VEGAN PIZZA Review #4: Goodfellas Falafel (No Cheese) Stonebaked Pizza

in #vegan7 years ago

So far I have reviewed three store bought vegan pizzas from Britain, with the current winner being the stonebaked organic one from bio inside. Today I am reviewing a new one I found from mainstream producer/brand 'Goodfellas'... It's a bit different!

When I first saw this pizza in the supermarket I assumed it was a cheese based pizza, but I was mistaken! There is no cheese here, just the base, the tomato sauce, some peppers, onions, falafel and spinach.

DSC01030.JPG

I was a bit put off by the absence of non-dairy cheese since, for me, cheese is a key part of what pizza actually is.

DSC01031.JPG

The ingredients looked better than I expected, since I remember eating goodfella's pizzas years ago before I was vegan and often the mixture was not well balanced (I remember a few times the roof of my mouth burned like hell from the sauce).

DSC01032.JPG

So how is this one?

Well... Some people might like it! The base is good, nothing to complain about and the sauce was decent from what I could tell. The falafel was average (nothing special). What let this down though was that something in it literally burned my mouth - I suspect it was the onions. As I mentioned before, previously I had found that Goodfella's pizzas used a sauce that caused burning feelings, but this time it appears to have been something else. I could be wrong though and it would make sense that it was the sauce again!

Sadly, I have to give this a thumbs down, but 3 out of 5 for effort.

It's great that they have added a vegan option to their range - but unless you really like having your mouth burnt I suggest looking elsewhere for a great vegan pizza!

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul


signature

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here



ureka.org

Check out my social network too!

Sort:  

Goodfella' s thing caused a burning and with this you caused a burning to them..Though you put it up so honestly even they would welcome it, but i agree cheese is just heart of pizza

i can understand why u came up wth this post

yes ... a girl needs someone who buys her pizza when she is craving :p

your vegan food to see very delicious and tasty.sometimes i am eating veganfood.its very yammy but spicy.pizza my favorite food one of them.thanks to sharing for your good post sir.. @ura-soul

I like sometimes vegan food, its lOoks soo spicy !!

it look soo hot i would like to do sssss after eating that awsome food!

Wow I'm actually really surprised they added a Vegan option to their range! I was in England for 2 months, I actually found some good Vegan food but I never even thought about looking in the frozen pizza isle!

the sight looks good. I hope the taste is good as well

This is why we usually make our own pizza. Trader Joe’s has a really good garlic dough and we add all the fixings to make it a plant based, mouth watering, success :). Thanks for sharing ✌️

Great review and in my opinion, aside of taste inputs, i really like the look of it and the first impression is giving spicy essence, and in my opinion most of the people buy by watching the appearance. Thanks for sharing this review post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

The frozen options in the USA are a bit different.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83