Gunstar Heroes, One of my Favorite Games

in #videogames6 years ago

When I was a kid I had a Sega Genesis, and my brother and I would take turns playing. We had fun playing some games in two player mode, like Sonic the Hedgehog, where the second player can play as an infinite-life Tails, but none were as fun as playing by yourself. This all changed when we got Gunstar Heroes. This game is great in single player mode, but it is fantastic as a two player. We spent hours fighting our way to the end on progressively harder modes. I don't think we ever beat it on expert mode, if we did I long since forgot!

This run-and-gun, side-scrolling shooter was released in 1993 by Treasure Co, where it was awarded Best Action Game of the Year by EGM. Described by Retro Gamer as an "outrageously good...frenetic blaster," the game has remained popular in best video games of all time lists in dozens of publications.

The Gunstars are a family of mercenaries trying to stop the evil Empire, who are seeking 4 hidden power gems which can power an ancient weapon and rule the planet. In the distant past a powerful robot called Golden Silver wreaks havoc on Earth from the moon. The Gunstar siblings Red, Blue, Yellow and Green just manage to stop Golden Siver, and hide the 4 gems around the world before sealing themselves in stasis on the moon. Meanwhile, the world slowly rebuilds. When the Empire, led by General Grey seeks to revive the weapon to rule the world, the Gunstars are called into action again.

Besides having really cool weapons whose various effects could be combined depending on what you need for the level, you can also throw or slide kick your enemies, or even throw your buddy. The levels are all so cool and different. Sometimes you are riding through a mine shaft on railcars, battling your way past bizarre monsters in a giant dice palace, or flying a spaceship through heavy enemy fire, with one player as the pilot and the second as the gunner. The coordination of both players arsenal to combat progressively harder bosses is another major part of the fun. Plus the soundtrack is great! If you haven't ever played, I strongly recommend trying it out!

Sort:  

Coming across this post I had a brain fart thinking you meant to say "Guitar Hero" thank goodness I was wrong lol. Anyway, I LOVE GUNSTAR HEROES!! I had very similar experiences with my older brother playing this game but unfortunately never got to finish it because I wasn't skilled enough at the time. So I just sort of watched him play through the rest :/. I plan to play through all of it when I buy the "SEGA Genesis Classics" collection. -- I'm a bit of a retro enthusiast myself and am having a hard time finding other people/ communities with these similar gaming interest. I hope to see more of these types of post in the future.

It is a very funny video game, similar to contra and with a convoluted story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57158.90
ETH 2411.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28