Stuffed Zucchini Boats with Tomato Ragout

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

There were complaints that some of my recipes were too sophisticated ( I'm eyeballing at you @reconnectnature :) ), so today a recipe for the pikkie chefs out there.

But don't be fooled by the simplicity, the acidity of the tobasco and the sweetness of the tomato paste give this dish a very rich flavor.

A7B0D73F-15BB-4B16-99BA-C7D5C06082B1.jpeg

Serves 4

⏲ 30min
⭐️☆☆ Hobby Chef

4 small zucchini
50 g dry tomatoes
100 g precooked chickpeas
1 carrots
½ cup vegan tomato spread
salt, pepper , tabasco

for the tomato ragout:

300 g cocktail tomatoes
2 T olive oil
3 cloves of garlic
2 T tomato paste
½ bunch fresh basil

F728EFA7-4801-4EB0-9A50-54F544D9EE02.jpeg

Wash the zucchini, cut in half and scrape the pulp into a bowl.

8F6D8CFE-6405-4D51-902A-DEC52E6AA564.jpeg

Put the zucchini halves in a pan with some water and cover. Cook on medium for a couple of minutes. They should be soft but crispy.

1AD9358A-1B5E-4BDC-A884-998457D227C3.jpeg

Chop zucchini pulp and dry tomatoes. Grate the carrot. Mix everything with chickpeas and the vegan tomatoe spread. Season with salt, pepper and tabasco.

B1630380-AECB-421B-90E4-471C9F8B38C3.jpeg

Cut the cocktail tomatoes in half and press the garlic. Heat the oil in a pan, add tomatoes garlic and 100 ml water, then simmer til a sauce forms.

A10220FD-8244-4B75-87D0-00B06A716C7C.gif

Meanwhile chop the basil. Then stir in the tomato paste and the basil and season with salt and pepper.

86093B4F-D3FE-449E-9565-CE8562024F5F.jpeg

Fill the zucchini boats and shower with tomato ragout. Garnish with some basil leaves.

0BDA3F42-9F2C-4542-9CD5-6BD9055A78F8.jpeg

Bon appétit!

My thanks goes to @heart-to-heart for her mission to spread a vegan lifestyle. I as a sportsperson benefit tremendously, faster regeneration, less soreness, better flexibility and less exhaustion are some of the benefits I feel emedeately.

I also apreciate the work of @lenasveganliving and for recognising that veggies and fruits are the most important foods out there.

Until next time,
Miron

Sort:  

It's been so long since we had zucchini boats. Thanks for the inspiration.. and nothing wrong with sophisticated recipes hehe! Though I love a simple recipe as this too.

seeing this post, makes me hungry 🤤🤤🤤🤤

I have to try this out. Sounds good.

OH MY!!! OK @street.yoga first of all thanks for entering this delicious entry into #veganwednesday but now ... I have a problem. I was reading this and I was thinking OMG I am going to make this. I have everything... then... it hit me... I passed on the zucchini today at the market. I have ONE DAY a week to get my produce and I did not get the main ingredient. I am just soooo disappointed and will keep this bookmarked for next week with a new ingredient list for the market, first thing: zucchini.

<3

Wow, your kitchen is really well stocked, you even have vegan tomato spread, I know that most of the ingredients are vegan staples, but still :) Its worth the wait, and I will for sure make it again. I'm glad you like it. May I ask why you have only one day to get your produce? I bet you get it fresh from a local farmer :)

Oh for that, I make as needed :) Same with mayo, mustard etc. I am seriously crazy about that kind of stuff though, I loveee making everything from scratch ;)

Haha well because the small organic farmer's market is just once a week! If necessary I can go to my farmer's house and get a little bit of supplemental stuff but it generally needs the week to regrow so I try my best not to mess up his growing cycle ;)

I have tons of seedlings growing though so hopefully this won't be a problem much longer! PS only a little while longer til I get some zucchini ;)

wow echt wieder ein Top Rezept und dieses mal wirklich auch recht einfach :)
finde es super wie schön du das hier immer auf Steemit präsentierst und war beim letzten einfach überwältigt wie viel Arbeit dahinter steckt, da das Rezept ja schon etwas aufwändiger war und dann noch so anschaulich gepostet :) (ich bräuchte da glaub ich einen ganzen Tag dafür^^)

Am Workshop haben wir damals 3 Stunden gebraucht, da haben wir aber noch Suppe und Dessert gemacht, die Hüllen waren natürlich schon vorbereitet, aber wir haben auch neue gemacht. Und das Posten ist tatsächlich mehr Aufwand als die Zubereitung :)

ja das kann ich mir gut vorstellen, dass das posten mehr Aufwand ist^^
Deswegen war ich ja auch etwas erstaunt über den gesamt Zeitaufwand, aber finde es wird dafür auch immer richtig cool ;)
Mir gehts ja beim fotografieren auch nicht anders, da brauche ich schon mal fürs fotografieren einiges an Zeit und dann beim posten auch manchmal noch recht viel...

Deswegen finde ich es schade das die Posts irgendwann im Stream untergehen, wäre nett wenn man Sie irgendwie gruppieren könnte.

ja voll, dass stimmt :)

Hab gelesen das das mit mit der Einführung von hivemind bald möglich sein wird

reorganizing of old posts (categorize, filter, hide/show)

ah ok nice :)
na da bin ich schon gespannt wie das dann funktioniert :)

Awesome recipe Miron, definitely must try 🌸💖🌸

Glad you like it, thank you. I figured I post a lot of zucchini recipes :)

Oh Lena, my husband and I make very similar dishes all summer long while our zucchini is abundant in the garden. Quick and easy meal and so healthy too.

A garden Is such a blessing. And I hope yor message gets to @lenasveganliving, she was so kind to resteem my post. Enjoy your vegetables!

Yummm! I always wanted a man who knows how to cook 😂 where do “They” cook them hehhee!

Well you could always traipse round all the cooking classes, and make sure they teach your favorite dish :)

No no ! I don’t want to cook! I prefer eating!

I know, but there you will find men who can cook, at least compared to the rest of the population:)


Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post. No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service. we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : https://t.co/2O7XMhY07R

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by street.yoga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13