My plant powered journey - why 🌱

in #veganism7 years ago

Having been vegetarian for a while now I have decided to take the full plunge and eliminate all animal based products from my diet. I am going to document and share with you my personal journey and hints tips and recipies which may also help you start your journey in making the world and your holy temple a more healthy and compassionate place. It’s going to be tough because I’m a chocoholic but if I can do this anybody can!

And this is why...

It’s absolute madness to think that as an adolescent I have no idea how cruel and unnecessary the meat and dairy industry is. At the table I was told to be grateful for what I had on my plate and at school I was taught the ‘food chain’ which is utter rubbish! I often used to wonder why we ate sheep but not the cat! If you were to give a baby, an apple and a rabbit, which one do you think the baby would play with and which would he eat? Us humans are the only species a on earth which drinks another animals milk from birth. Isn’t it just bizarre? The milk isn’t for us, it’s for baby calves. It’s their growth fluid. It’s heart wrenching that a baby calf is ripped away from his mother so we can go on drinking his mother’s milk which was made for him and only him. We have alternatives!!! Banishing the taste for flesh and excrement is a smashing choice . We all have a choice when we walk into the super market. We choose death 💀 or we choose life 🌏 and I believe slowly but surely the world is waking up. According to The Vegan Society, the number of vegans in the UK has doubled in the last nine years from 150,000 to around 300,000. The market research company Mintel reports the non-dairy milk market leapt from 36 million litres in 2011 to 92 million in 2013.

We need to be protecting our planet, our ocean and our atmosphere and by changing such a small thing as your diet can have huge benefits on changing yours and children’s future. A recent United Nations report entitled Livestock's Long Shadow concludes that eating meat is one of the top two or three most significant contributors to the most serious environmental problems, at every scale from local to global. The report finds that eating meat causes almost 40 per cent more greenhouse-gas emissions than all the cars, trucks, ships and planes in the world combined.

I don’t know about you but I want a long healthy life. I want to live to see as much as I can and I want to feel good. Vegans and vegetarians live six to 10 years longer on average than meat-eaters do. Healthy vegetarian diets support a lifetime of good health and provide protection against numerous diseases and the three biggest killers – heart disease, cancer and strokes.

By choosing to be plant based you are avoiding risk of developing heart disease. heart disease among meat-eaters is 50 per cent higher than it is among vegetarians. Drs Dean Ornish and Caldwell Esselstyn have used a vegan diet to prevent and reverse heart disease. Dr Esselstyn's book documents their 100 per cent success with unclogging people's arteries and reversing heart disease. According to the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, "Vegetarians are about 40 percent less likely to get cancer than non-vegetarians, regardless of other risks such as smoking, body size, and socioeconomic status.

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

I hope you enjoy my blog, and I would love to hear your thoughts and personal journeys too!

Upshare follow and spread the love 💜

Sort:  

Goodluck on your journey dear.. I still enjoy my bacon and beef and oh.. can't separate me from Chicken..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60