Anyone out there still watching Viewly?

in #viewly6 years ago

I've been slightly out of the loop for a while on this one, as my last two months were essentially swallowed by my (successful!) job search.

In the time since I last paid attention to the crypto world, it seems that Viewly has concluded its crowdfunding round, and their VIEW tokens are now unlocked for trading and transfers. You can see the token info on its etherscan page here.


Screenshot 2018-04-13 20.18.08.png

For those unaware, Viewly's story is that they want to make a blockchain-based Youtube-like platform (sound like anything else we know here? Maybe like DTube? Maybe DTube has a little bit of first-mover advantage? Maybe.), and they recently ran an ICO in which they sold about 20M VIEW tokens for something like $0.45 per token. Before that they had a pre-sale in which they sold 10M VIEW tokens at about $0.11-0.12 per token.

Today, the price is.... much lower. Around $0.06 per token, half the pre-sale price:


Screenshot 2018-04-13 20.19.21.png
Courtesy of coinlib

Take it all with a grain of salt, because VIEW is only being traded on two small low-liquidity exchanges. Nonetheless, I wanted to ask the community if these low prices reflect anything real or true about the Viewly project, or if they're more likely just a reflection of the general contraction we've seen in the past months in the cryptocurrency world.

Has something gone terribly wrong with Viewly?

Disclaimer, for those who worry about these sorts of things: I am long VIEW.

Sort:  

Good to see you back Philip!
I'm holding onto VIEW for the long term.
Technologically, I believe that Viewly is better than DTube. Even @exyle had made a post comparing the 2 platforms from a creator's perspective. Viewly is much smoother.
Unfortunately, Viewly is still in alpha with very limited features. Maybe if a beta with features like subscription, view counts, likes/dislikes, and a primitive monetization program was released, VIEW would be doing a lot better for an investor.
Much of DTube's and DLive's success can be attributed to the fact that they're all a part of the steem blockchain, so steemit users don't have to leave the steem ecosystem for their live streams and videos.

Could you compare Viewly to Bitchute or PewTube or others? I sure do hope the best for Viewly. So, Viewly runs not with Bitcoin or Steem but with Ethereum? I prefer Dlive over Dtube.

I was excited about them when they first announced, but lost most of my interest when dtube came along and ate their lunch, and they changed course away from the Steem block chain. Now I'm in wait and see mode, but I'm not holding my breath.

I don't buy ICOs, so I have no holdings. No idea if something has gone terribly wrong, except they're pretty slow getting out of the gate.

Update: Though I now see that they have a publicly viewable alpha site now. I hadn't noticed that before. So maybe I'll have to start exploring there.

they had a open alpha, then added accounts and that was 2 months ago, from what I see it's doing ok, works nice and the design+tech is by far a step up.

For what it's worth, in the past day I published a video there and it all seems to work and actually does appear to be interfacing with the Ethereum smart contracts. So that's neat.

I prefer Dlive over Dtube, and hope for the best for Viewly and too bad that http://Vid.Me died in 2017 and we also have Bitchute and PewTube and others which is good.

I remember Viewly was accused of being a scam. And second they announced in steemit where dtube was. If they said they was going to be an SMT people would still follow it. And third dtube i heard was going to have it own token using SMT so that might of killed it too.

As far as I can tell, Viewly isn't a scam -- but maybe you're remembering viuly. Viuly was definitely a scam.

I'm pretty sure Viewly was first announced before DTube; Viewly ran their first alpha using the Steem blockchain. Then DTube came out with a (semi-)working product, and Viewly went to Ethereum to run their ICOs.

Viewly's new Ethereum-based alpha platform actually works, and actually does interface in some way with Ethereum smart contracts. I just verified all that in the past day. I was able to publish a video by manually calling the smart contracts from my Parity instance.

there were scam projects trying to get the name,
they were announced before Dtube,

It's understandable they want to have controls over their code, something you can't have on steem, the code is steem, like it or not, no smart-contracts. Even if the technology allows for it, EOS is an example.

@furion is a great dev, that alone is enough to prove it's not a scam, but I suppose you just saw some post titles.

https://alpha.view.ly

there you are :D no keys to give and no scripts to mine you sooooooo it's pretty good :)

might of been i saw some steem post on it

https://alpha.view.ly/v/lDQXU7TBehIL

yeah i had totally forgotten about it as well, there are some good videos there :)

once in a while, so far it's lacking a lot of the users because they stepped away from steem, it's still a awesome looking project :)

Welcome back @biophil, I am really very happy to see you here again. You are realy very Kind person.

pocketsend:1@biophil,test

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: quochuy
Receiving Account: biophil
New sending account balance: 999
New receiving account balance: 826014
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 8150aa37279a6bc61eb390c3e2508d9ac614159c
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and I am running this confirming code.

@biophil, I've installed the .db file (which is smaller (than my previous partially replayed version BTW, 80K instead of 1.5M). I ran python3 blockchain_reader.py without any other parameters but the pocketsend above is not showing in the logs.

It’s there now. Also noticed lots of error 502/503 from nodes.

Great. Are you confirming?

Those errors are pretty common, and I just haven't taken the time to chase them down and understand what they're doing. They don't seem to affect operation.

pocketsend:101@quochuy

Hi @biophil

  1. Could I have some POCKET tokens?
    So that I can measure my avarice in accumulating tokens, LOL! ;)
  2. How is it possible to retrieve information about tokens in circulation and who owns them?

Thank you very much!

pocketsend:501@amico, sure why not?

There isn't a block explorer (yet), but for a while @pocket-pi was posting a weekly summary of pocket activity. Check his blog for it!

I am posting my weekly reports continuously, not just for a while. :-P

About 16 hours ago I have posted report #28.

Didn't mean to imply you'd stopped :)

Oh thank you, I will sip it with great care and attention! pocketsend:011@biophil ;)
I like @pocket-pi's weekly summary

Successful Send of 501
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: amico
New sending account balance: 825412
New receiving account balance: 500
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 2e699237cf1a2932e3190c82691b785ef7daf814
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and I am running this confirming code.

Successful Send of 501
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: amico
New sending account balance: 825412
New receiving account balance: 500
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 2e699237cf1a2932e3190c82691b785ef7daf814
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Successful Send of 101
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: quochuy
New sending account balance: 825913
New receiving account balance: 1099
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 1a24436fa45f9964cc705c67638024e80590f76f
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and I am running this confirming code.

Successful Send of 101
Sending Account: biophil
Receiving Account: quochuy
New sending account balance: 825913
New receiving account balance: 1099
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 1a24436fa45f9964cc705c67638024e80590f76f
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

pocketsend:11@steemulant,test

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: quochuy
Receiving Account: steemulant
New sending account balance: 1088
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 50067c4a4b58fc8ee5235e1769d4df1523993802
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and I am running this confirming code.

pocketsend:1@steemulant,test

@steemulant is my confirming account now.

pocketsend:1@quochuy

Successful Send of 1
Sending Account: quochuy
Receiving Account: quochuy
New sending account balance: 1087
New receiving account balance: 1087
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 7a46abba5b9bfca192d3ea84a030d7338df4ff69
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and I am running this confirming code.

I've been told that Dtube removes videos after a month if they don't make about ten cents. I think some of my Dtube videos were removed because of that. And I've been told that you have to pay Dtube some money to keep your videos beyond something like 52 months or something. It had something to do with how expensive video storing on an IPFS or something may cost.

Dlive may have an advantage over those limitations that Dtube might have maybe. I could be wrong concerning some of the details here or some of this may be outdated by now. I think I like Dlive over Dtube. There is PewTube. There are a few others too. I have heard about View.ly. I was interested in joining it. I love giving new things a try. Not sure what Viewly is doing now but sure hope for the best for it too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71