D&D Campaign: Life of Morrak, Chapter 2: This... is the team?

in #vikings6 years ago (edited)

olivier-collet-417248-unsplash.jpg

"We should be seeing The Village soon." The driver yells, "When we get there your other teammates will be there waiting for you." Morrak wakes up Balron, "So, what are we going to do when we get there? Are we going to run off or actually follow what that masked half-orc says?" Balron wipes his eyes as best he can with him still being cuffed "As far as I can tell she wasn't lying, we could get rich from this. This could also be our chance to be on the other side of the law." The Half-orc looks at the two and states in a seemingly kind voice, "Do you two follow the King of the Archdevils and his teachings?" Confused, since this is the first time this guy talked has talked to them since he was put in the cart with them, "No, I don't think I know that guy at all... or want to." Morrak says. "YOU DARE DISRESPECT THE KING?! IF I WASN'T IN THESE CHAINS I WOULD SLIT YOUR THROAT AND RIP YOUR BODY PIECE BY PIECE YOU DWARF!" --- "Ummm I am truly sorry guys, that wasn't me, well I mean it was me but it wasn't me" the half-orc sighs deeply, "you see I have a split personality and he comes out when situations need a more 'aggressive' approach." Both Balron and Morrak look at each other baffled as to the scene that is happening in front of them, "Let's start over please, I am Alan and my other side is Yami, he can be a little overbearing sometimes."

Morrak stares at Alan very angrily and says "If I wasn't handcuffed I would stick an axe into your skull and think nothing of it. You crazy cunt, you." Alan looks with a displeased look as if he wanted to say something, but before he gets the chance Yami butts in, "Dwarf, I have killed many of your people, women, children, and elderly. It brought me such joy to use their corpses as offerings to my god. I am sure he was ecstatic watching over me slaughter them. MUAHAHAHAHA!" --- "I am so sorry he didn't mean any of that." Morrak looking highly infuriated and shaking from his rage, "I will kill you, as soon as I get my axes." "Morrak stop it. You know we have to cooperate with this guy," says Balron. Yami coerced, "Yes, Dwarf listen to the Halfling. He at least knows his place in front of a true killer." "I only know my money, and if killing you was worth any value to me I would gladly off you myself." Morak guffaws and points his handcuffed hands at him. "This guy is crazier than I thought!" Alan speaks, "Guys, let's just stay calm I have full control over him when tension is lower, uh, sometimes. Look, it is very difficult to explain." "Man I need a fucking drink." As soon as Morrak finished speaking, the cart comes to a complete halt and the driver yells "We are here, I'll unlock that door for ya fellas." The three of them can hear the padlocks being unlocked. As the door opens, they see a middle-aged man with twin pistols on his hip. Morrak and Balron are the first two to hop out. As they land the driver unlocks their cuff. Alan struggles to get out the cart, considering he is in a chained straitjacket. The driver looks at Alan and gives Morrak the key to his straitjacket, "I am not unlocking that psycho. I heard what he has been doing for years and I want no part of it at all." He tosses them their bags, "All of your weapons and the coins you had are in there. Well, maybe not all your coins. I took some as a travelling fee. HeHeHe!" Morrak puts his chainmail armour back on and holsters his axes. Balron holsters his shortsword and dagger after equipping his cloak. "You three must be the new recruits!" A half-orc female, missing half of her tusks walks up to them, "That's strange, I have five names here." Two more walk up, a halfling just barely 2ft and a human at 6ft show up, a high pitched voice begins to speak "Oh! Thud is that you?" Thud turns around and greets the other two she seems to be very surprised that these two are here, "OH! Horge the Hollower and Otto Gjord, How goes the tiefling extermination mission?"

"Oh, we have not killed them all off yet, we are getting close to the greatest moment everyone has been waiting for! Otto! Greet Thud." The Human finally speaks while saluting "Yessir, Hello ma'am it is nice to see you again." She shakes her head in approvement and looks back at Horge, "It's been 10 Years since you guys were put on the forefront of the Tiefling Genocide mission and they still are not gone. Those damn Tieflings are craftier then I thought!" She seems angry as she finishes her sentence, another Human with a warlock cloak walks in seemingly lost. "Ummm, Hello, Is this The Village? My master cast me out into the world and I found your flier on becoming a Harold and was interested. I am Kelabrimbore at your service." Thud greets the young warlock and begins to speak to him "Hmmmmm, teams usually need six people and we didn't have a sixth prepped for this group just yet, so with the power that I have, I'll just toss you in with these guys." She clears her throat and begins to address the group, "You guys are all now Harolds! What that means is, you work for the well being and the protection of the realm." "Okay, I have been questioning this since the masked half-orc captured us, Is that literally the name of this place. The Village?" Thud looks at Morrak as if she is completely sick of hearing that question sighs "Yes, The Village is the name of this place, it is a fairly new village just barely established. So as I was saying, you guys are a team now, throw whatever hate or dislikes you have for each other because you have to depend on each other. Now to get down to business. First, you all get to get a weapon and armour of your choice. We can't have you out here getting killed." She passes forms to each of them that seem to have her signature on it, "Not only that, you have a mission. Dhomdul Ironseige is at the bar, The Leaky Barrel, waiting to brief you. Take the time to get equipped with what you like." she begins to walk off before abruptly turning around. "I almost forgot, You have your own house with six rooms in it along with your very own horses. The building number is C10. Here is the key. Good Luck!" she hands the key to Horge and points them in the direction of the bar before walking away.

A pretty long silence happens within the group as they each stared at each other. Feeling ignored, Alan speaks breaking the silence, "Can someone set me free?" Morrak interrupts, "I need a drink. Why is that name 'Dhomdul' such a familiar name? Balron! Come with me!" Yami, annoyingly says, "Ahhh drinks, the best thing after killing." Otto and Horge look at each other seemingly disappointed and begin to follow them to The Leaky Barrel.

Image Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/ZU62GJP-XC4

Sort:  

Congratulations @aquaman22j! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aquaman22j! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46