Moving Day!

Finally received the keys to our new digs!

Image of keys

After reading through @steamship's post https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemship/take-two-re-doing-your-introductory-post-the-right-way I realized I needed to give this introduction thing another go as I did not include a shot of myself holding a placard. I was really hoping to get this post done before midnight my time, because the date in my picture is wrong now. :( I hope you forgive, my daughter is sleeping. Anyways, I figured I would take you all through a VERY brief walk through of our new place, and verify myself all in one go. It has been a long day but just a little too keyed up, plus I just had some cold-press! Tomorrow will be just as long as we still have a bunch more to move.

image of welcome I'm the ogre.

If you've been through the process of purchasing a home before, you will understand when I say the last 1-2 weeks have been a little on the stressful side. Having no idea when the bank might decide to pull the rug out from under the sale for no apparent reason can be a little nerve racking. Our real estate agent, who was pretty on the ball, had enough horror stories to keep us up most nights. However here we are and happy to be in our new place. It is almost surreal. After all that waiting, is this really the day?

image of livingarea living area
image of study study

The place is 100% refinished. The previous owner bought the property as a foreclosure from the county auction at a significant discount, flipped it and made a tidy profit. Brand new stainless steel appliances, washer/dryer, furnace, a/c, everything still with it's protective plastic coating and never used. Honestly it's a little weird, we're kind of hesitant to use anything, it's all so shiny. I feel bad when making a mess. I have to clean it up right away. First world problems. I know.

image of kitchen kitchen
image of bath1 upstairs bath

Honestly, my favorite part is the backyard. Fully fenced in so we can get a dog in the near future, and there is already a large garden space which I intend to enlarge significantly. The plan is to plant a butterfly garden using local perennial grass and wildflower species, and mix in some ornamental flowers. The rest will be used for veggies with a raspberry patch and a grapevine. I have no idea how to grow grapes but what the hell. I can always change to hops and either brew my own beer, or sell them to the local micro breweries. I have a dear friend who runs a very successful organic farm in Washington state that is going to help me with the planning of the garden, how to set it up optimally, what to grow where, what plants don't do well next to each other, when to start seeds, etc.

image of garden garden
image of carolina locust1 Carolina Locust, Dissosteira carolina. Garden friend.

Well, I thank you all for coming on our brief walk through. I hope you enjoyed it, I know we are going to. If you have any suggestions for better formatting, especially pictures, please drop me a line in the comments. I wasn't sure how to splice photos together which is why there are far fewer than I actually took :) I didn't want to leave you with just gobs and gobs of photos. If anyone has a suggestion as to how that can be done that would be great. I will just leave this here at the end. I wasn't sure if the share to Facebook had to be one of my posts here on Steemit, please tell me that is not the case.

image of fb That is me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35