Time Travel Havana Cuba (part 1) - Vehicle Photography Contest

in #vehiclephotography6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for today´s #vehiclephotography contest hosted by @juliank.

Thousands of pre-1960 American Cars remain scattered throughout Cuba during to the U.S. Embargo following the 1959 Cuban Revolution which resulted in an amazing vehicle time capsule. This photo was taken on November 8, 2016 while cruising along the famous Malecón (El Malecon) in Havana Cuba. Construction on the El Malecon began in 1901 and was completed around 1921. (And yes, I was in Cuba during the U.S. Presidential Elections… quite an experience).

Click image to view full size.

Beyond the seawall to the left is where the Atlantic Ocean meets the Gulf of Mexico with Florida (U.S.) about 110 miles north.

CubaNov16.jpg

Photo Location in Havana Click Here

Click image to view full size.

Please visit Fellow Steemian @liltammy, who has many interesting blogs on her travels including Cuba.


--> Thank you for visiting and interesting comments get --> Upvoted!

(All images are by the author and original content, created expressly for Steemit).

(© 2018 @armentor. All rights reserved.)

Sort:  

Amazing photos of the classic cars. Looks like you have a great group cruising the Havana El Malecon. I heard that many of the cars have not only been rebuilt, but they have machined their own parts.

Exactly. It was bizarre as you would have a food with a Cadillac steering wheel. Yes the made or modified car parts often, many times from scratch. Hard working kind people.

It is really remarkable on they have been able to survive the US embargo. I really need to visit Cuba.

Thank you so much for mentioning me, it means a lot! :)) Your photos from Havana are fabulous!

You're welcome @liltammy. You have interesting posts others should see as well. I loved Cuba and have so many photos to share. We were actually there when Trump won, very depressing. None of us wanted to go back home.

Thank you for these nice words, I really appreciate it. We, me and @phortun loved Cuba too! So sorry to hear that your stay in Cuba was spoilt by the Trump election...

I will need to visit again. We had much rum after the Trump win.... trust me!

Awesome capture :) I think Cuba is every photographer´s dream come true :) We only spent a couple of days there but we ended up having thousands of shots, including hundreds of these old cars photos. I am sorry your current President ruined a part of your Cuban holiday :(

So true. We were there for a week and there was so much to see. When I find time, I'll blog about the trip... which including playing pickup with current and retired Cuban Pro Baseball Players.

Wow, that sounds like a very cool experience :) Did you visit Vinales too?

Yes it was surreal. Unfortunately we did't travel too far from Havana. So much to see. My next trip will need be 1 day in Havana and the rest elsewhere.

Yeah, that would be a good idea. I was really amazed by the beauty of Cuban countryside. Here is a few shots from Vinales https://steemit.com/nature/@phortun/landscape-photography-vinales-national-park-natural-beauty-of-cuba-at-its-best

The landscape is so beautiful and the hills. So different than the north shore. More of a reason to go back sooner rather than later. Thanks.

It is my favourited vehicle photo. Lights and colours are amazing. Did you take this shot in over the glass?

Thank you. Good catch my friend. I was literally standing up in the front seat.

Wow really a blast from the past!

So true @old-guy-photos. Not only the cars but the architecture was either old French and Spanish or 1960's Soviet. Soviet construction is some of the ugliest on earth!

Do you also have that car collection! That price in my opinion would be very expensive

I think it's got you

great post and image..and this is showing you areverystrugglingfor your best,,best of luck

Cuba must be a charming place, I love classic cars and Cuba is full of them, it's like a trip through time. Good photo, I hope someday to be able to visit Cuba.

Thank you.

You framed vehicle.Really amazing photoshoot.

Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62494.88
ETH 2428.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65