BABY RED-BELLIED SNAKES BEING BORN - Original Video

in #video7 years ago

If you have never seen this, you really should.


Back when we relocated those 50 snakes from my aunt’s house, we noticed that about a dozen of the female Red-Bellied Snakes were pregnant. This gave us the opportunity to watch some being born.

Some snakes lay eggs while others, like the Red-Bellied Snakes give live birth. When these snakes give live birth, the newborn babies come out inside a little sac. In this video, you can see two newborn baby Red-Bellied Snakes emerging from their sacs.

In size, these sacs were just a little bigger than a tic tac breath mint, so they are rather small. Not only did this give me an opportunity to show my @little-peppers the miracle of birth from the snake’s point of view, now you can check it out too!

Original footage shot in Wisconsin by @papa-pepper

There is no audio on this one, and the second snake emerges at about 3 minutes 21 seconds.

Has anyone ever seen this before?


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Keep up the education, gotta help people overcome their fears and gain a bit of understanding.

resteemed

HOLY WOW! This is amazing. I've never seen anything like this before. Thanks for the footage. Snakes are so diverse in their methods of reproduction.

That they are, and that's cool that you've never seen anything like this before. I've watched it quite a few times, and was very pleased to share it!

oh my gosh, I've never seen anything like it before either. Very cool. And so great that you're there filming it. It looks like the first one is giving the second one a pep talk. LOL

Glad that you liked it! It is very interesting stuff!

So many snake jokes going through my head. But I don't want to ruin the coolness with my immature humor.

Most people are happy when I keep my thoughts to myself.

I'm a huge fan of animal documentaries, and it is exactly for moments like this one. @papa-pepper great job I have never seen anything like it.

this is really fascinating! never seen anything like it before... thanks for this share!

Glad you stopped by to check it out then! Thanks!

Haha -- they sure look tired out at the end of that process! Entering this world is not an easy thing, for any creature, I guess. So did you just keep the pregnant females in a terrarium until they gave birth? How long was it from the mother birthing the egg sac until the little snakes emerged?

Yeah, when we relocated them we held on to a few mamas until they birthed. It happens quickly once they come out of mama.

It's great you got to see it all happen in the daylight then. Those little snakes are so vulnerable. It's nice you are in such good snake country!

If they don't find us, we find them. It is amazing to watch and I'm glad to share!

So amazing.
A little bigger than tic tac sized you say?
An ant crawls past at 0.48, which helps get an idea of the size of the snake and the sac.
So tiny, so cute.

That ant was a tiny one too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42