[Video Games] BattleTech? Video? What is this madness?

in #videogames6 years ago

Yes, I know – it's been a while since I've been around. No, this isn't going to be a post about the Steemit blockchain economy or even role-playing games.

Yes, there went my audience.

For everyone else left? I've been busy. I've been pursuing other interests. Doing crazy things which are better left unsaid, except for this one, which will involve terrible audio on videos.

If you've been following recent videogame releases, you know that after a 2 1/2 year Kickstarter campaign and development process, HBS is finally brought BattleTech in its original turn based, giant stompy robot goodness back to the PC. Like all good wargamers, I have been aggressively waiting for this moment.

Unfortunately for the rest of you, @kipswolfe has also been waiting for this moment – except her inclination is to simply mock me while I manage to attract every bit of flying metal and energy on the battlefield. In order to facilitate this mad action, I decided to just drop in on Twitch and throw an OBS connection up while I played.

Fair warning – the audio is terrible. Mainly because I wasn't running my mic nearly hot enough, nor was I wearing my headset – there are a thousand excuses. Believe me, I seriously considered whether or not I wanted to bother sharing this with anyone. But since it was already public in the universe, I suppose I should at least share it with people who might be interested.

There was an interesting side effect.

I started to re-encode it for posting to my YouTube channel since it's been quite a while. Once I dug into it, I realized that I had absolutely no interest in posting something with audio that poorly balanced – but I only decided that after several hours of tinkering around with building an entirely new logo because that flat white was simply not doing it for me.

My new intro is pretty cool. This is the sort of thing that happens to you when After Effects eats your brain. In the process, I was reminded that I really need to update with the latest versions because bit rot has seriously set in.

Without further ado, the intro that has nothing to follow it.

Sort:  

Heh, actually, the crappy audio kind of goes with the general feel of the logo... mechanical, glitchy, scratchy...

Oh, the background audio on the intro is pretty slapped together. By the time I got to that point, I just wanted to have something to show for it. Grab a couple of machine noises from the library, splice them together, a little bit of fading, and voilà.

A significant effort would have involved actually finding some appropriate sounds for battlemech footsteps and synchronizing them with the shudders. Lazy, on my part, really.

Should have actually been there... I was hearing @lextenebris and myself twice -- once when we were talking then on a delay.... -- ok, apparently it worked like that on the video too... LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39