Vegan Indian Week Day 2: Dal Tadka [Week One of Six Week Health]

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Dal Tadka

I also went on a moderate version of Tim Feriss slow carb diet which he describes in his book Four Hour Body, so I skiped the rice or naan which you normally serve to this dish.
Dal is a staple food in his diet.

D67CF79C-117E-42A4-B119-4EA540B32684.jpeg

water
split red gram
onions
sunflower oil
tomato
garlic
split bengal gram
ginger
salt
green chilli
whole red chilli
coriander leaves
cumin seeds
turmeric powder
dry mango powder
parsley
green bell pepper

Spinach Cucumber Parsley Celery Lime Juice

The dal was a little easy on the caloric side, so because of that, and also out of nostalgia for last week, I made myself a fresh green juice later today too.

The celery gives this juice a nice salty taste.

30A7B426-A991-477B-BDC2-E7C327130152.jpeg
1 cup spinach
1/4 english cucumber
1 small handful parsley
4 celery stalks
½ lime/lemon

I was a little sore when doing my ashtanga practice from yesterday’s three trainings, but I like the fact that I can add additional trainings almost unnoticeable. I’m at 2 hours workout a day now and it feels good. My resolution for this year was to take It easy. I probably will end up at 3-4hours a day again, but i want to ease into that volume as slow as possible.

Sort:  

How long did it take for you to get to 4 hours of yoga in a day? 🧘🏻‍♂️

I have recently started doing yoga every morning with an app and I am enjoying it a lot!

At the beginning I committed to 15 minutes yoga every single day no matter what. I read about a method from Jerry Seinfeld, Don’t break the chain. I started to log my workouts at codyapp.com, I was one of the first with the longest streak, which I broke after a little over 2 years, I motivated a lot of people and now almost everybody has a longer streak there :) The long trainings started relatively fast, maybe after a year, I started then doing Iyengars 300 week plan which he layed out in his book Light On Yoga, which i followed for 5 months. As he didn’t stated how long to hold the poses when doing the plan, i held every pose the maximum amount of time as in the descriptions. So the trainings accumulated very fast to 3h+ Then i did a lot of plans from Dylan Werner, his strength plans, some flow, handstand trainings (scorpions, various transitions, one arm handstand...) and handstand press trainings.
So I do yoga for 4 years regularly now with maybe 1 year in sum before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46