Purple & Sweet Potato Split Pea Slow Cooker Stew

in #vegan7 years ago

Well it is looking like the entire weekend here is going to be rainy, and many other places where my Steemian buddies live have snow.  Either condition always makes me want to break out the slow cooker!  Although to be fair, I don't really need an excuse to use either one or both of my favorite kitchen appliance.  There is just something about dreary weather that calls for a steaming hot bowl of goodness!

I'm keeping it short on the commentary today since I've got to get to work then @dksart and I will spend the rest of the weekend celebrating both of our fathers for their respective birthdays.  We are just getting in to birthday season now, so lots of weekends will be spent with family coming up soon!  No complaints, though it does make me even more motivated to cook up really clean recipes during the week to counteract a little extra indulgence during the festivities. ;)

This is another one of those ridiculously easy recipes where pretty much all you do is chop up a few things and toss it in the slow cooker for the day (or overnight).  Potatoes probably rank right behind peanut butter on my favorite food list, but the purple potatoes are extra special.  They not only taste delicious like all spuds do, but they are full of healthy antioxidants that give them that rich color.  Sweet potatoes also carry lots of great nutrients due to their vibrant hue, and I thought the savory and sweet would be a nice play off each other.  It's a pretty simple stew, so feel free to jazz it up any way you like to serve!

Purple & Sweet Potato Split Pea Slow Cooker Stew

Makes 6-8 servings

  • 2 small to medium sweet potatoes, cut into chunks
  • 12-15 small purple potatoes, cut into chunks
  • 2 large shallots, peeled & chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups shredded purple cabbage
  • 1 cup green split peas, rinsed & soaked overnight
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 2 teaspoon dried fennel seeds
  • 1 teaspoon fresh minced rosemary or 1/2 teaspoon dried
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 lemon, zest & juice
  • optional: nutritional yeast & dijon mustard to serve

Prepare all of your vegetables then place everything through the broth into the slow cooker.  Cover and cook on low for 7-8 hours.

Once the potatoes have softened and the split peas are cooked through, remove the bay leaves and mix in your lemon zest and juice.  Taste and adjust any spices to your liking.  I served with a little sprinkle of nooch and a squirt of organic dijon mustard mixed in to amp up the flavor.

*If you want it even thicker take a stick blender to the stew a few times around, leaving mostly big chunks but breaking down the potatoes a little bit more so the starches get released. :)

Have a great weekend guys!

Sort:  

Oh yum, sweet potatoes! <3 <3 <3 We call them kumara here in NZ :D
Where I live is not hot enough to grow them normally, but that doesn't stop me from trying, lol. One day..
I'm also beginning to grow varieties of purple potatoes. Your recipe sounds so lovely I'm going to bookmark it to try this winter.

p.s: I hope you don't mind, but..
As a radio show researcher for @pennsif, I was wondering whether you might consider being a guest on his radio show, for a 15 minute slot? It would be wonderful for the listeners to hear about the vegan lifestyle from people who live it.
You can read about the show here: https://steemit.com/mspwaves/@pennsif/msp-waves-radio-pennsif-s-alternative-lifestyle-show-three-guest-finders-join-the-team
The show is (obviously) about people living alternative lifestyles in some way.
Pennsif has posted a recording of his first show if you would like to listen and get a feel for it.
https://steemit.com/mspwaves/@pennsif/msp-waves-radio-pennsif-s-alternative-lifestyle-show-friday-26-january-2018-recording
The show airs live Fridays, 10pm(UTC).
You can reply or find me on Discord (same name). My fingers are crossed. Much appreciated. :D

Hey there! I would love to visit New Zealand some day! Even if you have trouble growing sweet potatoes. ;) I hope you finally have some luck with your potatoes, they are such a wonderful food source.

I will definitely check out the radio show. I don't always love to hear myself speak, but I'll consider giving it a go. ;) No promises, but I'll get back to you after I have a listen!

Thanks, I appreciate that - the third show recording is probably the best one so far (there were some technical issues in the second, since resolved). Lots of ideas for future shows in the works, too.

Everyone should have "Must visit NZ" on their bucket list ;)
In my area we experienced a few weeks of drought conditions so the garden suffered greatly. I am dreading digging up the potatoes to find underdeveloped ones only. If I stall they might magically have come right, lol.

Winter comfort food indeed. Would be nice on this chilly tropical day... but hey can't complain! Stil 23C (or 73F) here ;) Another beautiful meal.

Haha, it's all relative to what you're used to! It's actually looking like some slightly warmer weather is sticking around here, but I will eat soup any time. 😁

Hehe... same here. Love soup and stews even when it hot outside ;)

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Oh this is definitely one for a cold day! Looks yummy, such bright colours! Like they say, eat a rainbow every day!

Life is more fun in color! ;)

Delicious! Thanks for showing to the world how to be real Vegan!

🤗 I do what I can! I'm not always perfect, but at least in my own kitchen I try to be!

This looks delicious. I almost want to go vegan when I see recipes for food that looks so amazing.

Just almost?! ;) Haha, the good thing is you can try a vegan meal every now and then without having to go all in if you don't want.

Anther delicious meal full of nutrients. Awesome recipe my Dear 💖😊💖

Thank you for the kind compliment as always m friend! 🤗

This sounds delicious! :)

Thank you! Nothing fancy, but it still makes you feel good. 😁

Thanks for the recipe! I use my slow cooker most days as a busy mom, since it helps me save time!
I love the colors of the sweet potatoes! This just looks so good! Ill have to try making it. :D

It really is such a time saver! Glad it looks like something you might like to add to your rotation!

That color =) it looks so delicious :)

I really do love purple food! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73