Talking to a 3-Star

in #veterans7 years ago

airforceltgeneral.jpg

Through my time in the Air Force, I've been around plenty of generals. That includes Army generals and some of the Joint Chiefs...

So it wasn't really anything unheard of when the TIG (The IG...Air Force Inspector General) came to speak to our class today. I mean, we ARE just down the road from D.C.

Our class has been learning the process of how to conduct proper investigations and more about the roles and responsibilities and what it means to be an Air Force Inspector General. While IGs are typically known for their inspection function, they also have a duty to help resolve complaints presented by any Airmen in the force. This is the function to which I will be assigned. Because it is one thing to ensure the standards of the regulations are followed by our procedures, but another thing entirely to ensure the standards of conduct are followed by our people.

Our class started on Monday and lasts the whole week. We just completed our case study and our good fortune allowed a few hours for Lieutenant General Harris to stop by and address our class.

160830-F-FC975-002.JPG

Granted, some of the talk was focused on the standard "rah, rah, you guys are great and what you do is important", but I especially appreciated the question and answer session at the end. There were some resourcing questions and some concerns about the future of the structure of the force. Some things I had experience in and others I didn't.

After the presentation, the class was released for lunch. My coworker and I dropped some books off at our afternoon classroom and doubled back. To our surprise, the general was still there speaking to a few people. My coworker had a question about the inspection side of the house, but I inquired about making a position similar to the one I am in, a permanent billet. The way the Air Guard is structured, it makes it kind of difficult to properly execute the duties of which I am assigned. So I inquired into the possibility of making the Guard IG position a permanent position, which would be GREAT for me!

Now, at the end of the day, will the change in the position actually happen? I'm thinking probably not. I'll keep working on various jobs around the base until I find a permanent position in some other function that I can work in. However, whenever you at least have a chance to make your proposal heard, THAT aids in the making of a good day!

-Randomness

RandoFooter.jpg

Sort:  

What was her answer? Was it encouraging, or vague?

She acknowledged my idea and clarified which type of full time position I would like (Active Guard Reserve, for instance). Stated she has only been in the job a month or so and had to look into it more. She already had a manpower question to look into so can look into this at the same time.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Randomness from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55