Cuba´s Classic: shiny oldtimer Chevrolet Bel Air in Old Havana

in #vehiclephotography7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers!

Welcome to my Cuba´s Classic series. I am here with another post that will surely please every old car enthusiast :)

When roaming the pictures streets of Old Havana, I took many shots of classic American cars that can be found all over the historic center of this extraordinary city.

Today, I would like to share this photo of an amazingly neat and shiny green Chevy right after a little evening shower (you can actually see the raindrops on the hood if you click on the image for larger view).

IMG_20171028_184617.jpg

Click on the image for full view

If you look carefully, you can also recognize a tiny silhouette of El Capitolio, the iconic landmark of Havana, in the background.

More travel posts about Cuba will be coming soon so stay tuned! :)

This is also my entry for today´s #vehiclephotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Awesome car!

Nice shot. This car looks like it's in quite good condition. Surprising, since most of these old cars in Cuba are a bit tattered and in rather rough condition. From your photo, this one looks almost likes it's been restored.

Actually, most of the cars I saw there were in very good shape... You can see that in some of previous posts, for example here: https://steemit.com/vehiclephotography/@phortun/cuba-s-classic-shiny-oldtimer-chevrolet-in-vedado-havana

or here: https://steemit.com/vehiclephotography/@phortun/cuba-s-classic-shiny-oldtimer-buick-parked-in-front-of-grand-teatro-de-la-havana

I dont know how they do it as the cars are so old but they just look fantastic :) What parts of Cuba did you visit?

You're right, those cars in your photos are shiny and in great shape. Maybe those are owned by the elite, who can afford car wax!

But most of the cars I saw were in average shape or poor shape. Most had dull finishes, and many had replacement light covers made from plastic bottles, and other such jerry-rigged repairs. They looked a bit rough, but I assume the engines were in good shape -- surprisingly!! As you can see in the photo below, these cars are not in quite the same tip-top shape as those in your photos.

I visited Pinar Del Rio, Havana, and Trinidad.

Ah, so thats why probably... I think the cars look different in rural parts of Cuba as there are not as many tourists as in Havana, where the oldtimers also serve as taxis so local people do their best to keep them look nice and shiny. Great shot btw! :)

Awesome shot I really like belairs I would like to have one someday

Beautiful car! Photo is amazing too, so clear and nice.

Cuba has all the cars !!

The detail of the raindrops makes the car shine. Cuba should be a nice place for vacations. Beautiful photo.

It is a unique place, highly recommended :) Thanks for the comment!

Great shot, I haven't had a chance to visit Cuba yet but its on my list. Especially for the cars and the architecture.

Thank you so much! What an honor to get this nice comment from a professional photographer :) Honestly, I like taking photos of nature and landscape more but it was very hard to resist taking shots of the fancy old cars, they are just soo photogenic :) I am sure you will take tons of stunning vehicle photos once you make it there :)

Loving the Cuba's classic series : ) Wish I could ride in it someday!

Nice photo, love how it compliments the buildings colours in the background 👍🏾

thank you :)

No probs, keep shooting 📸. 👊🏾

Upvoted because that's a gorgeous car, and the Cuban car culture is a huge interest of mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39