Adzuki Bean & Cauliflower Rice Bowl for Vegan Wednesday!

in #veganwednesday7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear friends!  If you saw some of my lovely veggies in my #fruitsandveggiesmonday post put on by @lenasveganliving, this is one of the meals I made from some of my farmers market goodies.  I know Lena and I both have been trying to keep up the #veganwednesday tradition (as well as a few others like @pusteblume and now @plantbasedmiri has joined the party!).

It is always wonderful to see the nutritious but also visually pleasing dishes that we plant-based folks can come up with to show how fabulous a diet without meat can be!  Before I started coming up with my own recipes I always wondered how I would ever be able to come up with my own ideas because there are so many great ones already out there.  Well, although there is probably plenty of overlap and similarities, there really is no end to the creations you can come up with in the kitchen!

Sometimes I feel like I am not a creative person, but lately I think I am finding that spark when I go to the market and pick out random produce to see what I can come up with when I get home.  Connecting with lots of you wonderful people on Steemit has definitely helped foster that side of myself, so thank you to everyone who stops by and comments or hosts some of the great challenges like #veganwednesday!  I look forward to the return of the curator, @heart-to-heart, to be inspired by some of her dishes in addition to all of the other awesome foodies on here!

Have a great day guys!!

Napa Cabbage Slaw

  • 1 medium head Napa cabbage, chopped (mine was huge so I used about 2/3 of the head)
  • 1 half of a fresh pineapple, peeled, cored & chopped
  • 2 tablespoons pineapple white balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander

Mix everything together in a big bowl.  I like to make a few hours ahead of time to let the flavors sink into the cabbage a bit.

Tahini Dressing

  • 1/3 cup tahini, or other nut or seed butter of choice
  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 1-inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled & minced
  • 1 tablespoon miso

Place all of the ingredients in a bowl and whisk together until creamy.  I used a few tablespoons of water to thin mine out.  Adjust any of the components to your liking.

Adzuki Bean & Cauliflower Rice Bowl

Serves 6

  • 2 cups cooked adzuki beans
  • 1 head cauliflower, pulsed in the food processor to make "rice"*
  • 1 large bunch bok choy, cleaned and stalks/leaves separated
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons low-sodium tamari, liquid aminos or soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • salt & pepper

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Place your bok choy on a large baking sheet lined with parchment or a silpat liner.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper, then place in the oven to roast for 20 minutes.  Flip and stir halfway through the cooking time.  When it is out of the oven, chop and set aside.

While your bok choy is roasting, prepare your beans and "rice".  Warm a skillet over medium-low heat and add your beans through the red pepper flakes to the pan.  Cook for about 10 minutes, or until the spices are fragrant and the mixture is warmed through.

To assemble the bowls start with a large scoop of the slaw in the bottom of your bowl.  Add a few scoops of the bean mixture, then some of the roasted bok choy (I made sure to get some of the green leaves and the crunchy stalk).  Finish off with a dollop of the tahini dressing.  Enjoy! 

  *You can also buy the pre-made cauliflower rice in most grocery stores now, but it is also quite easy to make on your own with a food processor.  Just cut up the cauliflower into florets and pulse until it's the size and texture you want! 

  

Sort:  

Thanks a very interesting recipes I may have to try this one

Thanks for checking it out! I was happy that for once I think I got some pictures that do the taste justice. ;)

you got great shots

They truly do the food justice

I have to admit that the more that I hang out with you people, the more vegan I become!

This recipe is one that I am looking forward to making. Not only does it look yummy, but the ingredients mixed together sound so appetizing! Thank you for sharing this with us!

Haha! Our master plan is working! ;) Let me know what you think if you try it!

I love cauliflower rice, it1s such a great low-carb dish, perfect as a garnish with any kind of seasoning :) I think I'll have it for lunch today... I've never added turmeric to it so far, so today I'll do it this way. Thanks for the inspiration :)

Turmeric is such a beneficial spice for us, so I've been trying to add it everywhere I can! I figured it would also keep that lovely orange hue to my cauliflower to keep the aesthetics pleasing. Have a fantastic lunch! :)

I don't even know how to pronounce a lot of the ingredients in this recipe, but the finished product looks delicious.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck

Thanks so much for checking out my post! I would be honored to have you share it and will definitely check out @ocd to see some other great blogs.

When I was a kid I pretty much only ate bacon cheeseburgers, so if you had told me one day I'd be posting recipes with adzuki beans I would have laughed in your face. Now I love trying new things and it's so fun to see all of the other food bloggers in different parts of the world with ingredients that I can't pronounce either. :)

Delicious! :)

Thanks dear. ;)

Hi @plantstoplanks! Thank you so much for such yummy recipe! I am thinking that I will add bok choy, coriander and another things to my shopping food list for this weekend! Congratulations my dear! I wish you have a great day!

Thanks Maru! Hope you had a fantastic Wednesday!

I love cauliflower rice. love that you can buy in now in stores, because making it is a process.

I always feel like I make a mess when I chop cauliflower, but I make a lot of messes while I'm cooking so no biggie. It is nice to have the option to buy it already made if you are short on time or don't have a food processor!

I once had a bag of adzuki beans in my pantry for about 2 years. i never quite knew what to do with them and never put in the effort to get creative or figure it out. I purchased them because I thought they were so cute and little and such a pretty color. Lol, I know, not the best way to pick out food! Anyway, I think I ended up using them in a craft project for my kids when they were little. All that said...Your recipe looks delish and I'm glad you were able to enjoy eating your adzuki ;)

They are quite cute little beans. I eat beans a few times a day so it's nice to get a little variety. :) At least you put them to some use--even if it wasn't for eating!

Lol, yes. Though the kids are older now, so next time it will certainly be for eating ;)

Looks yummy.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 16:13:50
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 18.30/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49