Chickpea Curry with Courgettes ala @sheapureness : original photos and cooking inspired by steemit from @ndbeledrifts

in #food7 years ago

Hey all, I am here to express my love for a new recipe I tried which I found on steemit, a winner for sure. Chickpea Curry with Courgettes, Sweet Potatoes, Okra on a bed of Coconut Couscous and Quinoa - I eat the rainbow Baby Recipe Week # 5 by @sheapureness.
image.jpeg
The spices and the vegetables created a flavor that was far surpassing the quality of many meat-centered meals I have had, and the omission of meat and dairy created a great relief for my pocketbook, at the local grocery store, where food is expensive.
I have had the luxury of tasting exquisitely prepared curry in the past when I used to work at an Indian Restaurant with my friends from Nepal, and so I had a sense of what a spectacular recipe this was before I started cooking -- it definitely lived up to my high hopes.
The original recipe called for Okra (which I was unable to find, to my sorrow) Coconut Couscous and Quinoa, which I had to substitute with basmati rice. I followed the recipe as closely as I could given my limitations.
image.jpeg
I chopped an onion, and began to cook it with the oil and herbs ( I used turmeric, garam masala, and cumin )
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
Using my food processor - la machine - I combined and chopped the tomatoes, (seeds in, because I was too lazy to de-seed the tomatoes), garlic, green onions, ginger, green and red pepper.
image.jpeg
After cooking the onions, I added some bell peppers, then the blended veggies. I added more spices and then the garbanzo beans.
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
Afterwards, I added water, zucchini, sweet potatoes, salt, and I covered the pot on med. simmer for 25 minutes. I made the rice after soaking it for 20 minutes, and voila!
image.jpeg
image.jpegimage.jpeg

It was a healthy and satisfying meal of organic and humane substance. I am so grateful to the steemit community, especially @sheapureness for helping me address the great quandries of my life-- what to make for dinner ! This was a great post and I will be making this in the future!
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
Thanks for reading! please comment, upvote, resteem, and follow! Also go check out the original inspiration for this post for the recipe and instructions -- https://steemit.com/veganwednesday/@sheapureness/chickpea-curry-with-courgettes-sweet-potatoes-okra-on-a-bed-of-coconut-couscous-and-quinoa-i-eat-the-rainbow-baby-recipe-and

Sort:  

You are so good with your photos...I can smell it! I remember now finding and following you through a recipe, though I forget it at the moment but I remember the work you put into your photos! Auto-upvoting you :)

Thank you your comments deeply appriciated. (Credit goes to @sheapureness fully, her photos and recipe were more than mouth watering too though ) ;P

Maybe I mixed those "steamy" photos from somewhere else! HA HA! :)

yum :)

It was very yum. Thanks for your noticing! :)

Loads of information. Many thanks. Love it. @ndbeledrifts Followed

Thanks! Big smiles here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27