EMERGE – A TRANSFORMATION TO BEHOLD

in #video7 years ago

The metamorphosis of the Cicada species is amazing to observe.


I was blessed enough to photograph the transformation last year in this post, and incredibly I was able to film the process this year. Since it took over 70 minutes for me to record it, I took the initiative to send the raw footage over to @mericanhomestead to speed it up and put it to some music.

Now, you can watch the Cicada emerge in less than a minute! Thanks @mericanhomestead!

EMERGE

^ 53 SECOND VIDEO ^

If you have never seen this in real life, I would highly recommend checking out the video. I had never observed it in person until the one that I photographed last year, and this was my first time recoding one. For those of you who want to learn a little more, I’ll explain it.

The Cicada does not live its entire life as the winged insect that makes a loud buzzing noise up in the trees. Though there are many species of Cicadas, they all follow the same basic life cycle. Prior to turning into a flying insect, Cicadas live underground. When the larvae is fully developed, it crawls up out of the earth and climbs the nearest tree or other tall object.

When it finds an appropriate spot, it locks onto the bark with its sharp claws. Once it is secure, it begins to pulsate and eventually the back of its exoskeleton breaks open, exposing the adult Cicada, which is still soft at this point.

After a lot of wiggling and squirming, the Cicada works its way free from the exoskeleton of its larval stage. Soon, it crawls completely out and then expands its wings.

At this point, the ones around here are an amazing green color. Their only goals at the moment are to allow their new exoskeleton and wings to harden, and to not get eaten.

Soon, they are ready for flight, and for life as an adult. I learned a little more about the Cicada on my recent trip to Texas, but I still have not put together that post yet.

If you would like to learn a little more, check out my WILD-MAN post about the Cicada, or just watch the video from it below.


THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIEND - CICADA

VERY FORTUNATE

Often, we can find tons of the empty exoskeletons like Monster Truck the Pepper has in his hands. Many times we see the flying Cicadas too, or hear them high in the tree tops, but these are difficult to capture. I consider us to be very fortunate to have actually observed a few hatching, and to photograph and film them too!

THANKS!

A special thanks to @mericanhomestead for putting forth the effort to edit my raw footage and allow us to experience over an hour in less than a minute.


If anyone is really interested, here are the two videos that were combined to make the finished project. These each run over 30 minutes.

EMERGE ONE


EMERGE TWO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-emerged-cicada



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Holy crap, cool coincidence! I just posted about this! Interesting to see the different color they are down in your area compared to here up north. Wish I could have done a time lapse too, but oh well.

I've met a few different species, and discovered one that I never knew existed while in Texas recently. Thanks for the REAL COMMENT too. Have a 100% upvote!

Thanks Papa! I appreciate that!

Indeed, the ones I've always had were brown and therefore notably grosser.

Wao, amazing and so beautiful to behold. The photographs are so vivid and the videos so captivating. Thanks a lot for sharing.

I hate the cry of it

never saw these insects. they are beautiful. that was a great effort you put in it. Thanks for sharing it with us

Wow @papa-pepper this is awesome to see the transformation of this beautiful insect on video..thanks a lot for sharing

What an amazing post. Can't say that I ever saw a cicada hatch out, I just remember wearing their old shells on my shirt as a kid. Awesome job and a big thumbs up to @mericanhomestead for helping out.

I show my two-year-old daughter every little animal that you publish. They give you fear and others like you. I teach him to have love for animals. thanks for sharing

Oh my God. You are so brave man @papa-pepper.

I saw one of these the other day sitting ontop of its shell, first time ever seeing it, super cool. Thanks for sharing!

Very nice photography and amazing video i watch daily blog i like your blog and follow you thanks for sharing good job nice photography

What are the environmental benefits of the Cicada and how do they help humans? - Listened to the videos. Thanks - Troy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41