You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chocolate Cake (Simple, fast, VEGAN)

So the dates and the chocolate bar pieces are the only sweeteners? I see that the other ingredients might add a hint of sweetness too. What are some good alternatives if you do not use dates, or prefer a smoother cake?

Looks delicious. Thank you for sharing.

Sort:  

@creativetruth, thank you for your comment. If you use rice milk, thats very sweet, date sirup, maple leaf sirup are also great alternatives. You are right about the chocolate bar pieces. Some chocolate brands already use different sweeteners. For a smoother cake i suggest lupine flour or add some nut powder too and play with the quantities. This recipe does vary, depending on how you play with the ingredients. Your comment reminds me that i really have to make a post on making vegan chocolate.

You really know your ingredients well. I am not vegan at all, but sometimes I see vegan recipe posts and drool over these flavorful confectionery wonders. I think what I meant by smoother, was less lumpy because of the inserted chocolate bar chunks and dates.

Ohh yes, i see what you mean now. I use a vitamix which makes cream out of cashews. Kitchen tools that are robust and sustainable are a good investment for food processing and essential in a kitchen. Trying to be experimental therefore is essential. I stumble across trials of pestos and even cheese made from other nuts and combos of seeds recently that taste out of this world and always make my own spreads to stock ip my fridge. That way i don’t even cook more than 8min during lunches. Creative vegans live large and really don’t miss out like most people think. They just take another path and sometimes one that is unexplored and not the groupthink established version. Veganism also be can be a religion to some 😅, i for the matter really just like the alternative from the perspective of my moral views. If we claim ourselves on top of the food chain, then that also depends what choices we make as individuals or collective. I just don‘t wanna harm. Got too much love for all beings. Like plants that i eat. I would like to reach light. I know it might sound pseudo to some. I would never judge some ones choice or ethical disposition. 😊 i feel the world of plant based alternatives and what is possible, is just being discovered. Take for instance beyond burger and pea protein. I am not a fan of soy, so i am curious what revolutionary foods humans will eat in the future. We might actually see molecular cuisine evolving to be true to it‘s name, right? Who knows.

I once shuffled this cake to have the melted chocolate bar pieces remain liquid while the cake was still warm making cup cakes. Or even just reheating the cakes. Melted liquid chocolate on the inside. The ingredients allow for a lot of creativity. It takes almost no time. I try to post pragmatic stuff. I can also spend days making vegan ch**ze or other stuff that i haven‘t bothered to post yet because i need to experiment more. Btw. There are some recipes, that when made vegan, you wont like the original vegetarian version more. Thats something that intrigued me and made me go vegan, not the hype. When i tried being vegan first for a year in 2005, people didn’t even know the term and vegetarians thought you’re crazy 😂 Thanks for your reply! 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, thanks for sharing some of your personal story with me. I think 1995 was probably my first encounter with a vegan. In school we had a vegan teacher, and when he answered questions about it, the students could hardly believe some of the super human traits he described about himself. He claimed that he did not have any body odor. When he passed gas, it too was odorless. OMG!?

It really is a divergent lifestyle from the mainstream, and requires a certain moral compass based on love for animals and natural things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43