Making Film IS TOUGH under pressure, but we DID IT :) WATCH NOWsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #video7 years ago

Last weekend I directed this rather strange war film (CONTAINS SWEARING):
https://vimeo.com/groups/60hourfilmchallenge/videos/232283492

I was part of a team who were doing the Colchester 60 hour film competition which works like this:

On Friday evening at 9:00 every registered team receives a brief which contains

              1. The TITLE of the film you have to make
              2. a LINE OF DIALOGUE which you have to include
              3. and AN ACTION which has to be filmed

If you've ever tried making a film, you probably know that there are all sorts of nightmares involved which stand between you and actually creating a finished product, so to cram this in to only 60 hours seems from the outside like a bit of a stupid, masochistic thing to do. But from the INSIDE, its much, much worse.....

We had decided to do a war film because we had some coloured smoke bombs at our disposal, and access to a local Government Surplus store with loads of random militaria.

With this in mind, we found ourselves a nice spot in some foliage and set up a little military camp, knowing full well that we might not even use it, depending on the brief we were given.

If theres one thing I learned (which there wasn't; I actually learned loads of things......) then its DON'T have too many people
during the idea conception phase because what happened was that we were still up at 3:00 in the morning arguing about how the hell we were going to shoe-horn 'Someone watching TV in a dark room' in to this war film....one of the ideas still being; how about we don't do a war film?

  • It really is a horribly miserable situation to be in because you know with every passing deliberation, goes the chance to put you're energy in to the VERY necessary preparation for the weekends shooting.

Anyway, because I had been asked to Direct the film, I was trying to be decisive and go with the idea that eventually resulted in the final film, but the Producer (who had pulled the whole team together) was really not on board with it. He thought the content would be too surreal, too ambitious, and too inconsistent but he hadn't yet settled on an alternative, so we all went to bed entirely unsure about what we were going to try to film the next day. Not a good start.

In the morning, we all arrived at location for 7:00 and began to finalise the set, while I did a couple of hours of rehearsal/improvised devising with the cast. There was no script, and no story board to work from so it was always going to be a little on the fly...
Unfortunately the Producer had double booked himself to drive some friends to Gatwick Airport which was going to take him away at midday for at least 6 hours....But instead of conceding that we should probably go with the idea we already had, he was busy brooding over other ideas during the morning and FINALLY exclaimed that he had THE IDEA we needed to shoot, RIGHT before he left!
Now, this was a demoralising moment for me, because we had already been rehearsing for quite a while, but there was no doubt that he'd had a good idea, (possibly and perhaps probably a better idea, with simpler, more viable, competition worthy content). The whole crew was split, with some feeling positive about the new idea and others feeling that we had already made good progress on the first idea. The producer was about to leave so there was no time for deliberation, and I told him with heavy heart, that we would try his idea.
That was a bad move because it was exactly what we didn't do.

After he left, there was a brief and painful discussion after which I made an executive decision to go with the first idea, and the one that you can see in the finished film. It was a horrible feeling. I felt like I was betraying his trust in me. All I can say is that it was for the good of the teams morale at that point, as there was TOO much to discuss about his new idea, and time was ticking by!

I won't go in to details about the shoot. There were various good points and awkward points along the way as with any film shoot, but after 6 or so hours, the producer returned JUST as we were about to set off the smoke bombs, which was a key component of the first idea which he had assumed we WOULDN'T be doing. Oh god, did I feel ill. He was not best pleased and the rest of the weekends progress happened under a very dark cloud.

Im not a very technically minded person. There were a lot of shots missing that we needed and the final film is something of a frankenstein in that a lot of fresh creative decision making had to be made in the edit and the film was finally submitted to the competition at 4:30 on Monday morning. Im still not sure whether he forgives me, but despite the HORRIBLE STRESS of partaking in this insane competition, Im actually quite proud of everything we achieved in such a small amount of time. (despite the obvious lack of some necessary blood stains in the final shot - please don't feel you need to point this out, I REALLY know..... there just wasn't time)

Here I am directing
21318990_10159606761305393_3973218625705773333_o.jpg

And here is our beautiful camp from a wide angle that I stupidly never shot footage of..... whoops :(
21272788_10159606766435393_7061716049976089898_o.jpg

Anyway, I definitely wouldn't jump in to this situation again. I think its a great exercise for a film making team to have some fun and test out working together.... but think how much better it could have been if we'd just taken our time...!

Be good to each other Steemies! This life is so much more worthwhile when we support each other!

x Basil

Sort:  

Been here man. Did a very similar thing with a 48 hour film festival and did a military theme.

Important thing if you have little time or money, is to try and create something that uses assets you have available and/or something you are very knowledgeable about. Both is preferred.

Having the drug trip concept allowed you to be prepared for pretty much any action they might throw out, so well done. And most importantly.....

The Goat

hehe. But if only we'd actually HAD a goat, that would have been the icing on the cake! And just to clarify....we didn't actually have the drug theme to begin with. That was something that came up in order to shoe-horn the dark t.v. room in somewhere.... although I had always imagined that the coloured smoke grenades would be a bit 'apocalypse now'

Purple Haze maannnnn.......

Wow, look at you how you got yourself a nice curie upvote here. Congratulations.

So you are a filmmaker? Steemit will certainly go nuts about you doing something about Steemit. These kinds of things will find a lot of upvotes here. Following you!

thanks for being so supportive flauwy! I hope I can contribute something awesome to Steemit..... it certainly feels like a great community with lots of exciting prospects!
Could you possibly explain to me what a curie upvote is? I was a bit confused at the start when suddenly my votes and reward jumped right up without getting many views! I tried to search people having this same occurrence but I couldn't find it....! I thought maybe it was a glitch haha

If you want to do something just let me know. I am always looking for co-ops with other talented Steemians. I have a few tricks up my sleeve.

awesome! Thanks for letting me know what was going on there.....good to know it was legitimate! And yeah, I could be interested in helping out or collaborating on something sometime.....I love what you're trying to do with the memory sports championship, that sounds really cool, especially the idea of making it happen through steemit by catalysing the community. I think its fantastic! Im still kind of working out what I have to offer here, but I am getting some super reassuring feedback, so Im feeling very supported by this fantastic platform! :) x

Whatever you do to promote Steemit will find recognition. Just make sure that everyone will see your post about your project to receive what you deserve. If you need help let me know.

Of course anything besides Steemit works as well.

@curie is a trail account that picks a few quality posts each day and curates them. It is the most followed trail on Steemit and many people upvote the posts upvoted by curie automatically. They don't even read it. But now others will read it because of the high upvote! You are very lucky my friend. But your post deserves it.

Congratulations @basilmarples! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I always visit your blog because you inspires me. Do what you do. Thank you very much for sharing inspiring content.


looks awesome, keep going @basilmarples

I shall indeed my friend! Your support means a lot :)

it's fine that my comment affects you

nice job i did filming in Dubai .

aha! Then you know how tough it can be! I appreciate you watching it :) x

yaa thats true...but congratulations...you finally got there

thanks :) it was a slog, but I admit, Im pleased we did it!

Nice Film....

thankyou thankyou! Im glad you enjoyed it! Im not sure what the heck is going on though as Ive had 60 upvotes but only 13 views....???? Something strange is happening.....but Im glad at least one real person has watched it!!

LOL Looks very fun !!! ^ ^💖💖 Wish i could to :D

You welcome to my page if you love art and drawings ^ ^
https://steemit.com/@cuteve

oh wow yes, you are VERY talented! I look forward to more of your drawings turning up in my feed :) x

❤❤❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61143.25
ETH 3314.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50