DTUBE file size limits? My large file failed to upload at 638MBsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #video7 years ago (edited)

dtube.jpg

Just wondering if anyone has experience uploading larger files on dtube?

According to speedtest.net, I have a strong 4Mbps connection on the upload side, and 50+ on the downside.

I don't remember if I was using a VPN, but it's been very reliable (paid), and after waiting 2 hours, I gave up on my 638MB video ever uploading. It just seemed to hang, and never reported anything other than 0 progress while uploading.

I've looked around at the initial announcement post, as well as on the site, and don't see anything listed about:

  • supported video file types
  • file size limits
  • video resolutions supported

There are so many comments on the initial announcement, I wanted to post and see if anybody is more familiar with uploads than I am at this point.

Really excited about the capabilities of several new video hosting sites, and want to compare them in a full comparison post soon!

Thanks

  • Surfyogi

UPDATE:
I should have mentioned I'm using so far:

  • Macbook Pro Sierra
  • Chrome
Sort:  

I wanted to test how the uploading process works and I tried to upload a 1400Mb file. Chrome seems to crash after like 10-15 minutes of uploading so I tried doing it with mozilla firefox.

Firefox doesn't crash but I've waited for around 4 hours or even more and the upload still didn't complete. My upload speed is 10Mb/s so it should've been done uploading quickly.

I also tried uploading some different format files but some are not supported as I get an error message when the upload starts.

Great feedback. All good facts to know, before I try again!

Hi mate. Thanks so much for sharing this question, I'm following/reading. Cheers from London.

Just wanted to mention, I am also having an issue, said unable to submit to block chain. my file is MP4 and 631Mb. Just hope they fix this issue.

Maybe it could be something else, but IME, this is caused by insufficient Steem bandwidth. If you encounter that error, leave the upload page open. Take a look at https://steemd.com/@mobilechaos to see what your used and available bandwidth is (on the left side). If you're over the limit, it will say "recharging". Then you will have to wait until you have enough (this goes for other posts and comments you try to make, too). You can try submitting again later without closing the upload page.

One thing I've found that exacerbates the problem is when you edit video info on a DTube page, and you click the "Edit ✓" button to submit it, there is (last time I checked) absolutely no feedback. So even if it's successful, it looks like it didn't work, and you might try clicking it again. This can cause multiple edits in the blockchain, eating up your bandwidth more than necessary. I hope they fix it.

Seems like people are reporting problems using dtube and Chrome.

I see The Matrix was posted recently; it looks pretty good, full length; I guess someone found a browser that will upload large files?

It may just be really slow; I didn't consider letting it run all night; that may be necessary. Or not using Chrome..

https://dtube.video/v/ipfs-movies/azwstxiz

I also have some problem to upload on Dtube, great idea and a good alternative to Youtube if only this plaform wasn't that unstable.
I did saw somewhere that Brave and Dtube make a good duo..

I keep having problems but I think its dependent on network traffic. Sometimes I have to try 12+ times for the same file. But eventually it goes through.

I'm not a technological fanatic but I remember DTUBE using IPFS letting the platform be decentralised but to enable this peer to peer system you need some storage on the user's computer. I guess this would lead to bottlenecks and limits being reached depending on your browser.

This is just a suggestion, I'm not completely sure though @surfyogi

EDIT:
I just checked the original dtube thread and could this be the problem:
'IPFS is cool, but there is no magic. Someone needs to seed the files, and your browser cannot permanently store huge files (local storage is limited to 50MB on most browsers)'

Thanks for pointing this out. I'm thinking local storage is not used for seeding, but I have no idea..

Part of the fee for posting on dtube is supposed to cover storage on IPFS for ~56 months I believe, and after that, users would have to seed the files themselves, as I recall it described in original announcement posts.

The smallest Video i have posted was about 80Mb and the largest so far that worked was 532Mb.. it seems that it has an issue once you hit the 600Mark. just a though.

Might I suggest using compression. I have used Handbrake ( free) for over 5 years and 900 videos on YT. I also have had good luck with mine running so far on Dtube. I am not sure of a size limit. Handbrake will likely knock them down to a third or so of their original size.
https://handbrake.fr/

Thanks for the advice!

The idea of dtube is magnificent, to see a version of youtube integrated to the steemit blockchain is an evolution without exemplary, I expect the migration of youtubers on this new platform which will increase the price of steem and makes this platform much more interesting
Except that technically, dtube is not at the top, it is necessary that the developers work on the technical side, the size of the videos one of major problem of dtuble in addition it does not accept all the formats videos, the side argonomy and design n ' Is not very pleasant..

Those things ur addressing are solid points and hopefully be added soon. From all the posts containing Dtube videos I can still barely play any of them...

Im having the same problem and Im using Chrome Browser

I've had to change browsers to make the videos play.

I'v tried a couple of different browsers, chrome seems to do the best, but still... Thinking it's just a matter of time before Dtube gets some updates. (btw, which browser are u using?)

Firefox usually doesn't work at all for me, I can play that video with chrome though (firefox as well it seems).

Mac Chrome, maybe I should try Firefox?

Google chrome still seems to work best for me (even though most videos don't play at all). I think the matter of the format is mostly what plays a roll here. Took me a while to find this back... But this is what someone else said about the format: "you need to upload in mp4 or webm format on dtube."

Little details, good to know. Thx

Your welcome, hope it helps, never uploaded anything myself so haven't been able to test it.

Yes, so which browser did you switch to?

Firefox worked for me, no problem.

I had excactly the same!

the problem in uploading dtube that it can crash , last few days dtube even not played all movies few hours, so if you are into this then crash of big file have chance for you too :)

I think this is temporary, and everything will be fixed! I also use Chrome

If DTube wants to compete with YouTube, they better get their act together!

At this point, it's experimental and will have growing pains. My wife was able to upload two videos to dtube within the last week. The last time it didn't seem to render the thumbnail (snap) picture. We improvised and inserted one into the Steemit post so the picture would show up on Steemit.

This is to be expected from a brand new service on bleeding edge technology. I'm amazed at how well it does work!

I was able to upload a DTube vid at 882MB. Here it is: Understanding The Riemann Hypothesis Through The Solar Eclipse. The duration is 7:12. This upload was on a Mac desktop via Google Chrome. Cheers!

What kind of video file is it, mp4?
Since it's only 7 mins long, it seems to be HD, and it's not playing well for me; even if I let it sit and load, it doesn't help. So it seems we can't expect to play HD files on it at present..

Yep, the resolution is 1920x1080, and the format is mp4. I checked my vid again just now, and noticed a delay in the start. So I think you're right that it's not playing as smoothly as we could expect on YouTube. I imagine there's a huge bandwidth pressure in hosting myriad videos, like YouTube does. So yeah, DTube has some growing pains. I feel hopeful though. I'm very impressed with DTube, for the most part, especially because of its solid integration with Steemit.

Were you able to upload 1920x1080 ? I only see videos at 480p..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59155.91
ETH 2515.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47