Vegetarians and piercings in Phuket

in #vegetarian5 years ago

veg fest female mahong.jpgThe Phuket vegetarian festival has come and gone. Finally. Firstly, this is a local festival and I do respect it. Now most people think that I would like the festival considering I'm vegetarian. Well, I suppose that it is a good thing in the respect that many animals are saved during that time. However, its easy to question the point of being vegetarian and following certain precepts for 9 days and then returning to your life of "sin" for the rest of the year. Personally, I live the life everyday and don't find it particularly difficult. But we are not all made the same and I understand my lifestyle is one of a minority.
So from a practical point of view after the first few days eating just becomes more or less of a hassle with loads of people at the vegetarian restaurants where I normally eat. These days I cook at home sometimes so that allowed me some options. I reckon the restaurant owners would prefer to close but that would look bad and this year they stayed open after the festival where in previous years they would close for a week after.
So if one does good every day then there is no need to cleanse yourself on the inside. That is what this festival is about. Eating vegetarian is a form of personal sacrifice to cleanse yourself of all the bad you've been doing the rest of the year. It leads itself to say that you can imagine the types of people that attend this festival. Basically, if you're a good person everyday than there's no need to do such things. But who knows, maybe some percentage of the people continue on eating veg... Its possible but unlikely haha. The upside is that I do get to meet many full time vegetarians that come to town from other parts of Thailand to cook for the festival.
Truthfully, the only part of the festival I find interesting are the processions. The food is mainly fried meat substitutes and rice and veggies isn't easy to find.
The locals pierce themselves through the cheeks with various objects. Its real and sometimes there is some blood. They have scaled down the black magic side of it as in the past they would use guns and other fairly outrageous items. As well they get possessed by ghosts which I find funny and interesting. One can easily doubt the ghost possession but I've seen them become possessed in the temple years ago and it looked quite real to me. As well the locals line the streets to receive blessings from the possessed people. The belief and interaction is very interesting and elderly and ill locals come for the blessings.
I live just next to where the closing fireworks happened. A bit like a war scene but ok you know there's an end to it and just have to be patient. veg fest boat pearcing.jpg.
By the end of the festival I'm sure everyone except for the kids lighting fireworks off are glad its over. They can go back to living their normal lifestyle and I'll do the same. In peace and quiet veg fest pearcing.jpg

Sort:  

What a cool, and also bizarre, festival.

I'd love to know more about the connection between celebrating vegetarianism and poking a skewer through your cheek...

There must be so much more to the origins of this ritual. What's it about? Do you know?

Oh, and welcome to Steem. You should come and hang out with the #naturalmedicine crew ;-)

It's a commemoration of a merit making where a community was delivered from a terrible plague. The re-enactment of suffering increases the merit made by eating "jay" (vegetarian) for the ritual 9 days to honour the Buddha. It's one of those quirky things where the animist heart of real Thailand is dressed up as Buddhism and vegetarianism.

And it's bizarre that the word "jay" is similar and likely anciently related to the word "Jain" in India. There are slight variations of this word in Vietnam and Laos as well. However, in Cambodian "jay" means to talk down to and humiliate someone, and to say you are vegetarian, you say "I am one who is becoming a monk" in Khmer, even though monks in Cambodia aren't vegetarian. It's actually really hard to explain vegetarianism in Khmer. It requires at least 4 or 5 sentences. It would be nice to just be able to say "jay" and get the job done.

@justinparke Yes well I reckon it all comes from the same source at some point. Jains, Thai and Chinese vegetarians don't use onion and garlic as well. Yes as you know I had some troubles finding veg food in Cambodia and if it wasn't for you and your kind family I would have practically starved haha.

Thanks your for your comment . Well yes indeed but the festival is actually based on the Chinese community here from SE China that speak Hokkien. I've heard different stories as to the reason behind the tradition with one being the tin mines which were full of Chinese immigrants suffered from dysentery spread by the Chinese opera which was traveling around performing at the different labour camps. To show penace, the Opera members became vegetarian for 9 days. This can help explain the self mutilation and piercings perhaps. The events are based around the Chinese temples here in Phuket.

https://steemit.com/@metametheus thanks for your comment. Yes its quite a unique festival. Actually I enjoy watching the people become possessed by ghosts the most. I find the piercings to be quite shocking at first but I've seen the festival so many times I've become accustomed to it. A bit of self mutilation to pay for your sins so to speak from a western point of view. I recommend you to check it out next year. They also have it in Bangkok, Hat yai, and Trang but the largest is in Phuket. https://steemit.com/trending/naturalmedicine sounds nice I'm always interested to learn more. Thanks for the invite :)

Goodday and Welcome to the great community of Steemit, Chris
YESS You are a new Steemian now!
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. We haven’t met before but that changes right now. Dont let all the replies and bots scare you.
Just comment if you get scared and i Will help out.
If you download the app Steemify for notifications you see what Will happen in your account.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit is and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money to.

I love blogging, But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
https://steemit.com/community/@brittandjosie/4-o-clocky-steem-keys-key-to-your-succes-so-secure-them

The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote‬
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Good luck with your journey and may you find here what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is THE key to big succes on Steemit.

Please vote for a witness to. You have 30 votes and if you dont understand let me know and i Will help. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure in the beginning very important.

Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help, I am in Discord too @ brittandjosie3488
Greeting from the Netherlands
@ Brittandjosie
steemterminal discord invite
https://discord.gg/pxBj9b

Hey! I need to use steemify - would you believe I never have? Great comment and advice!

Thanks @brittanjosie for stopping by with some valuable info.

Thanks @ Brittandjosie for the helpful comments. I'll look into the information you've kindly given me and hopefully be up to speed soon. Thanks again and hope you enjoy my future posts. My real introduction post is in the works and coming soon.

Great and please in the beginning steemit is overwhelming so let me know if you need help

@brittandjosie Thanks again. I'm learning a lot so far and finding people very kind and helpful :)

It’s so bizarre. I wonder what the origins of this are or the historical event that caused this festival to be created.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello Chris!

@sreypov Hi Pov nice to see you here. Sabadee mai clap? How is Surinam? Greetings to your daughters :)

Hi,nice to meet you too.I am good here.

Congratulations @chrisinphuket! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to #Steem @chrisinphuket.
Glad you joined, I'll send you some links on how to do an #introduceyourself post.

Hello @chrisinphuket, welcome to steem, I hope you enjoy it 😊, @justinparke introduced me to you. I've resteemed your post, hopefully a few more people will get to know you. Best wishes 😎

https://steemit.com/@shanibeer Thanks so much for your comment and resteeming. I hope you enjoyed the post. Best wishes to you too :) https://steemit.com/@justinparke is a very helpful and kind guy :)

     Check out communities like ReggaeSteem.io, NaturalMedicine.io, @EcoTrain, TravelFeed.io, @innerblocks, and @vegansofsteemit. I think amongst these communities you will find like minded people. Not every post will fit into each community, but I think these communities share similar interests with you.

Welcome to Steemit!! @justinparke shared your post in our Discord server, and it's really cool to meet you!! I have been vegetarian since I was 6 years old, well, until about tenyears ago where I had to eat 'happy meat' - (@senorcococonut will tell you about this) for various reasons, but I never find eating vego hard. It's actually frustrating to go to a restaurant and NOT get too many selections - one or two, at most. Last time we went to a family dinner and poor Mum and Dad had a choice of two dishes - chestnut vegan nut roast with roast veggies, and a mushroom burger. They are used to it and don't mind, and to be honest, the meals were good! Melbourne has lots of vegan restaurants and it's getting more popular.

A really interesting post- loved hearing about this particular festival. One of hte cool things about this place is it's really global - love hearing about traditions from the other side of the world.

Oh, and not to overwhelm you, but definitely go for 10 tags if you can (only on Steempeak or other front ends like ours, www.naturalmedicine.io) and 'naturalmedicine' embraces and supports vegetarianism, so we'd love to hear more from you and embrace you into our humble tribe xx Any questions, don't hesitate to ask!! Never be shy - there's always someone around to help, or if they can't, they'll point you to someone who can!!

https://steemit.com/@riverflows Thanks so much for the kind comments and encouragement. My next post will be on steempeak and I'm just learning about all this so all information is helpful. I'll go for max tags in that post for sure. :)

It's a bizarre festival to be sure, Chris. Welcome to steem.

I'm based in Chiang Mai and Mae Sariang - 16+ years in Thailand now. :) Swing by for a coffee if you are in the neighbourhood.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

https://steemit.com/@artemislives Thanks so much. I lived in Chiang Mai in 2002 actually. A bit different these days but still lovely with super outgoing northern Thais. I've been in Mae Sariang as well. Funny was just discussing the school for stateless children there with a former teacher of the school yesterday... :) I'm due for a northern jaunt so I'd love to swing by and same goes if you make it down south to Phuket.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23