🍹🥑 Chilaquiles w/Cilantro Lime Cashew Creme! [VeganWednesday!] 🥑 🍹

Hello, fellow foodies!

I'm SO excited to bring you my favorite boozy brunch food - Chilaquiles! If you've never had them, you need to change that pronto!

Photo1.jpg

There's so much to love about these Chilaquiles!

They'reVEGAN
Super YUMMY
Stupid EASY

I know Labor Day weekend has come to an end, but you're already one day closer to next weekend & making this for your next brunch. Heck - nobody's stopping you from making these right now. We ate them for dinner since I photograph everything in the late afternoon light.

Photo6.jpg

If you have had Chilaquiles, you've most likely had them with eggs, cheese, or meat. You can add that of course, but I just serve mine alongside some plant-based proteins, like my favorite, made from scratch, refried black beans (recipe coming soon!) Plus, the Cilantro Lime Cashew Creme will have you saying, "cheese, who?" Hope you enjoy!

Chilaquiles w/Cilantro Lime Cashew Creme

Photo2.jpg

Chilaquiles

Ingredients

  • 5 stone-ground corn tortillas (we'll be using these to make the chips)
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 yellow onion, small diced
  • 2-3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 serrano pepper (or less if you're sensitive to spice)
  • 1 6oz. can of tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup of veggie stock
  • Spices - I used salt & pepper to taste & added 1/2 teaspoon of smoked paprika. I seriously add this to everything.

Toppings
Red onion slices
Fresh cilantro
Avocado
Black beans
Lime wedges

Directions
Pre-heat the oven to 350 F

  1. Cut the corn tortillas into small triangles. Brush a little bit of olive oil on both sides & pop them in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Make sure to flip them halfway through!

  2. Saute your onions for about 3-5 minutes, on low/medium heat until translucent. Add garlic & pepper & saute for another 3 minutes. Add your spices, broth, & tomato paste - continue to saute for a few more minutes. (Optional) If you want a smooth & creamy sauce, you can blend the sauce in a blender, or food processor.

  3. Once the chips are done, you can add them to the sauce, coating quickly. Transfer everything to a plate & drizzle with cilantro lime cashew creme. Add some chopped red onions, avocado, salsa, & black beans for the ultimate breakfast feast!

Photo4.jpg

Cilantro Lime Cashew Creme

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of cashews, soaked (if you don't have time to soak, just boil on the stove top for 10 minutes to soften)
  • 1/2 cup of cilantro
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 T of nutritional yeast
  • Big pinch of salt
  • 1/2 T of honey

Directions

  1. Add all the ingredients to a blender & blend away! Check the taste to see if you need more salt, lime, etc.

Photo8.jpg

Grab your favorite boozy bev, coffee, tea, etc & you got yourself a brunch for the books!

This post & many more to come will be participating in/and promoting the #veganwednesday challenge sponsored by @heart-to-heart. If you're interested in joining this awesome challenge, check out the rules here!

💚 Eat Well, Be Well! 💚

Sort:  

Wow, fantastic food post. Sorry I missed this the other day. Very, very well done - keep these coming!!

You got me all blushing over here 😜 Thank you so much @gringalicious!

Cashew creme sounds like something I need to try out sometime soon. That would be a great addition to a lot of dishes.

It's pretty much my go to for everything haha I love it because you can change the spices/flavors and pretty much make it into any cream sauce you want!

love the idea of cashew creme, as I own a cashew tree. It is the juice from the cashew apple that i really love. I am now following you to see what you design next.

Woah! I wish I had a cashew tree! And I've never even seen a cashew apple - I need to google this! I'm following you now as well :)

you will find it very interesting, the cashew nut grows on the outside of the apple, the juice is much like a mango juice, so very nice.

This post has received a 3.74 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lindseylambz.

Amazing twist on the chilaquiles my friend! Who need meat when you can make such a yummy one like this!?
Thanks for the share, your cashew-coriander cream is a must do for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69