Jacque Fresco of the Venus Project has died

in #venusproject7 years ago (edited)

A futurist and thought leader has died recently. Jacque Fresco, creator of the Venus Project has died May 18th, 2017 in Sebring FL. This will sadden many people who followed his work looking at one possible iteration of society.

I liked a lot of what he had to say, but ultimately came away from his main thought, namely the resource based economy, as a giant give away to bad people. Let me explain this as a lot of folks seem to really like his ideas.

Zeitgeist

A lot of people learned about Jacque in the movie Zeitgeist. Zeitgeist goes through a couple of reasonably accurate rounds of problems that exist in modern culture.

  1. Religions seem to be based on the same narrative, which is actually a celestial story.
  2. Money is created out of thin air by banks to the detriment of the world
  3. False flag terrorist attacks prove that bad people are in power
  4. We need a new system that eliminates the creation of money and simply aggregates and trades in resources.

The problem

He had me until 4. Right now the Fed has to print money and then trade that money to horde resources. In a resource based economy governments would simply control the resources. I don't like what governments do most of the time now. Imagine if they had even more control over every aspect of the country.

a different solution

A real reason I like crypto currencies is that I don't think there are too few currencies in the world. I don't think there are enough. We also don't have enough outside of teh 167 governments that control 7.2B people. A few more choices... especially those not backed by war, threat of war, or constant violence and media manipulation would be swell.

So, I'm sad that he passed, but I'm glad we didn't just turn over all our stuff to governments... that would make things worse. That said, some of his city planning work was pretty cool.





Sort:  

Aw :( Here is his last London Real back in 2014

oh my gosh...

I'm seriously teary eyed right now.... This guy was amazing. I looked forward to every new venus project video. I did not like his central command and control of resources stuff. But, a lot of the other stuff he said made a lot of sense. The art showing a balance of technology and nature. The idea of moving beyond scarcity. Focusing on resources... but not the forced part. Maybe cryptocurrency is the way forward to his dream I don't know. This is the first place I'm hearing about this new... gosh... Anyone know if he has had a funeral yet? I wanna find a way to show my support. He will be missed.

One Day.....

I didn't know this! Big loss for us. But I think he leave a good legacy between us and there are many minds with a lot of power. R.I.P. Thanks for sharing.

Wow...Humanity lost a visionary .....Most unfortunate

died at ages 101. maximize his human potential. i adore him.

I watched quite a lot of videos and read several articles from Jack fresco. Definitely a mind which was always thinking about how we can live in complete understanding of the nature that surrounds us and how we can learn to respect and live within it. We humans are visitors here in this world; we still think that we are all Mighty powerful - time will come when all of his ideas become a reality otherwise our existence as human beings will not be even a small percentage of what life of dinosaurs was on earth. May his soul rest in peace.

Cool post! I'm sad he pass away too. I agree with you cryptocurrencies are much needed and make a lot more sense than what the venus project wants to implement.

This is pretty sad to hear! That guy was brilliant!

The @thevenusproject is on Steemit already. R.I.P.

Wow didn't know. I really like the way he thinks and talks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64