To eat or not to eat?

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

What is ok to eat?

For many cultures, eating animals has been a necessity for survival.
Nowadays, what we eat is based on what’s socially acceptable. A dog is a pet and a pig is food.
38E42BAA-B944-4D95-B0D8-79B6FA694FFF.png
Mr. Wildman makes some good points in this video. By understanding why we see these animals as food we change our ways.
341F408B-EA13-4C04-9977-67C3E0A2F347.png

For me it’s not the eating of meat that bothers me. It how the animals are treated. These factory farms are terrible, the quality of life of the animal along with all the chemicals they pump them full of is enough for me to pass. It’s just not healthy any way you look at it.

I am not a vegan or vegetarian but I am slowly moving in that direction. One day I will move away from animal products but for now I try and lessen my use and not contribute to the suffering.
In this day in age I think we could all seek our nutrition from better sources.

My plan is to make a few geodomes and grow my food all year. I believe with a solid diet of greens, veggies, mushrooms, fruits, and nuts I could live a guilt free and healthy life.

Sort:  

Hi, I would suggest by starting with Vegetarian diet and only then slowly transitioning to Vegan diet. I am vegetarian myself, for around 1 year already. I actually found it easy to quit meat. You just have to be ready to experiment and try new meatless recipes!
I wish you good luck!

Thanks for the advice, I’m starting to try new meatless foods.

Great post. I understand that shifting to a healthier diet regime will benefit me in the long run. However, it will be hard for me to change my diet. I love meat, hence my last post was about my love for steak. But one day, I will be more conscious of my food choices if I want to have a healthy lifestyle.

It’s not easy, I at least get eggs and milk from local Amish. They have a better system and the animals seem to have a better life. One day I’ll get a combination of foods that will replace animal products.
Right now it’s really hard as it’s in everything

I really appreciate all dialogue that make people THINK about what they eat, and why, an what effect their choice has on the world around them an other Beings. Super thanks for being first cab off the rank with your upvote in my new post just now. :) Grateful.

I used to think like this, used to make my own compost, have worm farms and grow my own herbs and vegetables. Studied permaculture, then one day I realised the grass and weeds grow for free with zero added inputs - ruminants,(animals that chew a cud and have 4 stomaches) can break down that grass and turn it into precious fatty acids, especially the ones you can not get from plants.

Now I have been full carnivore on grass fed beef for 7.5 months. Those animals may not be fully wild, but they live outside and contribute to healthy soil creation.

This is part of my minimalistic journey, I have also tried dry fasting and only eat once a day usually. My meditation and movement practices are still as rewarding and challenging as ever, but none of us are here forever. Nature cycles or it would not work.

Yeah, I know we need to kill and consume to live. Part of nature.... A clean killed wild animal is a better death the natural way. However, the amount of factory farms is pretty sick. Unless you know the cow you are getting it’s hard to say.... I have just grown a distrust of meat after seeing the nasty side. I used to hunt and butcher my own meat. Today I see it a lot differently.

Yes I agree. Its the grass I am seeking. grass that has been processed by the unique and powerful enzymes present in the fermentation vats of a ruminants stomach.

Yaks can produce this from hardy weeds and rich highland grasses, Sherpas can use the ghee without harming the animal to perform incredible feats in low oxygen.

I will rarely eat from factories, will always pay more for grass-fed or wild. Hunting is not a choice for me, but I sure I would enjoy the environment more than the kill or butchering.

Thank you for your wise and thoughtful reply, much respect.

Resteemed to over 15800 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

This post was resteemed and upvoted by @otobot and for Upvote 10+ Account and Resteem to 4400+ Send 0.05 SBD or STEEM with URL in Memo thanks to: @psychphilosopher

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Wachagan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I agree with you. It's saddening to know how those animals are being treated. The problem is that if you would like to ensure that all animals will be treated well then prices of food will skyrocket. And let's face it. Noone wants that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70