Memorial Day - In The US

in #veterans6 years ago

DSC_0026.JPG

Memorial Day Ceremony, at US National Cemetery, Bourne.
The National Cemetery for veterans, here on Cape Cod, has a wonderful service each Memorial Day.

ironpagebreak.png

Here, a Vet pay tribute to his fellow service men and women, who have served before him. Veterans Day is day for all Armed Forces members who dies, while serving. Memorial Day is a day to honour all those who served living and passed.

ironpagebreak.png

ironpagebreak.png

From this day to the ending of the world,
But we in it shall be rememberèd—
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition;
And gentlemen in England now a-bed
Shall think themselves accurs'd they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
That fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day.

  • King Henry, William Shakespeare's play, Henry V, in Act IV Scene iii

ironpagebreak.png

So, for the my Dad (US Army Signal Battalion), my two uncles US Army Infantry, my Godfather, 82nd Airborne, my brother's godfather, 101st, my great uncle 4th Armoured Div., my father-in-law US Navy USS Fletcher, Uncle Gus, Buzz, and Neil, also Navy, uncle Roland, US Army Air Corps, B24's Germany, Romeo, US infantry Viet Nam, Nick US Air Force Viet Nam, my friend who currently serves over in shit, still, as well as my friend Dr. Karl, thanks for your service. Thanks, too @sargento and his band of brothers here on Steemit.

And for the thousands of men and women still serving today, Thank You!

Sort:  

want this post resteemed to hundreds of followers? If you do just send me 0.01 STEEM/ SBD and its done!

Boy I will tell you what. Don't have anything to say about the post? Did you even read it?

Great stuff brother. My dad was a WWII Veteran, uncle=Lt. United States Marine Corps Vietnam, I have a grandfather that fought in the Revolution. Very rich military history my family has. My birth-mother's father and all her Uncle's served in WWII.

Appreciate the mention and my fellow Veterans. Have a safe Memorial Day my friend.

Sending blessings and groovy vibes your way.

My wife and I just returned from our Local Memorial Day Parade.
Most of the older guys are in the antique cars, now. A few of the guys marching had their Tiger Stripes and Jump boots on. Maybe air mobile or para infantry... not Straight Legs like you were. I know one. Another I know marching, served in 3rd Marines. The boys and girls in Desert Camo are mostly the ones left marching.

Hi @bluefinstudios, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thanks for the include.
My father-in-law and mother-in-law are resting here at National Cemetery.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Either you or someone who valued your post shared this post on Pimp Your Post Thursday in the Steemit Ramble discord. Looking forward to you visiting us again.

I didn't remember that your father was also in the communications branch of the US Army! My father was in the 315th Signal Corps, Construction Battalion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68498.38
ETH 3905.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66