Ramson Soup

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Every year when the ramson season starts my mother goes on a harvesting tour and brings me a full big bag. I tried it all, I ate it raw and made juices, I even made ramson gnocchi once to add variety.

7781A177-F123-40B9-997B-8DB6FB67ED8C.jpeg

Then I discovered that to process large amounts, sautéing it in a little olive oil and seasoning with salt and pepper is the easiest and fastest way. The wild garlic loses its pungency, tastes like spinach and you can eat a ton of it unlike the same amount raw or as a juice which burns a hole into your guts :)

Ramson goes well with potatoes which give this soup a nice fluffy consistency.

Serves 2

Cooking time: 40 minutes

75 g ramson
20 g margarine
1 shallot
½ clove garlic
150 g potatoes
300 ml vegetable stock
150 ml soy cream
Fine sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper
Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
Freshly squeezed lemon juice
Herb oil

DFE0A678-DC0D-4DE0-BE22-E76E6F92CCC3.jpeg

Put the ramson leaves in a bowl of water and set aside.

Prepare 300 ml vegetable stock by heating water and disolving a bullion cube in it.
Chop challot, mince garlic and cut potatoes into 1 cm cubes.

E88453AE-0598-406C-A2D8-0C5D3918543F.jpeg

Melt the margarine in a pot on medium, add garlic and shallot, stir.

4F9739DD-47A4-4229-87BE-CC363592198B.gif

When the garlic unfolds its aroma after one minute, add potato cubes and cook for another four minutes while stirring.

55518CA7-3BEC-415A-BC2B-11146D9A694C.jpeg

Pour in the vegetable bullion and the soy cream, season generously with salt, pepper and nutmeg, then simmer for 20 minutes.

EAE0B384-8F75-42A1-B866-94054ADB7084.gif

Bring water in a pot to a boil and salt it, prepare a bowl with ice water.
Drain the ramson and cut coarsely.

4DA8622D-95B8-401F-B0B3-48DFC1B59F75.jpeg

Blanche for ten seconds in the boiling water, then put immediately into the ice water. By shocking the ramson you prevent it from browning.

66AADEC2-76E5-4950-8F9F-B810E47E4A14.jpeg

Pour the soup into a high performance blender, add half the ramson and mix until smooth. Add the second half and mix, leaving a little texture.

E19CB9F7-40FD-4843-9F38-E66D4034603C.jpeg

Stir in lemon juice, season wit salt and pepper. Put into bowls and sprinkle with some herb oil. I used olive oil with lemon and basil flavor.

8C6BADB5-A2C7-4A28-9C04-2012961158C8.jpeg

Once again this dish leaves you with an unfulfilled desire, wishing you had prepared more, so plan your servings carefully if you don't want to disappoint your guests with Seinfeld's famous Soup Nazi words: No soup for you! :)

Bon appétit!

Addendum

Love my vegan community here on steemit, keep it going @heart-to-heart with #veganwednesday and @lenasveganliving with #fruitsandveggiesmonday and all the others working hard, you inspire a lot of people to go vegan and show them how rich, tasteful, abundant and flavorful vegan cuisine can be.

Until next time,
Miron

Sort:  

Pycha! Ja w końcu miałam w ustach świeży czosnek niedźwiedzi! Cóż za radość:)

Ciekawe dania tworzysz!

Dziękuje bardzo, moja mama zbiera zawcze w jesieńi i tyle tego ze musiałem pobudzić kreatywność. No ale troszki w oleju podsmażyć aż zwiędnie i smakuje jak szpinak.

This is just delicious looking. I love trying different greens. I have never heard of such a green. Would it be in an Asian store?

Probably, ramson is also very popular in Europe, you can buy it almost everywhere and many dishes are offered in restaurants here in Austria.

Ohhh thank you for reminding me of ramson, I used to eat it a lot back in Germany. Here in Asia I somehow forgot about its existence :p Thanks for your amazing recipe, I included it to my 5 favorite recipes of the week here https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-3 ♥ Have a great weekend!

You are welcome, my mother endow me every year with ramson and I started to love it once I learned different tasty ways to prepare it.

Ramson is such a great spring herb that gives a strong taste to the food. Love this recipe, have to try it out!😍

The potatoes and the cream hide the taste very well, it's spicy but not that pungent.

Sounds really great👌😍

I miss ramsons so much!!! Another good one is to get the seeds and put them in mayoinnaise.. so good. And ramson pesto for pasta. We dont get them in Australia.

I have never tried Ramson, looks good though !

It tastes like a garlic-chives hybrid with a hint of leek :) When you sauté it, the taste changes to spinach, It's a very interesting plant.

Miron, I have to admit to you- this doesn't happen often but you've stumped me! I don't know what ramson is! Are you going to tell me or should I go over to google? ;)

Maybe you know it under another name, wild garlic, bear leek, broad-leaved garlic, does any of this sound a bell?

YES! IT sounds like heaven, must be the word you were looking for ;)

I'm confused:) Which word I'm looking for, heaven? Always:)

Oh yes, Soup Nazi, lol................this is definitely the kind of soup that should be on the menu. Absolutely love it Miron!

Maybe it was :) I've read that the guy on which the character was based went out of business, it would be interesting to track him down and obtain the recipes, or even reestablish him, I'm sure there are enough Seinfeld fans out there who would support him :)

it looks so delicious,,, Thank you for sharing your recipe :)

How to cook very practical, @street.yoga, i love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11