The Daily Backlog 60

in #videogames6 years ago

After completing Devil May Cry 5 all I want to do is play more! So that's exactly what I do!

Devilish Collectibles

Good afternoon backloggers! It’s monday again! And after a few days off and getting some quality relaxation and gaming in, it’s time to get back to work! Well, except not, because I’m still sick!! Yay! But even though I can’t breath through my nose or lift my arms without getting tired, I can still melt into the couch and work on this backlog!

And let me tell ya, besides being plague riddled, I was determined to march ever forward with my current games. For as much sitting around as I did I feel like I barely made any progress. Though, I guess I can’t really say that since I did finish my first playthrough of Devil May Cry 5! Now, I’m sure you’re asking “what now Patrick??”, well my dear reader, I have an answer for you. And that’s more Devil May Cry 5! I may have beat it, but there is still tons more for me to do. Like, get better at the game for one! And I guess there’s also collecting all of the remaining collectibles and maxing out each characters’ abilities! Of which, I’ve already done half of one and all of another! That’s right, I collected all of the stinkin’ blue orbs and purple orbs so my dashing devil hunters have all the vitality and devil magic they can handle.

Honestly, I’m of two minds with this whole collectibles thingy in the Devil May Cry games. For one, I love trying to find those secret missions that challenge you to test you meddle and knowledge of the skills you obtained. But on the other hand if you’re missing one or two of those dodgy little items then you have to scour the entire game trying to find them. I mean, it DOES gives you an opportunity to collect red orbs so you can level up, but then you’re wasting precious time that you could be using to work on the next difficulty! But that’s all behind me now. I did it! But not without out the help of strategy guide McGee. I’m a little ashamed but I didn’t want to use up countless hours guessing where those little buggers would be hidden.

Also, I wasn’t quite as impressed with the secret missions in this game. I don’t know if they were just not as challenging as past DMCs or if they were just easier to find, but it didn’t feel quite as rewarding finding and completing them all. For example, when I think back on the first Devil May Cry and how cleverly hidden some of them were and how challenging they could be, it kinda disappointed me that I didn’t find anything like that in 5. There was really only one mission that gave me trouble and that was the one where I needed to use the fancy Dr. Faust cowboy hat thingy. It expends your precious red orbs to do damage to enemies and will reward you with significantly more orbs if you know how to use it properly. Which I didn’t. So, after a few tries and failures and still having no idea how to use this dang thing, I looked it up. Apparently it was as easy as a few button presses. And then, to my surprise, I completed it!! Yay for me! The internet really can be useful!

Look to More Hellish Pastures

Now that I’ve cleaned up all the collectibles (short of maxing out all the abilities) I think it’s time to move on to the next difficulty, Son of Sparda. I could go back and try to S rank all the missions on Devil Hunter mode, but I’m thinking I’ll leave that until after I’ve beaten all the other difficulties. That way, all my abilities are available and I’ve had a lot more practice. Which, hopefully means S ranks will come much more easily.  I’ve already S ranked about 70% of the missions in Devil Hunter mode, but I think I’d prefer to move on and come back. So far I’ve only completed the first mission on Son of Sparda and it doesn’t seem all that bad. There may be an increase in enemy spawns and they may do a lot damage, but that’s all offset by my robust skill set and the fact that I’m getting the hang of how to use each of the characters.

The last time we talked I was still learning how to use V and came to the conclusion that you really just need to take your time and practice stringing all of his moves together to be successful. That and being liberal with your devil trigger buff on Shadow and Griffon. But, after using him for a while and having to fight through larger and more difficult groups of enemies I’ve come to this realization - I was wrong. At least if you want to boost your stylish ranking exponentially. No, you don’t take your time with V, you mash the crap out of your attack buttons. Make sure your familiars are always buffed and at the last minute summon the goliath Nightmare to finish everything off. That my friends is how you become SSStylish with V.

And finally I got a whole bunch more time with Dante. Actually, when I first got my hands on him, I wasn’t sure I liked using him. For one, his move set didn’t seem as diverse and he had no easy ways to keep enemies “in the line of fire”. All of his moves would blast them across the screen and out of my range. Then as I leveled him up and he gained access to more weapons and abilities I started to see his potential. But, having a crap ton of moves doesn’t always help. For one, you need to learn them all and how to use them properly, but you also have to become comfortable with his various stances. I’m not 100% of the way there yet, and I only really focus on the Trickster and Swordmaster styles, but I am able to get S rank fights much more consistently now. Which I’m really hoping makes the higher difficulties a little more manageable.

60 backward is 06

Well my friends, my head is getting fuzzy again so I think I’m going to call it for today. Before I go though, I just want to say that I’m also having a ton more fun playing Xenon Valkyrie. The more I play it, the more I’m getting used to how it handles and how to successfully spelunk its caverns. I actually made it to the final boss today!! Where I was promptly stomped because I had no idea what to expect! I’m thinking I should be able to finish it up very soon and then I can focus my attention on Mario + Rabbids which I said very little about thus far! So stay tuned for that!

That and I’ve been debating whether or not I should actually consider Devil May Cry 5 to be complete as of right now. I mean I finished it, but I’m not finished with it. Maybe I’ll just stew on that and I’ll get back to you. Hmm, that could be a good topic to discuss tomorrow!

And until then, have a great rest of your day!


Currently Playing

Mario + Rabbids (Switch) - The Trio

Devil May Cry 5 (PlayStation 4) - Me

Xenon Valkyrie+ (PlayStation 4) - Me

Graveyard Keeper (Steam) - The Wife

Total Backlogged Games: 734 … I need to devil trigger this number!

Total Completed Games: 14 …Are we sure this isn’t procedurally generated?


Want to contribute to the website or the podcast? You can send your written or audio submissions to the below emails!

Written: [email protected]

Audio: [email protected]

Want to know what other shenanigans I’ve been up to? Then follow me on Twitter @BacklogOdyssey

And you can keep tabs on my backlog by checking out the Backlog Odyssey Backloggery game list!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.backlogodyssey.com/the-daily-backlog-60/
Sort:  

aaaaaaaaaaaah i didn't get time for gaming at all last weekend..... gosh darn it and every time i see you talk about DMC5 im so wantswantswants to play

.... congrats on (sort of) finishing it !!!!

Haha thanks! Hope you get to play it for yourself soon!

I think I'm most excited to break into the Dante Must Die and Hell and Hell modes so I can really test my DMC skills! :)

You'll have to let me know what you think of it when you get a chance to play it!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75