The View From My Window… in Sunny Florida, USA

in #viewfrommywindow4 years ago (edited)

Now, that most of us are under lockdown in our homes -- starved for human contact and hungry for a change of scenery-- we've become voyeurs and peeping toms...

A patch of green grass, here, some blue sky there are enough to lift our moods and give us, at least, the illusion of participating in ordinary life or connecting with Nature.

So, I'm happy to share with you the sunny, green view from the window of our 10th floor apartment in South Florida :)

This first image is the most lush and representative of subtropical Florida. It's of a park, just a five minute walk away from our home, with a river that runs through it where ducks and other birds visit. Just look at it is calming and reminds me of the relaxing strolls I've taken there (just a few weeks ago) and the sweet time I've spent bird-watching :)


IMG_3467.jpg


The second view is more impressive, in person. It's of the ocean, squint and you can see it, which is only a five minute drive from us. It's that strip of blue, beneath the sky, where you can see giant cruise ships (the size of buildings).

If you stand where I was when I took this picture, you can smell the warm ocean breeze... Imagine!

On the way to the ocean, if you're so inclined, you can stop by two fun Irish pubs -- at least, they were fun (with live music and packed crowds) until weeks ago, when the world changed and Covid19 became our waking nightmare...


IMG_3468.jpg


This last view is the one I am least excited about. It's, directly, in front of my bedroom, which doubles up as my office. As you can see, it's under construction -- which woke up this sleepy night owl, around 7:30 am -- and will be our reality for the next year or so, I hear. The bright idea is to tear down the Bank of America, which I often visit, and replace it with a shopping mall... Sigh


IMG_3504.jpg


But, there are greater things to worry about and countless blessings to be grateful for! Thank you, for taking a peek at The View From My Window and I hope this finds you and your loved ones keeping safe, healthy and hopeful, too _/|\_

Dove_Steemit.jpg

If you're looking for reading material to entertain and, hopefully, inspire you during this global pandemic, my new book, Revolutions of the Heart, was just published last week and is on sale, here.


image.png

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the View From My Window Photography Challenge.

Great post!

The Steemit Team

Many thanks, for your encouragement :)

I'm glad you enjoyed my view & post!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Thanks, for your support :)

Hi, @yahialababidi,

This post has been voted on by the @ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


Interested in supporting our project?
Please consider voting for our Witness, @symbionts, or delegating SP to the @ecosynthesizer.
Click here if you want to know more about the project, and feel free to join our Discord server.

Thank you, for your support.

Nice view!

Thank you :) A little green, a little blue... that's all we need to stay sane(ish) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51