Strollabout

in #video8 years ago (edited)

I produced this about 3 years ago with the intention of experimenting with a "found film" look as the result. Think of it like finding a huge stash of old home movie film reels in your grandpa's storage closet after 30-40 years.

I think of it as a "mood study" (going for simple but effective), as well as a study in film simulation techniques, using faux film grain layers, film damage layers, and light leaks layers. I aimed for a badly-processed 8mm/16mm film look, following all the usual in-camera rules, such as 24 frames per second, 180º shutter angle, short clips. Threw in lots of pull-focus for kicks.

I hope you like the result.
It's pretty relaxing to watch, if I do say so myself. :)

Music - "Abandon Window" by Jon Hopkins

Equipment used:

  • EOS 550D body
  • Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 lens
  • Sigma 10-20mm f/5.6 wide angle lens
  • Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 lens
  • Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 telephoto lens
  • GoPro HD Hero 3 Black Edition
  • Sony Vegas Pro 11 for editing
Sort:  

I love that the video so perfectly corresponds to the music <3
It's gorgeous! I love those shots!
This is such nice work! I'm amazed by this! The nature you see next is so random! It's addicting to see what comes up next.

It's oddly inspirational, Even though there aren't words, Or people talking. Just nature. I feel like running out and doing something.

Thank you @kaylinart .
I definitely went through an interesting phase with my video work about that time. Lots of experimentation, lots of faux film. I've been craving something which really tests my abilities, and I have a feeling Steemit will somehow extract that from me in the coming days/weeks/months. ;-)

That's really good. How do you find Vegas pro 11?

It's a Sony product, so it's available on their site. They're up to version 13 now.

It's actually about NOT to be a Sony product, though. It's soon to be handed over to a company called "Magix".

I will check it out, I currently use power something or other and it's good but I love the effects you have added you your video. They are very natural and do not interrupt the flow

Much of that is just layering. The effects are not in-Vegas effects. They're texture videos that are basically just film grain and film damage. Knowing how to layer them and use the blending modes is where it's at. This can be done in Premiere as well.

Power Director?

That's the one, is good. Particularly at rendering HD. But sometimes is a little basic

I've used that one before, actually. Not to it's fullest capacity, mind you, but I offer a service to transfer old VHS to digital formats and have found PowerDirector to be particularly good at it.

@meesterboom, @winstonwolfe I want this too! I'm using Final cut pro right now, but I would love to give this a try

I've never actually used FCP, although I hear it's great. I've toyed a bit with Premiere, and may be what I end up going to if Magix doesn't treat Vegas well.

beautifully edited! I've never used Sony Vegas pro but definitely going to check it out now, I create timelapse videos for my paintings and I am alreay thinking how I can use some of these effects in my work. The production value on this is fantastic! thank you for the inspiration :)

Glad you liked it. :)
I really need to concentrate more on stuff like this. It was just an experiment a few years ago, but it seems to be catching some eyes. ;-)

Yes! Any video that has beautiful imagery and good editing is bound to do well, anyone who is a visual person will gravitate towards it... I know I did :)

You'd be surprised. Things are very hit/miss around here. There's lots of good material going unnoticed.

YEs! I totally agree with that 100%

Beautiful work, @winstonwolfe! :) My only (mild) criticism is that the editing felt too literal to the music - the cuts came in predictably following the piano. Great imagery deserve their own rhythm that blends in seamlessly with the music, in a subtle and non-obvious manner.

Great choice on the music, by the way, Immunity is a modern classic!

Thank you.
And actually, the editing to the music thing was mentioned to me once in the past. I agree, in fact. I did use the music as more of a template, rather than the other way around.

Yes - usually I wouldn't have an issue, but here it was too visible.

Would love to see some more of your work, particularly something original for Steemit. :)

Hmm....definitely something to think about.
I had considered converting a script I was writing for a short film into standard novel format and begin posting that, but having a video project to work on sounds more fun. :)

Nice job! Very relaxing as you said for the music and the imagery. I like the shadowing and 'old film' feeling.

Thank you. I need to do more of these, actually.

nicely done mr @winstonwolfe You have got nature inside you.
Such a beautiful piece of art.

Thanks for your reply. Glad you liked the video. :)

Wow. I love the song. Followed! I'm from Central British Columbia, this reminds me of home!

Jon Hopkins is the man, for sure. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73