Hoisin Vegan 'Duck' Wraps with Spring Rolls and Carrot & Peanut Sauce 🥕🥡🥜

in #veganwednesday6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, today I'm sharing a dish that I made for the very first time recently and I was super happy with!


Even when I ate meat I never liked eating duck, not only because ducks are awesome and I felt terrible eating them, but also because as a meat it is extremely fatty and rich. The only dish I ever liked that contained duck were the Hoisin duck wraps that I would occasionally get with a Chinese takeaway.

14.jpeg


I found this vegan 'duck' recently and was excited to try it out and make my own cruelty free version!

1.jpeg


I also experimented with making a peanut sauce to accompany my pre-bought (don't judge me!) spring rolls which turned out so well I can't wait to make it again!


So here's my home made Asian style 'takeaway' dish, so easy to make and no ducks were harmed in the process.


It's about time I showed some love for @heart-to-heart's awesome contest, so this is my entry for this week. Check it out the post with details on how to enter and vote below! 10.jpeg

 


🥗🍔🥣Vegan Wednesday 


Ingredients (Serves 2):

  • 150g Vegan 'duck' pieces (you could easily substitute this with tofu or seitan)
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (smooth and as runny as possible)
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 3 tbsp Hoisin sauce
  • 3 tbsp Soy Sauce
  • 2 spring onions
  • 3 inches of cucumber
  • 4 mini wraps
  • 4 large vegetable spring rolls
  • 4 large Romaine lettuce leaves

To Garnish:

  • Sriracha mayo sauce
  • Sriracha hot chilli sauce

2.jpeg


Method:

  • Pop your spring rolls in the oven and leave to cook.


  • Slice the cucumber and spring rolls into short, thin batons.

5.jpeg

11.jpeg


  • Finely grate the carrot.

3.jpeg


  • Pour the peanut butter into a small bowl.

4.jpeg


  • Add the soy sauce and mix well.

6.jpeg


  • Add the carrot bit by bit and blend well, taste and add more peanut butter/ soy sauce as you wish.

7.jpeg

8.jpeg


  • Heat the coconut oil in a pan on a medium heat.

  • Add the 'duck' pieces and heat for 1 minute.

9.jpeg


  • Add the Hoisin sauce and heat for a further 5 minutes.

12.jpeg


  • Meanwhile warm the wraps in the oven/ microwave.

  • Fill the lettuce leaves with the peanut and carrot mixture and top with a spring roll and sauces of your choice.

  • Top the wraps with the 'duck', cucumber and spring rolls and drizzle a little more Hoisin sauce on top to finish.

Enjoy!


I was so chuffed with how this turned out! It tasted so authentic and the carrot and peanut sauce was just to die for! I really loved the crunchy and crisp lettuce and how its coolness balanced the saltiness of the soy sauce, so delicious!

13.jpeg


The 'duck' strips were better than any duck I've ever tasted and guilt free! There literally isn't anything you can't make vegan these days.


I hope you liked this post, if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more vegan food and travel posts.

Sort:  

You just have the craziest options available to you! I am going to HAVE to come visit and start trying all of this! I have to premake everything I want but I want to try this sooo bad ;) Can you send me a snap of the ingredients so I can try to whip them up? <3 Thanks for entering #veganwednesday! I love that you're back <3

Thanks lovely! These types of ingredients are not too commonly available in shops but we have an online supermarket here called Ocado which is basically vegan heaven! I used them for the first time recently so got a bit of a discount and went a little mad and ordered a LOAD of vegan treats 😄 I didn't manage to get a photo of all the ingredients together unfortunately as I was kind of winging it at the beginning, it wasn't too planned!

Oh wow that sounds like my dream! It's sometimes the only reason why I think of moving back home ;)

I completely understand how that goes! I really want to know how they have crafted the duck! Did it say what it was made from? <3

Great recipe and visuals! I would love to eat everything except duck ;) Keep up and best of luck in the contest!

But it's not real duck! 😄 Thanks so much, I appreciate it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42