(Re)verification and why my (and possibly your) verification sucked

in #verification8 years ago

Hey Steemit!

After testing the waters of Steemit with my very first (and admittedly quickly slapped together) post and browsing through a few introduction posts, I have learned a very important lesson: Steemit users scrutinize verification pictures like they're evidence in a crime scene. I also learned, by extension, that my verification photo kind of sucked balls (pardon my French) and brought in questions of whether or not I'm "real".

Real #butthurt

Apparently some people have discovered that tits and the pretty girls they are attached to can make some easy money; others have found that ripping off talent can also be quite profitable for as long as no one calls them out on it (shame on you!). Therefore, a quality verification post can be paramount to a (real) person's success, especially when it comes to looks and/or talents. Once someone calls out "fake!" a post can crash harder than a fat kid off a diving board.

Courtesy illustrative gif

How I (Sorta) F@#$%'d Up

I didn't think this was all that bad for a verification photo... but there are things that could be improved to remove doubt - and doubt is what can screw an awesome post over.

When you take a selfie or a picture off your webcam, usually the picture is a mirror image. If you're taking a verification photo like a typical selfie, you need to flip it. Proooobably should also remove the watermark off whatever crappy website you found after Googling "take photo with webcam". (Woopsies ^^;). It also helps if it clearly looks like you're holding the paper.... not just having a piece of paper floating beside your face... kinda like how mine was.

Other Friendly Don'ts

Firstly: stop Photoshopping!
Even if you are real, it still looks like crap, you're still going to get called out, and you're going to make everyone on Steemit be even more weary of new posters. Try to show your face, and make sure your photo wasn't taken on a potato. I've seen a few otherwise decent posts be called into question because the quality was cruddy.

And for the love of all things Steemit, when someone questions whether or not your account is real, don't get defensive and butthurt and call the community sexist/losers/etc. etc. If anything it continues to take away from your validity. Post a new (better) photo, say "ta-da!", and be done with it.

Ta-Da!

In all seriousness, it is very disheartening to see others impersonate people for profit, and I commend the community for displaying a low tolerance for such. A community that has the ability to self-moderate and speculate is a strong one, and I'm glad these accounts are being cracked down on. ♥

Thanks for the read, lovelies! ♥
Sort:  

<3 Glad to see you decided to give Steemit another chance love!

Edit: xcynosure is my girlfriend. I'd convinced her to do an introduction post as she's a Nurse, Firedancer, Gamer Girl and all around super awesome and sexy woman. Someone in the STEEM chat ended up accusing her introduction post of being faked and a number of people ended up retracting their votes..

Trolls will be trolls I guess.

I'm glad she decided to re-visit Steemit and help others past where she went wrong on her first post.

<3 Awh. Thanks for the kind words, love.

When I got my wife linked up on Steemit she made around $20+ off of her two posts, both photos and one was a half assed picture of the sky. She slaughtered my six months worth of posts in two.
Based on the totallity of her interaction on Steemit I have come to the conclusion that it's best to be a SteemWoman than man. Monopolize on the gina & get paid.

Wise words..! They seem to mop up far better profits than their penis touting counterparts!

Intro? Check
Verification? Check
Learning?! Check!
KLYE?! Win!

Glad I came to read this, I usually skip over Tits &/or Travel posts but wow what nice tits verification photo you got there!

Nice post,
I'm @earnest and I approve this message,
and the eyes, with the 15 filters and all. :)

Roses are red,
violets are blue,
tits, tits and tits.

Clears throat

Roses are red
Violets are blue
I cry myself to sleep
Masturbating to you

Bows


I think you will fit in this community of sickos very well, welcome :)
P.S.
Are you really real ? :P Are u sure you haven't got a penis ?

Super P.S.
Thanks for that poem, I'm gonna use it as a pickup line someday. :3

No matter how hard I try, I just can't seem to sprout one. </3


Even though @klye probably wouldn't be too happy about that surprise haha.

you have so many filters I can barely see your face

This was an excellent post!!! It was recommended to my by @klye .

I think my favorite thing about your post is the tag of 'butthurt' hahahah!

Also, there's klyeart up there. Gotta always love the klyeart. MS PAINT 4 LIFE!!

Heheheh!! Looking forward to your awesome posts in the future!! I UFC'd!! (Upvoted, Followed, Commented)

Bahahaha. @Klye has pretty decent taste sometimes. ;P

Thanks for the upvote! <3

Great job cleavage! i mean cyno

lol, She'll punch me in the dick for your arrogance. D:

My plan is coming to fruition then. I've been trying to e-dick-punch you for years

Pmsl. I'll give him one in your name the next time I go visit him. Hahaha.

rofl. You and the rest of the damn internet. :D


For you buddy

As if dick punches require reasoning. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62606.46
ETH 3024.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90