๐Ÿ’› VEGAN CHILI RECIPE ๐Ÿ’›

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Sometimes there are nights when I feel like something rich and comforting, but don't want to eat a meat heavy dish. This is when I make my favourite vegan chilli. I use some very aromatic flavours, and it is just so soothing and warming!

IMG_2503.jpg

It's super easy and quick to make, and sure beats standing in front of the stove for hours like one would for a meat chilli. Sometimes, if I'm feeling particularly luxurious, I'll pop a fried egg on top. MMMMhhhm!

IMG_2506.jpg

Without further ado, here's how to do it.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 x 400g can of chickpeas
  • 1 x 400g can of baked beans in tomato sauce
  • 1 x 400g can whole, peeled tomatoes
  • 1 onion, chopped into rings
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped finely
  • 1 t coriander, chopped very finely
  • cumin
  • chilli flakes
  • salt and pepper

IMG_2507.jpg

METHOD:

Fry the onion and garlic with the cumin, coriander, chilli and a bit of salt until translucent. Once softened, add the baked beans and the liquid in the can, as well as the chickpeas (minus their liquid) and the tomatoes.

Simmer at a low heat until the liquid has cooked away, and the mixture has thickened. Garnish with coriander, and a fried egg if you're feeling fancy. You could also drop a little greek yogurt if you're looking for a bit of creaminess.

Serve with a nice chunk of fresh bread, and feel the cockles of your heart be warmed.

IMG_2502.jpg

Hope you loved this recipe, and please let me know if you make it yourself!

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort: ย 

Yummy! I want some! and actually this is pretty much the kind of food I would love to have it now :x:(

Hehe, if only I could fly it over to you!

Yummy in my tummy girl! I'm sorry that I'm late on the vote but certainly not on enjoying this recipe <3 I LOVE chili! This looks fantastic! <3

thank you so much! i feel like I haven't seen you for sso long!!

I'm not vegan, but I LOVE veg and often eat mainly veg dishes and this looks like it needs to go in my recipe list. I also love anything with coriander and just planted some in the greenhouse yesterday!

oh how funny, I literally just planted coriander this evening, and I LOVEEEE it too xxx

Thanks @princewwmewmew for sharing preparation of this helathful food. I hope its delicious. After seeing this water come in my mouth

Thank you! You know I see a lot of people sat โ€œthe water comes on my mouthโ€ and I think it sounds so funny. The saying is actually โ€œ my mouth started to waterโ€

Loving your vegan recipe.I do a curryfied ( my made up word) beans.With chilli flakes and garlic and onions.Never actually thought of putting chickpea init.Your recipe looks so unctious.My type of comfort food!๐Ÿ‘

Ooh sounds great. I love anything curry. I actually just did a butternut soup with curry flavors over on the adsactly blog

Chilli is one of our favourite winter meals. We use a great slow cooker recipe. I love that you use chickpeas in your recipe. We make chickpea burgers sometimes and they are so yummy. You have so many fantastic recipes that you share here. You should totally make a Steemit recipe book. You could have it printed and sell it here on Steemit.

Ok this is now the point where I have to follow you :-) up from me for you delicious chili ๐ŸŒถ recipe!

Mine are growining
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@avizor/colorchallenge-thursdaygreen-this-will-be-a-chili-bush

I'm not a vegan myself but sounds worth a try. Yummy!

Wow, i can feel the spiciness of this stuff and coriander leaves just making it perfect and giving that natural view to it. And i always believe that, in food stuff the most important thing is taste, then appearance, and this dish have that strong appearance. Thanks for sharing this post with us, with ingredient details and step by step "How To" process. Wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. ๐Ÿ™‚

I like this vegan version, would like to try it with some nachos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 61362.14
ETH 2643.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58