A VIDEO TOUR OF THE PAPA-PEPPER HOMESTEAD LAND

in #video7 years ago

We finally bought our land, so now I'll give you a tour!


The land itself is almost eight acres. It is mostly wooded, but we have already done some work on it. I'll add a few photos and a little bit of written information, but here is the video!

THE LAND!


For those of you who don't watch video, or if you want even more, here are some photos.

The patch of land along the road is mostly brush-hogged already. We have started landscaping the edge of it, and are considering getting some sort of cattle to graze here and reproduce, so we don't have to mow it. We will also get some rabbit tractors going soon so they can eat the fresh grass.

We've started rotating some of our hogs and some goats that belong to @bluerthangreen and @allforthegood through the land too. They do an excellent job removing all sorts of plants (even Poison Ivy) from the land and allow us to work it much easier afterwards.

By the time that they are done with an area, it is easy to separate the rocks, branches, and trees from the soil. We've got some plans on how to craft this acreage, but we have to be able to walk across it to do so, so the animals removing the Green Brier and Poison Ivy for us really helps.

Right now, most of the land is just thick forest. For one, this means that the land is fertile enough to support a lot of vegetation, so that's good. Also, we can use the trees for firewood and the branches for mulch, so that will help. We will be replacing the trees that we do not need with ones that produce edible things like nuts, fruits, or berries.

I also just planted our first peppers on the land today. Yes, they were my favorites, the Ghost Pepper. I believe that many more will be grown here eventually, but the first peppers on the @papa-pepper homestead have already been planted. Yes, today is a happy day for my people! Perhaps when the harvest comes in, I can even mail some to some of you!

As always, I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-land



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


Sort:  

This is very similar to our property in southern Indiana, wild berries, sassafras trees, and dense woods. Our woods is littered with over growth though and we need some goats to eat some of it back, never thought to borrow a neighbors animals though thanks for that idea. What type of property fencing do you plan to use and how are you constructing it? Good luck with the property plans friend.

We are not sure what we will use for the perimeter fence yet, but are currently using cattle panels on the areas that we are rotating them.

I just picked up 5 ghost pepper plants myself the other day. I've always grown Jalapenos and other peppers but never messed with any of the serious stuff like ghost peppers or carolina reepers.

I happenned to be at a local garden store the other day and saw they had them and figured I have to pick these up. I wound up getting 5 of them, the guy at the register was like are you sure you need 5 lol. I guess they grow pretty large and produce a lot of peppers right?

My plants are maybe 4-5 inches tall so I'm guessing a few weeks old at least. I hear peppers are about 100 to 130 days from germination is that correct ? Guessing I should have them sometime in August

Sometimes they can months to truly produce, but getting hundreds of peppers per plant is not unheard of. Thankfully, they also dehydrate well if you cut them in half.

You may want to try this recipe I created. Many have been seriously impressed with it.

https://steemit.com/food/@papa-pepper/finally-papa-s-secret-recipe-green-ghost-salsa-released-for-the-first-time-ever-on-steemit

I heard the soil needs to be kept pretty warm. I live in Chicago. I wound up planting one in a pot and the rest in the soil. Do you have any advice in terms of which is better? Downside to my garden is if we get a cold snap I can't bring them inside. I've been trying to keep them moist as we've been having some 90 something degree days here but making sure they aren't soaked.

Thanks for sharing the salsa recipe, I love a good salsa, especially tomatillo salsa's and my gf's family is Mexican so I'm sure they'll enjoy it as well were always competing for who can find the best salsa. I got a few more months to wait for my peppers but soon as they are ripe I'll be trying this out. Thanks again.

@papa-pepper, this is a wonderful piece of land, add a bunch of redwoods and sequoias and a couple rivers and hills and you have the sweet little plot I live in! It seems you realized this long ago, but I think more people need to start seeking out their own homesteads instead of suffocating in the concrete monstrosities of cities. If you don't mind, could I use some of your pictures of your homestead as inspiration for my art?

Use the photos! Also, I miss the redwoods...

Yes! redwoods are so amazing, just love the coloring.

awesome...
I had ten acres on the Llano..but nothing like what you got.

LOL!

Yeah, it looks a little worse.

we called that 'wednsday'...you should be there on monday
monday is BAD.

Lol!

A fantastic plot of land -- congratulations!!

I'm so happy for you, Mama-Pepper, and the baby-Peppers.

The forest of edibles sounds like a fantastic project -- I await the inevitable progress blogging for that :D

@shayne

Thank you very much @shayne. Ever thought of doing a video interview with me?

I suppose I have thought about it :D
You and a few other notable steemians.

I presume you'd be interested since you're asking about it.

Are you on steemit.chat or is there someplace better to contact you privately?

love it...you have some goats !

Those we borrowed, but they are on our list to get.

I am so happy for you bro! The comments at the end brought me to tears! God has his hand on you and your family! Can"t wait to come and see it in person! Love you guys!

Well done becoming a land owner. At last you get to see something for your hard work.
Mama, like all mamas, will be happy, that is the secret to a long happy life.
Happy Wife = happy life
The littleies being happy is a good by product as well

Its gorgeous !!! .. It reminds me a little like the countryside here in Ireland!!!.. I live in the city but its my dream one day to live in the countryside , there is nothing more beautiful than that vast landscape as far as the eye can see and the simple sound of serenity !!!.. Good Luck and much happiness!

You're most welcome

Dude congratulations! I strive to one day be able to quit my 9-5, own my own land and live off grid ^_^ amazing stuff you got going on here @papa-pepper!

Yeah, we are getting there. In fact, 9-5 even sounds a little nice. I left home for work at 2:30 am on Friday and returned at 1 am today... Gotta get out of that. Cutting lawns in the next state may not be the best idea...

Geeze I feel for ya man 😅. Hopefully all the great content you publish here will help you leave that situation. Assuming that's what you want ^_^!

nice land....that's the land I always dream of.....

Thank you. We really like it and are looking forward to seeing what it may become one day!

you are welcome....my friend...share with us, the outcomes of this land.... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74