pieces I have in stock at the moment.

And, that friends, is how I do a little set up. Sometimes, it is really as easy as this, and other times, it takes a bit more concentration and thought, as pieces you might think would work, don't always work together, and that involves a lot of lugging big pieces of furniture back and forth etc. It's a lot of fun, and really breathes a new life into the shop. Regular clients often notice pieces that have been in stock forever when do this, and it also presents me with wonderful photo opportunities to load onto our social media, which of course always helps to sell the pieces.

Til next time x x x

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

I I like the vintage look of your shop, i had a shop too when i was young with my mom we selled vintage clothes and we dress it like a 70's place, what good memories you bring to me, thank you!

wow, that sounds so fun! Where was this, if I may ask?

You decorated your shop with unique things

Oh, you really put it all together so nicely! It really is an art, even if most people do not think of it that way. Just lovely, my dear

Put aside those Gimble lamps and boat lights! They are certainly the cats meow!

thanks so much Denise!

x

You are very welcome! XOXO

That is a fabulous desk. I love the doggy boxer statues in the background.I hope your new display gets to sell the desk. I can just see it in a beautiful old cape study. The lamps are fascinating. I have never seen them before.

the dogs are just the best, aren't they?

I also particularly like the lamps x

Wow - this is gorgeous. I always wondered how the stores come up with such creative ideas like this. Thanks for explaining!

thank you so much! It's really a lot of trial and error, but personally, I love to mix textures, shiny, metallic, distressed etc. Lots of bright colours too.

Love it! I must admit I am not a good decorator. lol my house has been exactly the same way since I moved here, live over 12 years...LOL Your style is awesome! I enjoy antique shops, there are some near me in downtown that are so cool.

thank you so much! Change is fun!

You're in Arizona right? Which city? I'd love to see the shops you've mentioned x

You are very welcome! Yes I am I live near Phoenix! :)

Is that my desk?? I thought we were on the lookout for a desk that would be perfect for me. You might have found it. I love seeing the creativity that you show with your antiques and how to present them. This is something that I most certainly do not have an eye for. I can pick out things that I like but am unable to put a room together. I leave that part to my better half.

hehe, it could be!

Thank you! It is fun, and also a skill that can be developed like anything else. Practise makes perfect

@princessmewmew hi, it is beautiful and i like the way you enjoy your job, I like the red chair, the decoration is fabulous

I totally love the look of your store! I'm from Cape Town South Africa, and we have this Rustic little town called Kalk Bay, filled with awesome spots like yours! I think your store would fit in perfectly - i actually just wrote a post about it as it was voted one of the Coolest Neighbourhoods in the World - check it out https://steemit.com/travel/@mimismartypants/south-africa-s-kalk-bay-voted-one-of-the-coolest-town-s-in-the-world

Lol! Didn't even realise you were in South Africa! What's your store called! Will definitely pop by!
I don't have a store - i'm a digital marketer - Kalk bay is just my favourite place lol Nice to meet a fellow Saffer on Steemit!

Lol! I am in Woodstock! What’s your shop name?

Lovely combinations. Matching stuff is not my forte. I liked reading about what you matched and how and why.

Is this a consignment shop?

Hi, thank you very much! No, not consignment - we buy to sell xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78