You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: David Hay's SOS Venezuela Project!

in #venezuela6 years ago

Cryptocurrency and blockchain can, and will change the world. I don't believe it will be for better or worst though.

I read Venezuela rejected aid? Is that incorrect? I know their situation is horrifying (spoke to a writer who lives in Venezuela late last year). It's a very noble attempt and I wish you lots of luck as no one deserves such a life.

Despite my well-wishes, I don't see what blockchain or cryptocurrencies can do to circumvent corruption? Even if food, water, energy is all produced in a single region, and that single region can all use crypto to self-sustain (in-trading) a corrupt government or desperate citizens can still cause issues.

We all know that people working together for mutual benefit works. Even fiat and the technology from the 40's proved that (after WW2 people did this to rebuild). So blockchain and crypto aren't going to be the reason for success - it's the citizens who'll decide that.

My point here is that crypto (like fiat) = value = power = influence = corruption/greed.

Don't get me wrong, I love crypto and blockchain. Yet I'm not thinking it's going to solve problems that are inherently human issues.

For example, the monetary system we have isn't the problem, it's the people who have manipulated it. Blockchain or crypto isn't going to stop that. Just look at those hodling for maximum profits... They are the same as those who hodled fiat for maximum profits. It's human nature.

So my long-winded question is, how does crypto or blockchain solve the human problems your project will encounter? Like greed, jealousy, corruption, manipulation, and theft. I'm not doubting your project, I'm truly just curious. Sorry for the long post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55