You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am vegan and the reasons I don't agree with or get along with most other vegans.

in #veganism8 years ago

I also believe such big farms are a bad thing and I hate them, in my opinion if local farming and incentives for people to start growing animals again would be great and are the solution for this bullshit.

Sort:  

At this point though, it wouldn't even be possible to have only small farms because of how many people there are and how much meat we consume. We eat waaaay more meat than necessary on average. This is why I feel lab meat is the future.

Well if people stops growing up in cities and start going inner country and renovating old houses, creating new ones etc. I've seen in a bunch of countries people still has pigs and chickens n shits at home (if they live on the country) and I can tell you that a bunch of animals can provide more than you can consume of a specifical material, takes a bit of time indeed but could also create a good bunch of jobs like farmers that move from house to house and do shit for an hour or two a day (just developed a bit my paranoia lol).
If you think about it, the more central (to the city) you are the more expensive the m2 gets (which you may not even owe if you live in an apartment). Yes there is a limited amount of land if we just expand like that but going underground or something shall fix that.
Eitherway sorry for deviating so much, what I'm trying to say is that autosuficiency would be possible somehow but a lot would need to get done, few chickens rabbits and pigs that reproduce, maybe a cow if they can, and of course green stuff, with a bit more of land avaible it would be better since you could cultivate the food for them. I'm getting a lot of strange ideas that would make no sense to mention but if we really wanted to do it we could perfectly, we have the tech.

Emissions from farming are also a huge issue that can't be ignored. I personally do not think it would be possible to farm the old way on this scale but it's a very complicated subject. I also know it simply will not happen because it would not be efficient or profitable. I like to focus on the lab meat because many top minds are studying it and many scientists are saying it is the future of meat.

Now, if people were willing to eat less meat, then farming may be able to change greatly but we eat (we, as in, Americans because that's all I have personally studied and is where I reside) A LOT of meat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44