TANGY CABBAGE ROLLS ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

in #veganwednesday โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Steemians,

Today I would like to share a delicious recipe, perfect of this time of year for my favorite contest, the VEGAN WEDNESDAY, initiated by Steemit Sweetheart @heart-to-heart. She wonderful friend and devoted vegan who works very hard to promote healthy and kind living.

This is the first time I made and ate cabbage rolls ever. For some reason, I had no intention to try them before I was vegan, but now I realized that they are one of the perfect traditional dishes to be veganized. I know lots of eastern European people like them and have been eating them since childhood. I am just not sure how they would like my recipe not only because it is vegan, but because I am using few unorthodox ingredients as well. Nevertheless, my family and I love them and I believe you will too. They are not only flavourful, but also highly nutritious and they taste even better the next day. I suggest you make some extra to take to work for lunch.

TANGY CABBAGE ROLLS

Cabbage Rolls with Roasted Tomato Sauce & Thyme

Vegan โ€“ Gluten Free

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS

โ€ข Cabbage leaves 8
โ€ข Brown rice cooked 1cups
โ€ข Quinoa cooked 1 cup
โ€ข Mushrooms 1 ยฝ cup (cut into small pieces)
โ€ข Sundried tomatoes 1cup diced
โ€ข Shallot onions 3
โ€ข Garlic cloves 4
โ€ข Grind peppercorns to taste
โ€ข Himalayan pink salt to taste
โ€ข Thyme fresh or dry 1tbs (only leaves)
โ€ข Himalayan Pink Salt to taste
โ€ข Oil of your choice

FOR THE SAUCE
โ€ข Tomato puree 3 cups
โ€ข Roma tomatoes 6 (cut in halves)
โ€ข Garlic minced 4 cloves
โ€ข Garlic 4 cloves cut in halves along the long side
โ€ข Apple cider vinegar 1tbs
โ€ข Thyme dry or fresh 1tbs
โ€ข Himalayan Pink Salt to taste
โ€ข Cayenne pepper to taste (optional)
โ€ข Olive oil 1tbs

PROCESS
โ€ข Cut the core of the cabbage and remove the leaves.
โ€ข Steam the leaves for 6-8 minutes. Make sure they donโ€™t get mushy.
โ€ข Trim the thick stem from cabbage leaves with a sharp knife and set aside.
โ€ข Preheat the oven to 400 F.
โ€ข Place your tomato halves into casserole dish.
โ€ข Add salt, garlic cloves, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, garlic powder and thyme.
โ€ข Roast for 30 minutes.
โ€ข When ready, set your oven on broil and roast the tomatoes for 10 more minutes.
โ€ข While you roasting your tomatoes, sautรฉ the mushrooms on hot oil with salt and pepper for couple of minutes.
โ€ข Add onion while stirring for another minute, add garlic and stir until golden brown.
โ€ข Take it off the heat and mix it in a bowl with rice, quinoa, sundried tomatoes, salt and thyme.
โ€ข Mix thoroughly.
โ€ข When ready, place 1/3 of cup of the filling near the stem of a leaf.
โ€ข Fold stem over filling, fold sides to the middle and roll up as tight as possible.
โ€ข Place them in a casserole dish and add the tomato puree with thyme.
โ€ข You may add salt if needed and pinch of cayenne pepper if you like little bit spicy.
โ€ข Place the dish in preheated oven to 375 F and bake for 20min.
โ€ข In a food processor, dice the roasted tomatoes with the roasted garlic by pressing pulse.
โ€ข You want them little chunky, so be careful not to overdo it.
โ€ข Top your rolls while serving with the grilled diced tomatoes and garnished with thyme.

PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU JOIN US & SHARE YOUR VEGAN RECIPES, VEGAN PRODUCTS, ESSAYS OR OTHER EXPERIENCES YOU HAVE WITH VEGANISM, EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT A VEGAN. TO FIND OUT MORE DETAILS PLEASE FOLLOW THIS LINK: https://steemit.com/veganwednesday/@heart-to-heart/winner-winner-no-chicken-dinner-cuz-it-s-vegan-week-8-veganwednesday-contest-week-9-important-announcement

BON APPETIT & THANK YOU FOR VISITING

https://lenanovak.wixsite.com/vegan-living

โ€‹

Sort: ย 

They look delicious !! Here, it is still Monday :)

It was Monday here too, but you can post any day for Vegan Wednesday. It runs all week lol. But thank you so much Dear Marianne, I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

They look so good and sound very tasty

Thank you so much my Friend I am happy you like them. They were really good ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

I have no doubt they were

Sorry no fruit and vegetables post this week, its been a crazy week

No need to apologize, but I hope to see you next week ๐Ÿ˜Š

Most likely not sorry I already have a post ready for monday morning, I am having to slow down this week so not getting out for shots because of a leg issue, have a small procedure so should be fully mobile in a week or so again then will get new shots :)

Yummy! Yummy!

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

Lena that meal looks sooo tasty! Congratulations my dear friend for this amazing post! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

What a wonderful post! These cabbage rolls are put together so well and the ingredients look so fresh and yummy.

It's the small touches, the grilled tomatoes with thyme adorning it. The well thought out directions and how you make it easy for even a novice like me to follow.

Thank you and good luck! This is a killer recipe and I can hardly wait to try it! Upped and Steemed!

I had feeling this one could be the one for you lol. Thank you so much my Dear. There is nothing that makes me more happy (except by grandsons) then people liking my recipes, especially you XOXO

There is nothing better than getting one that looks this good!

Oh my goodness, I am going to print this and make this next week.

I am happy you like it my Dear, thank you so much and enjoy ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

looks wonderful !!

Thank you so much Shaun๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

Lena! I think you can see into my soul! Just last week I made cabbage rolls but I don't have an oven so it got really creative up in here haha I LOVE cabbage rolls so much! They were always a big favorite of mine and I love the mushroom replacement where beef used to be! Yum! As always, a wonderful recipe! Thank you for sharing it <3

Omgosh, Sweetie I had no idea. The funny part is that I don't have oven neither, but I made these at my daughter's place. I am renting a very small place with tiny kitchen, with small fridge, hot plate and toaster oven. So if you see some of my recipes that are baked in oven, they are very often done at my daughter's place. Although some things I can do in my toaster oven. Anyway, thank you so much, I am glad u like it ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ…

Toaster oven you say... hmmm... well that's a very good idea! <3 I should see if I can find one here! I didn't post anything about my cabbage rolls so I think we are just more connected in our hearts than we even know <3 I always love your recipes, no matter what they are made in! XO

You always make my heart sing, that's why we are connected ..........I love your recipes too! So healthy, delicious and creative.
Let me know if you find the toaster oven. Maybe u can order it online.

Sending my son to your site. He wishes to try going vegan. He's a great cook, so I'm confident he'll do justice to your recipes.

Oh wow, I am so happy to hear that. How exciting!!! Keep me posted my Friend ๐Ÿ˜Š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60603.53
ETH 2702.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44