CHICKPEA CURRY WITH COURGETTES, SWEET POTATOES, OKRA ON A BED OF COCONUT COUSCOUS & QUINOA I EAT THE RAINBOW 🌈 BABY RECIPE WEEK #5

in #veganwednesday7 years ago (edited)

Greetings beautiful souls how you doing today I’m cooking one of my favourite Asian dishes and my chickpeas pack a punch full of spices and herbs that will definitely wake up your pallet. One of the reasons I love Asian food is the spices and herbs that they use to complement their vegan meals especially the sheiks who are traditionally vegan. The way I cook my chickpea curry is with an African Asian twist combining the best of both worlds muah.

CURRY INGREDIENTS
• 1 tin Organic Chickpeas or 100g Raw Dry Chickpeas (Soak raw chickpeas overnight)
• 1 ½ Organic Onions
• 150g Fresh Organic Cherry Tomatoes
• 1 Bunch of Spring Onions
• 2 Clove of Garlic
• 1 Sweet Pepper
• 1 Scotch Bonnet Pepper
• 3 grams Root Turmeric
• 3 grams Root Ginger
• 2 Teaspoons Ground Turmeric
• 2 Teaspoons Ground Gram Masala
• 1 Teaspoon Cumin
• 2 Teaspoons Pink Himalayan Sea Salt
• 150g Olive Oil or Vegetable Oil
• 2 Sweet Potatoes
• 2 Courgettes
• 9 Okra Lady Fingers
• 500g Spring Water

METHOD
• Soak all the vegetables in white vinegar for 30 minutes.

• Wash and rinse vegetables to remove all chemicals.

• Chop tomatoes we remove the seeds during the wash as the seed make the food acidic and the food will go rotten in the fridge when stored for a few days.
• Add tomatoes, garlic, spring onions, onions, root ginger, root turmeric, scotch bonnet pepper and sweet pepper in a food process or chop until fine with a knife.

• Heat your cooking pot to medium heat and gently roast your dry herbs cumin, gram masala and ground turmeric stirring them gently until you smell their aroma.

• Remove the roasted herbs and add your oil or enough oil to cover the bottom of the frying pan to fry the chopped up vegetables.

• Fry the vegetables until they are soft and golden brown and then add your roasted herbs cumin, gram masala and turmeric.

• Add the cooked chickpeas or the raw dried that have been soaked overnight to the pot with the fryed vegetables.

• Add your water, courgettes, okra and sweet potatoes at this point add pink Himalayan sea salt to taste cover the pot with a lid and bring to a gentle boil to cook medium to low heat the vegetables this could take 25mins.

• Switch off the cooker once the vegetables have cooked and most of the water has evaporated your chickpea curry is done.

COCONUT COUSCOUS & QUINOA INGREDIENTS
• 200g Couscous
• 150g Quinoa
• 200g Water
• 2 Teaspoons Pink Himalayan Sea Salt
• 2 Tablespoon Organic Coconut Oil
• 1 Tablespoon Mixed Dried Herbs

METHOD

• Wash grains couscous and Quinoa until water is clear and then drain.

• Add the water to a saucepan and heat to a boil.
• While the water is boiling add Salt.
• Put your grains in the boiling water and cover with a lid on medium to low heat for 10mins.
• Lower the heat to low after 10mins and leave for 5mins then turn of the heat on the cooker.
• Carefully open the lid as the steam is hot and now add your coconut oils fluff up the grains and stir in the coconut oil.
• Cover the pot with the lid and let it sit for a further 5 mins and then serve.

SERVES 5

Enjoy!!

Pictures source Author's.

NOTICE I WOULD LOVE SOME CODE SO THAT I CAN POSITION MY PICTURES BETTER THANKS

Leave a comment if you can think of ways in which I can improve my vegan recipe post, what you did like or didn’t like your feedback is valued. Leaving feedback will give me the opportunity to improve my post and provide content that meet the needs of the Steemit community.

Do follow to see more of my African, East London, Caribbean and Asian influenced food blogs, watch my eclectic twist, turns and passion with plant based food. I create food from the soul for the soul prepared in the air of LOVE.

Sort:  

Looks amazing!

@vegawesome thank you it taste delicious too I hope you will find the time to cook this recipe, thanks for stopping by.

I love clean eating. The more I eat clean foods the less I crave unhealthy greasy food. I am definitely going to use to post to make this meal with red wine.

Absolutely the more clean the food you eat, your body will perform at it's optimum potential. It just make sense and you have less disease less doctors and prescription drugs. Thanks for stopping by @blockgators.

Yep. Enjoyed the post
#cof

if you are in HTML mode you can center things by using:

<center > this is centered </center >

this is centered

hope that helps! lovely post.. bigger pics would have been nice too ;-)

@eco-alex your a star thank you for stopping by and leaving the code and good advise that what I need as a newbie love n light to you.

happy to help! very welcome ;-)

This looks super delicious and nutritious - upvoted and will resteem! Thanks for sharing.

@ndbeledrifts thanks for the love I have looked at your art and it's beautiful so I will be following you also and only realised that you are part of my tribe #COF much love to you.

Hey!!! I'm going to cook this meal tonight! I'll make a post let you know what a gracious gift you have shared with my kitchen. Much love to and you for seeing my art, humbled by this. #cof pretty neat!

I like the colors and I love okra. :)

@zararina thank you do try it I love Okra I even eat it raw with my salads, thanks for stopping by.

High Five. You may have found another Niche' here Shi. Looks delicious!! I might need to try this recipe.

Real talk I love food, cooking and creating plant based food, famalam do try this recipe it's tasty.

Real talk. What you know about that lino/slang? LoL

Congratulations on a wonderfully plant-powered post!
This post has been resteemed by @plantpowerparty!
@plantpowerparty aims to support and encourage plant-powered recipes like this one right here!
🌿🌱🌺🍇🍉🍌🍍
Thank you for sharing! Steem on!
(PS @plantpowerparty is looking for a logo! If you or anyone you know can create one, come on over to the page for more info!)

@plantpowerparty thank you for stopping by and for the love I will check out your page love n light.

I've never tried coconut couscous, but I'm so intrigued by it now.

It taste beautiful I love it give it a slight sweet but very healthY fat addition to the meal, do try the recipe the chickpea curry is full of flavors, thanks for stopping by @vegetarianbaker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52