You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Some Vets Don't Like hearing "Thank You For Your Service"

in #veterans7 years ago (edited)

Having served 4 years of active service as a combat medic with 1st Battallion 503rd Infantry Regiment 173rd Airborne Brigade. Serving 8 months in Afghanistan, where 2 of my platoon mates were killed, and I was injured receiving the Purple Heart, I come from a place of understanding of what you are talking about. I think you go about it very nicely. To all those out there reading this there is nothing wrong with thanking someone for their service, but if you are going to do some, try and make it mean something more than a stock phrase like @prufarchy. I personally am very humbled when people say that to me, as I know many of the men that cam before me during a Vietnam did not have such a welcoming homecoming. Now I work in an emergency department and see many of these men who struggle and it breaks my heart to see that. So please, don't feel bad if you thank someone for their service, but if you are truly thankful try and build a conversation with them, just as you would with anyone. If it is a friend or aquaintence ask them what their service was like and see how they respond. Thank you @prufarchy for the great post👍

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing some of your experience with us and also your perspective.

It's hard to broach a subject like this because we never want anyone to feel bad for wanting to show appreciation, but we also don't appreciate that stock, nationalistic response that almost trivializes everything that is actually going on with respect to war and vets and coming home.

I hope the veteran tag helps build more awareness and even becomes a place where we can organize to challenge the monstrous VA... it doesn't seem like they care much when the media and cameras aren't turned their way