The Need to Verify Data before Publishing: A Bad Case of Intercontinental Mistaken Identity

in #verify7 years ago (edited)

I applied for membership on #Steemit for over 2 months ago. I got an email saying my request was granted. I was very happy to see that email, so I started updating my profile immediately after a brief jubilation.

I was working on figuring out my profile and cover picture so I did a google search of myself to grab a suitable image url. I got a good result of so many images. As I clicked to grab an image, the caption beside the photo caught my attention. It reads, "Muhri son, Idris Busari invests 1 Million Dollars in MITV Ibadan"(https://fujiipop.wordpress.com/2017/08/30/muhri-son-idris-busari-invests-1-million-dollars-in-mitv-ibadan/).

I was already caught off-guard twice by the in-law bandit, twice in the middle of October. It was a crime of opportunity at our most vulnerable moment. Discovering this today is startling (See: https://www.facebook.com/resqranjazz/posts/10154661358701601).

Since this article was published in August,I think it explains why I got a flood of request for money from friends and relatives throughout the last quarter of this year. I am trying not to overthink what could come of this blog using my image on an article about a person with the same name but on another continent.

Should I be flattered or be upset? What would you advice in this situation?

#FirstPost #Impromptu #Introduction #introducemyself #introduceyourself #SteemUSA #SteemIndiana #SteemNaija

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rescueranjazz to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @rescueranjazz, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51