Paleo Fasting?

in #veterans6 years ago

Is that a thing or did I just make it up. I just made it up, but it is very descriptive when it comes to understanding how it used to be. We are so ingrained with having to take something, do something, pay something when it comes to our health that we tend to complicate what should be a simple and effective tool to keep or get back our health. In paleo times, when food was scarce, all they had was water. They did not have vitamin supplements, supplemental salt, enemas, exercise routines, or anything we place such great importance on today. The one fasting therapist that proved how simple fasting should be supervised over 30,000 fasts. His name was Dr. Herbert Shelton (1895-1985). He was a very prolific writer on his fasting experience so finding his writings on fasting is pretty easy. There is even a youtube video made of a film he produced.

One other thing, a big thing that gets in the way of our fasting adventure is ignorance. Too many of us want to get right into it without doing our homework. Knowing what to expect is a really big deal with fasting. The information is there and much of it free like a lot of Shelton’s work. The best book I’ve read on fasting is Fasting and Sunbathing by Shelton published in 1934. 1934!!! That’s too old! How can that be relevant today? Fasting has been with us and written about since mankind developed writing. Shelton’s work reads just like Dr. Jason Fung’s book The Complete Guide to Fasting published in 2016 except that Fung has physiological evidence of things like the fat to protein loss ratio during fasting (97% to 3% respectively) that Shelton could only estimate. The tools to answer questions like that were simply not available to Shelton in the 1930’s. Despite this his estimate was accurate. Chasing after the latest and greatest is another ingrained mindset we suffer from when it comes to information about our health.

Knowledge is power to the person who has it. To go into a fast without knowing the myriad of side effects is a catalyst for failure. People fear what they don’t understand and to fast without knowing what to expect can be a journey of terror with the slightest, but normal issue throwing you into the refrigerator to find something to eat. Fasting anxiety is a threat to your success. I’ve read where men perished after “starving” for seven days. As we all know it wasn’t lack of food it was fear of a lack of food.

Fasting is to do nothing, but drink a little water. Nothing is easier than nothing. Don’t complicate it with silly rules that didn’t exist in Paleo times. Arm yourself with the knowledge of what to expect. After the first couple of days it should be and can be a very pleasant experience as your body heals itself shedding what it doesn’t need or finds harmful to its future. All the thinking is done for you automatically by the brilliant discretion of autophagy. So relax, have a sparkling water with a wedge of lime and enjoy the journey taken by millions of people for centuries before you. You will find out why fasting is a religious staple, a healing gift from God whether you believe He exists or not is irrelevant.

pixabay

Sort:  

I was just reading your post about auyophagy and very interesting to me, now how many days it takes to do fasting?

Posted using Partiko Android

People water fast to lose weight and/or to heal disease. My longest was only five days and my body purged itself of benign prostatic hypertrophy, plaque psoriasis, and allergies. I am about to engage in a longer fast to get rid of more weight, but also hypertension. There may be other benefits that I will notice. There is a water fasting group in Facebook that I have joined that has a great deal of usable information. Some of the people there are from Venezuela. WOW! You are already up to 51. Good work! Congratulations!

Thank you I didn't know about it🤔 I am sure there are many people from Venezuela in that group since there is no food here lol😢 This is good for hypertension? My mom suffers from that. I am too thin and since you wrote its not suitable for people under 18~muscle mass I don't know if it could be good to do it 1 day?..🤔 Thanks Doctor😁👨‍⚕️

Posted using Partiko Android

I have reduced my blood pressure using fasting. People with a BMI under 18 should not fast. I'm not a doctor, I've just read 12 books on therapeutic fasting.

Sure you aren't a simple doctor you have got a PHD on fasting reading all those books!🤤📚 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! I am 51 same as you!!!😃😁😁💪🎉👍👏🙌😁 I won 2 delegations in contests for 1 month and thanks to that I continue here!!😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I was referring to your (51) reputation. I'm 68. Very happy you are doing so well here.

Me too was referring to Steem reputation I am 15🤣 tomorrow is my BDay🎂 and thought you were 40😲 Thanks😁!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @chuck2u32! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I think it's very strong to be many days taking only water.. I wanna share something that healed me was to eat a piece of garlic every morning and then not eat nothing more for two hours

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73