Steemit/Dtube vs. YoutubesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #video6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I decided to upload my videos to D.tube and Steemit, before I upload them to YouTube. And even though it’s only been a few days, I want to just compare the YouTube experience with the Dtube experience. I’m going to look at several aspects of the platforms and compare and contrast them. The categories I will be looking at today are Layout, Tags, Community Guidelines, Monetization Model, and Uploader.

Note: I decided to upload this video on YouTube first, due to some issues with the Dtube uploader that I actually discuss in this video. I have however made the video unlisted so that the Steemit audience gets first dibs. I will hopefully be posting a Dtube version shortly. I think Dtube really needs to work on its uploader, as that seems to be the major thing holding it back at this point.

By the way, a big thanks to the very talented artist @ankapolo for making the thumbnail/snapshot for this video. Check her out! Her work is top tier.

Sort:  

I think you are absolutely right about the money aspect being better. For example its not impossible for steem to be worth 100 dollars each in the future. Its entirely possible that if you have 10k steem you will be sitting on 100k worth of USD on your account.

Its very realistic you can become a multimillionaire from this platform alone.

With that said, just in case you don't know this yet. VERY IMPORTANT!
Don't fucking lose your password. You take that shit and you print it out and put it on a fire proof safe. Nobody can help you if you lose your fucking password. You can lose literally everything if you are not insanely careful with your password!!

This cannot be stressed enough. Make newcomers need to know about this too. You don't want to feel the pain I have felt when I lost a wallet currently worth 15-20 grand.

edit : Self upvoted for visibility.

Good tip. I am upvoting your comment for visibility. Hopefully everyone will see this and be cautious. The passwords and keys you are given when you sign up must be protected at all costs, because they can't be recovered if lost!

asshole-empire :D

It's a shame I can't resteem comments, because I would totally resteem this comment. It's that important.

plz upvote for me too and follow me back...lets help each other in earning steems

Very good tip @thecastle!

In the crypto world, you should definitely make it a habit to write down all your passwords and keep them safe. also upvoted for visibility

Excellently balanced post. I have a few little insights to add that might be valuable to you.

@berniesanders is one of the biggest users on here and he's a very controversial figure (hence the -18 reputation), but what he's doing is nothing short of great for the community, which i'll explain shortly why.

Haejin has been abusing a system that allows him to do so due to sluggish development and oversight. He is using his money to generate $400 per post, 10 times a day, consuming a vast percentage of the reward pool.

This is technically not against the rules yet, but highly damaging to the community, the currency and the platform, so @berniesanders has been forced to take it into his own hands by making his posts visible as such so others are inspired to take part in taking Haejin down (at least to the level his posts actually deserve).

On the flip side, by flagging bernie's high-value posts, haejin is using up his voting power which gets put back into the pool for everybody to share, so bernie is kind of like an asshole robin hood of the platform. But until the platform fixes these easy-to-abuse issues, Bernie has to take a stance, as we all do, to keep this site's longevity

The second insight is that of Curation Teams. You share a gripe with us all that spammers are able to abuse the system with the right amount of money, and simply upvote something purely on the basis that it will give them some return.

Curation teams are groups of people who manually curate quality content depending on their focus: @steemSTEM (of which I am a manager) focuses on promoting science. tech, engineering and math). @steemiteducation is of course, educational. @ocd promotes undervalued posts from newer, struggling users, and @curie is kind of the big mother of curation that spreads its wealth across multiple communities. There are many more out there.

The more these teams grow and are funded, the more high quality posts are pushed up with value, and the spam is pushed down - something I believe is absolutely vital to this platform. Users who believe in any given team can partake by following a trail of votes; whenever we upvote something valuable, 40 other accounts automatically follow, in the trust that we do a good job (everything is public so it's hard to get away with abuse in this case).

The more we support these teams, the the better the site will be as more people strive to meet our quality requirements rather than try to sneak some of those rewards with thoughtless upvotes

Very cool post. That asshole-empire cracked me up quite a lot. I didn't knew you before seeing you on Steemit. I think I might have seen you before once trending on youtube.

I've putted together a a collection of "quotes" resuming some of the main ideas of Dan Larimer the inventor Steem. It's one of the most interesting thing I've ever read. I feel like you should definitely give it a try.

https://steemit.com/liberty/@teamsteem/thank-you-dan-larimer-you-are-a-great-mentor

dtube is far better than youtube becz there is moneitization problem i hate youtube i worked hard for 3-4 months to make videos but when i got 2k subscribers they terminate my channel with no reason

Expect it to get better soon, TJ. There is a whole community of developers and designers (www.utopian.io), solely dedicated to improving every aspect of the Steemit platform, so i'm confident that we will see a lot of improvements and new features soon.

Also I added you to something called GINAbot - it notifies me when you upload a new post or a video, so following you here is now much easier.

Steem on! and hail to the #asshole-empire! :D


Edit: Also I really appreciate you accepting my graphic contribution to your post. Your description of Youtube as Lawful Evil and Steemit as Neutral Chaotic had totally inspired me :) I might take this theme further in a future post of mine.

The platform is still developing and has a long way to go, but if we all switch to dtube, we might make a difference. #asshole-emipre

I agree, the uploader is buggy as heck. I tried four times today to upload a video without success. Perhaps it's traffic based. Anyway, hopefully they will develop past that, or someone will build a competing platform on the steem blockchain. It will be some time before we can compete effectively with Youtube, regardless of the tech. The sheer volume alone is staggering. @markrmorrisjr

I think that Dtube is really incredible as is. If they can solve their uploader issues, they'll be in terrific shape. Right now, it's the near-fatal flaw that's holding back their potential.

I think you need to remember that, to my knowledge, ONE guy created the dTube is his spare time. I think it's open source, so maybe other people are working on it now too. For what it does, it is amazing. I think we all need to be a little more patient and thankful for this platform and the people who created it.

TJ you brought me to Steemit and DTube. I started using YouTube and Patreon because of your recommendations, so I really hope this platform turns out as successful as those!

struggled with it in the begining but am getting a hold of it apart from that its a decent platform and i like the monetization , i earned more from one video compared to a whole year on youtube

I tried using both. I put Part I of the video on YouTube, then Part II on DTube to try to entice my YT viewers over to DT/Steemit. There's a link to Part II: https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@sbsparts/f0sxnjfo
I've had a lot of trouble as well with the DT uploader and have gone back to YT, keeping it unlisted like you have if I wanted to keep it exclusive for DTers. You can always go back and change the settings ;-)
Here's part 1 as well:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48