Vegan Wednesday Week 16 | Chocolate Almond Heaven

in #veganwednesday6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for @heart-to-heart’s Vegan Wednesday Contest Week 16!

IMG_0321.JPG

But first, I want to give a big shout of thanks to her for hosting this contest! Thank you @heart-to-heart for educating us and promoting great health and living! You are a huge inspiration to all of us, always encouraging us about the health benefits of Vegan eating. Thank you!

Today I would like to share my recipe for Almond Butter Heaven!

This recipe is so light, chocolaty with almonds, a hint if coconut….rich in taste but light on the palate. And the best part…it is healthy, and easy to make!!

One of the ingredients I am using is my homemade Almond butter! I made it in an earlier post which you can find here. I really enjoy making my own nut butters. This way I know exactly what I am eating, no additives and I know how old it is! As we try to eat better each day this is just one area we should evaluate. Can we make this at home? You might surprise yourself!

So follow along fellow Steemians!

First we make the crust!

You will need:
• ½ cup raw almonds (toasted)
• ¼ cup hemp seeds
• ½ cup dates, pitted
• ¼ tsp sea salt

Place the almonds, hemp seeds, dates and salt in a blender. Process until the texture is fine. You will press this into an 8x8 pan lined with plastic wrap. Set aside

IMG_3603.JPG

And now for the Filling

You will need:
• 1/3 cup filtered water
• 1/3 cup coconut oil
• 1/3 cup agave
• 1 ½ tsp organic vanilla
• 6 Tablespoons almond butter
• 1/8 tsp sea salt
• ¼ cup raw organic vegan cacao powder
• ¼ cup organic usweetened coconut
and 1 1/2 cup raw cashews
Note: soak cashews in filtered water overnight. Rinse and drain before using.

Preparation:

Add everything except the almond butter, sea salt, coconut and cacao powder into the blender. Blend until very smooth. Divide half of this mixture and set aside.
Add the Almond butter, coconut, cacao and sea salt to the remaining mixture in the blender. Blend until well blended.
Pour this filling into the crust and spread evenly. Place pan in the freezer.

IMG_3607.JPG

Pull the pan out of the freezer and pour remaining mixture over the top, smooth evenly.

IMG_3612.JPG

Place back in the freezer. Allow about 3-4 hours to freeze.

IMG_3614 (2).JPG

When you’re ready to eat, remove from freezer, slice and

IMG_3620.JPG

Enjoy a slice of Almond Heaven!!

IMG_3624.JPG

Amazing chocolate goodness!

I hope you try this recipe. I would love to hear your thoughts

I want to say thanks again @heart-to-heart for sponsoring this contest! I look forward to many more!

And as always, blessings to all

IMG_0316.JPG

Sort:  

Now that looks like pure "almond joy", but with absolutely no guilt! Yum!

I know...Mr. B had 2 pieces yesterday....and I told him it was okay lol! Thanks my friend!

Hahaha look, that vegan problem we were talking about before? SOLVED ;) Just feed him this 24/7, it's healthy so it's fine ;)

You're right @plantstoplanks! Now, I wonder what's in a traditional almond joy... these look far better to me! ;)

Hmm. That looks so good. Just the kind of sweet treat I like!

Really dangerous! lol

I can imagine hehe! Made some sweet treat during the weekend and we had some friends over so they were gone quite fast!

Oh @birdsinparadise, this looks absolutely incredible! I just finished dinner and am actually full enough to burst but now I find myself really tempted to go make some chocolate... I hope I can wait until tomorrow so I can thoroughly enjoy these! Delicious :) Everyone should be making their own chocolate, look how much better this is!!! <3

You are so encouraging! Love knowing you! I love what you are doing! Thank you so much, (and Mr. Birds does as well)

Awww no problem, that is literally what I am here for (otherwise I'd just be minding my own business in my own kitchen over here on this island all of the time!) That wouldn't be half as fun :)

I'm happy to know you too and love seeing your creations and dreaming about your kitchen ;)

Wao This recipe looks very tasty. Congrats!

Thanks for your kind words! It was a joy to prepare. I hope you get a chance to make it, you won't be sorry!
Cheers!

I can imagine that, but almonds are very expensive. Too much! When I have the money I will buy to make it a small one. heheh

Mmmmm! That looks tasty! BTW I just posted my guacamole recipe.

Oh thank you....and thanks for telling me about the guac..I'll check it out!

That looks amazing and delicious! I feel like I can taste it. The photos are superb!!!

Thank you so much! My husband couldn't wait to have a bar...in fact for breakfast...and lunch.... Your sweet compliments are really kind!

I love vegan healthy sweets! Your dessert looks amazing 😍
Congratulations!

Thank you for you kindness, I have to say it is tasty, fun to experiment with different ingredients! I hope you'll try and let me know what you think!

I love your food presentation it's awesome.It's nice that you took pics for each step.

Thank you so much! I hope including pics helps!

These look very good, I would like to try but I noticed that you added the cacao and sea salt twice in the recipe instructions. Is this divided??

Thanks for the catch! I will correct that! My error! Appreciate you kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51