Buddha Bowl for Vegan Wednesday


Hey there folks!  I have a simple Buddha bowl to tempt your taste buds today.  While I made sure all of my meals this week are jammed with nutrition to get me ready for the race on Saturday, everything I made was fairly easy to put together.  I love sharing things that anyone can do at home to create a healthy meal, no matter how good your cooking skills are!

As much as I love cooking and creating healthy food for myself and @dksart to eat, I am also a bit excited to be leaving for vacation soon.  Which means I get a break from dishes for a week!  It will be interesting to try to stay on top of my normal routine at an all-inclusive resort, but I am going to do my best.  After eating well for so long I know I do not feel my best if I depart too much from clean, whole foods.  At least I know where we are headed has lots of fresh tropical fruit!



Speaking of fresh--I am definitely on the same page as @pusteblume with enjoying all of the asparagus I can while it is in season!  My dad loves the skinny asparagus spears, so I was excited to find some at the store.  I immediately thought of him and grabbed a few bunches.  Luckily it was the day I go see my niece while he babysits so I was able to give it to him to enjoy.  My bunch I decided to use in my Buddha bowl with lentils, sprouts and shredded beets.  When produce is in season you don't need to do much to it to make it taste delicious!

Buddha Bowl

  • 1 cup lentils, cooked (I used French or Puy lentils)
  • 1 bunch of asparagus, trimmed
  • 3 small beets, trimmed & shredded (I used the food processor--easy peasy)
  • broccoli sprouts & leafy greens for serving
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • 1 lime, juice & zest
  • 3 tablespoons black cherry balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon ground sumac
  • salt & pepper

Cook your lentils until done, but not mushy.  Drain, rinse & set aside.

Spread your asparagus on a baking sheet and sprinkle with salt & pepper.  Cook in a 350 degree Fahrenheit oven for 8-10 minutes.  Let cool, then cut into bite-sized pieces.

Make your dressing by mixing together the tahini, lime, vinegar and sumac until smooth.  Taste and adjust to your liking.  Feel free to use whatever fruity vinegar you may have in your pantry.

To assemble your bowls place a large handful of leafy greens in your bowl then top with a few scoops each of your cooked lentils, shredded beets, sprouts and asparagus.  Top with the dressing.  Enjoy!



#veganwednesday is hosted by the fabulous @heart-to-heart.  This is also a great way to #makeithealthy in support of another fantastic lady, @woman-onthe-wing.  Both of these gals are working hard to spread the message of a healthy life here in the Steemit universe, and beyond!


Sort:  

This looks amazing and I agree... it's important to create vegan healthy meals that everybody can cook.

Thanks Amy! I think you are definitely doing your part to share easy yet scrumptious meals. :)

Another colourful, healthy bowl of goodness for me to completely drool over! Thanks for sharing!

So glad you like it! :)

We just had a bowl (but in a restaurant). It was good but yours looks even better! Yummy! I am not hungry now but I safe that for later ... 😜

Thank you for the compliment! I'm not great with the super fancy dishes, but I can make simple look pretty darn good. :)

I think that's more important than creating fancy foods!

We have Sumac growing everywhere, but I had no I had it's edible;. This is very flavorful and highly nutritious Buddha Bowl Katie 🌸💖🌸

Just watch out for the poison kind! I was scared the first time I tried it in a restaurant, but the ground spice has a bright, citrus flavor that is delicious! I love using it in dressings. :)

Ohhhhhhh, I see!!! Te one that grows everywhere is probably the poison kind.

Definitely don't want to eat that one then! ;)

I guess not, lol.

Yes please 😊🌷😘

I do still have some of this left... ;)

Cool! I've arrived late for the ice cream, at least I can have this one 😉

Delicious! :)

I'm always drooling over people's pictures of buddha bowls. 🤤 They look so delicious (I bet they taste too!) but I've never made one for myself. Even though people say that they're easy and simple meals, it just seems a lot of work, since there are so many components in them, cooking, grating, baking, assembling... I'm just too lazy! 😅 So, I'm not going to lie, I probably won't try this one out, but I truly looks delicious though! 😋

I appreciate the honesty. :) I used to be quite intimidated by them, too, but if you have some stuff ready to go it's not too hard to put together. I will let you in on a little secret though--I made mine nice and pretty, but the remainder I left thrown together in a messy bowl for my boyfriend to eat as he likes. If I am not trying to make them look presentable my method is usually just toss it all together since that's how I end up eating it anyway.

Wonderful meal, Broccoli sprouts and asparagus, two of my absolute favorites! I bet you are so excited for this weekend. I hope you can maintain your diet at the resort. It's so difficult when you get out of your routine, but you're right, fruits and veggies in season...can't go wrong!

Thank you! I don't know why I waited so long to start doing broccoli sprouts at home. They are so easy and super nutritious! I am hoping vacation brain doesn't impair my food judgement. I think the resort we are staying at is a pretty good one, so I should be able to find some options that work! It's been a year since I've been to the beach so I'm more than ready! :)

What a fabulous combination of great taste and health in one bowl!!

Thank you friend! No end to yummy bowls with the abundance of spring coming on! :)

Mmm your buddha bowl looks so good! Simple meals like this one are my favourites, so healthy and delicious!

Thank you! I agree. Fancy is definitely fun sometimes, but day to day simple rules. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73