Raw Vegan: Before and After Images

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

On May 5, 2016, I decided to go raw vegan. I was unaware at the time of the drastic changes that would occur in my life. My reason for going raw vegan was mostly for spiritual reasons. However, I was at the time pre-diabetic and had high cholesterol. Moreover, I was experiencing migraine headaches everyday as well as dizzy spells. I felt sluggish and weighed a total of 155 pounds. I knew I had to do something. To add, my mother died of cancer when I was nineteen years old, and I was her caretaker. It was difficult to watch her go through so much pain. Being so young, I did not know what meals to cook for her, nor did I know that food either feeds disease or fights it. So, I’d make her chicken, veggies, mac and cheese (Oh God! ). My mother is one of the main reasons why I’m on here: to show people that they don’t need to feel pain, and to show that diet is the direct cause of our ailments. You’re either feeding disease or fighting it with what you eat.

So what is Raw Vegan?
According to Wikipedia: Raw veganism is a diet that combines the concepts of veganism and raw foodism. It excludes all food and products of animal origin, as well as food cooked at a temperature above 48 °C (118 °F). A raw vegan diet includes raw vegetables and fruits, nuts and nut pastes, grain and legume sprouts, seeds, plant oils, sea vegetables, herbs, mushrooms, and fresh juices. There are many different versions of the diet, including fruitarianism, juicearianism, and sproutarianism.

And according to my friend, Ivo Bove, a raw vegan diet is “a varied plant based diet that consists of fruit, vegetables, nuts and seeds where the food isn’t heated above 118 °F and that still have their enzymes intact.”

This diet may sound extreme to those on a standard American diet (SAD), but it really isn’t. I eat enough and feel full. My life has changed completely. The maladies I once had were actually not maladies at all. My body was trying to tell me something. Is your body trying to tell you something? Stop and listen. What do you feel? Do you have a headache? Does your tummy hurt? Do you feel pressure anywhere? Pain in your joints? All these little aches and pains are not normal. I know I still have a long way to go. Thirty years of eating cooked food as well as meat, have left my body on a long road to recovery. With a loving heart, I would like to share my journey with you. If you’re open to new ideas like I was when I was first introduced to this diet, you may find yourself in a wonderful and peaceful place.

Why go raw vegan?

When you cook food it destroys the life-giving enzymes that come with raw foods. These Enzymes are responsible for thousands of different biochemical actions in your body. These enzymes are destroyed at temperatures above 118 degrees F (48 degrees C).

Here is a picture of me before going raw vegan and a picture I took today. Please comment below. I want to know what your thoughts are.
Before: 155 pounds
After: 115 pounds
Height: 5'4
22662414_10103751096674245_1106735281_o.jpg

Sort:  

Very cool! Very inspiring.
You look amazing and very healthy!
Looking forward to following your blog!

Thank you! :)

Happy 2-year raw vegan anniversary! You’ve come very far in many ways, and many of these can be illustrated as well!

Thanks :)

Wow que palabras tan fuertes, se puede observar la importancia de la dieta

Very nice article.I myself try to eat healthy food,but I am not brave enough to go full vegan.I think that eating vegetables a lot is of key importance to health,and to reduce eating food full with sugar

Thanks for the comment @ironman80 :) It can be challenging at first, but if you hang on just a bit; all eventually subsides. It definitely takes a lot of mental discipline. :)

awesome job on turning your life around and getting many benefits from eating right. Keep it up :)

Thank you! :)

You are beautiful in both photos but I'm sure you feel a lot healthier physically and mentally in the after photo. I'm guessing from your location that @robertgenito got you on Steemit?

@fruitdaddy Thank you :) Yes, I feel like my emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual bodies are a lot more balanced. Yes, I know @robertgenito :) and he did get me on steemit. Did he get you on here, too?

No but I'm getting a big ass vegan crew on Steemit from my area too. I just know he is the OG fruity on Steemit out there in Sarasota.

@fruitdaddy 😂 OG fruity! Where are you from? Good job!

The other side of the country. Tacoma, WA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63