How Veganism Compelled Me To Change My Habits: Following Logic and Admitting My Wrongs.

in #vegan7 years ago

One of the best things I’ve done in my life outside of forging the single most important relationship in my life (with my beloved Hayley, of course), is becoming vegan.

As a male vegan, I’m a minority of a minority – albeit, a very quickly growing minority.

Making the conscious decision to change my way of life and eating back around 2012 marked a point in my life that ended up being a save point. I was never going back to the start of the game. I never want to participate in the mass death and exploitation of animals that is simplified, watered down and called an industry. In a human context, this is called genocide. Heated language? You bet.

Social transformation is never easy. It will pit you against your own friends when you threaten their cultural norms.

I don’t think it has ever been easy for me insofar as having to deal with uneducated and ignorant people pushing their own beliefs on me after having to politely let staff know that I won’t be participating in the Melbourne Cup stakes or eating the cake made on eggs and milk. As any seasoned vegan will tell you, they’ve heard this line a zillion times. When I see it coming, I interject and steal those words right out of their mouth. Especially when I’m feeling a bit cocky or I’m not in the mood for niceties;

How do you know if someone’s vegan? Don’t worry, they’ll tell you.

I’m not sure how this saying ever got so much traction, and I guess I’m not helping to stop it in it’s tracks by repeating it, but it at least needs to be addressed.

As a vegan, there’s so much food I eat and I love it. From fruit sorbets, lasagne, pizza, roasts and falafel I’m spoiled for choice.

Vegan pizza from Melbourne's Red Sparrow, an all-vegan pizza place.

However, to avoid contributing to worldwide animal use and abuse, I do avoid eating and buying meat and animal derivatives to dry up the supply of these products. Supply and demand is a simple economic theory based on the fact if people buy a product, it is in the interest of the seller to make more of it. If no one is buying a particular product now, they are unlikely to buy it later. Thus there is no profit to be made in attempting to sell an unwanted product. In order for me to avoid those products, I need to know what’s in them. If you’re at a restaurant or with friends, you need to tell people you’re vegan. If I never interacted with people and just had to read ingredient lists, the saying would probably be more like;

How do you know if someone’s vegan? Don’t worry, they’ll be the ones scrutinizing the ingredient lists.

Doesn’t have the same punch to it, does it?

Anyone actively supporting positive change, is going to talk. And let me tell you, when I first went vegan, I made quite the fuss!

Prior to becoming vegan, I ate every food I came across. I really didn’t discriminate. I ate red meat, poultry, dairy, eggs and never read an ingredients list. I became a vegetarian when I decided to get more involved in meditation and Buddhist teachings, part of which discouraged harming or eating the flesh of animals (which was a direct result of lethal harm), as that being may have been a mother of mine in a past life. This was bad karma! Big setback to Nirvana. Off limits, you see. During this time, I also took a course in environmental ethics and values during my university days. The course aimed at looking at the spectrum of how humanity treats the environment and those beings who inhabit it. It ranged from Gaia Theory where the actual world is mother earth and you need to treat her with the utmost respect, all the way to the embodiment of large mining companies bent on ripping, tearing and harvesting the Earth’s resources.

“Animal rights” was on the end toward Gaia theory. This was my first in-depth, academic look into why we should abolish animal slavery.

I was particularly fascinated with two outstanding authors and ethicists – Peter Singer and Tom Regan (pronounced Raygun). The videos below are absolutely worth watching in a setting by yourself, late afternoon with a gentle warmth on your face with headphones, preferably sipping some hibiscus tea. Specific much? Hehe. I really love setting the mood for many of life’s activities! I have my special comic reading spot, too.

On a serious note, it will make you think,

“Oh, shit. They’re just right and I’ve been doing it wrong this whole time.”

Well, it did for me.

Peter Singer discusses animal ethics with Richard Dawkins.

Tom Regan on the Late Late Show in Part 1 of 4.

Around the same time, I watched Earthlings. I already came to the vegan conclusion before watching this film. My logic was;

“Yeah, why the hell am I eating animals if they feel pain and I don’t need to in order to thrive?”

Holy shit. This film almost scarred me for life. I didn’t watch the whole thing and really, you shouldn’t. If you’re already a vegan and convinced of your path, DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM.

I implore anyone who eats animals and their products to watch the film until they get a gut reaction.

Once you get that, your mind will be made up. Do yourself a favour and don’t traumatise yourself any longer, just ditch the meat, eggs and dairy to remove yourself from the system of exploitation. With the transition, comes a free soapbox to use at your discretion!

Where do you draw the line? Can I eat oysters and insects?

Tom Regan says to draw a line with a pencil. When we find out more information about the ability of an animal to feel pain and suffer, it will allow us to make better decisions as to what we ought to eat based on moral grounds. I don’t eat insects and oysters because I don’t need to! It’s also probably not ideal to consume filter feeders that may accumulate toxins and heavy metals.

One of the most compelling arguments that I was faced with upon my journey through these waters is that if a being can feel pain, joy and happiness, then I have a moral obligation to not harm that animal unless it was justifiable.

Is killing pigs, sheep, cows, poultry or fish justifiable?

Considering that there are often huge debates in Australia when a surfer is inevitably bitten by a shark as to whether the shark should be killed, I think it’s high time people look at their own dinner plate or breakfast bowl. And for what it’s worth, killing the shark would be a stupid idea – it’s often a case of mistaken identity (human paddling on surfboard looks a lot like a seal) and it’s a risk you take when you enter the domain of a frightening apex predator. I suppose this dispels the myth that humans are atop the food chain, right?

Is the animal an immediate source of danger?

If you happen to be walking through a forest on a trail and a hidden snake strikes, your reaction may be to run or to kick the snake. If you harmed the snake in defence, it would seem justifiable.

Does the animal need to be killed for sustenance?

While I will most definitely write more on the topic of nutrition (despite not being a nutritionist!), considering the healthiest people on the planet – those that live in blue zones consume little to no meat or animal products, it would stand to reason that we could actually benefit by not eating animal products.

Does the consumption of animals benefit the environment?

As we face the largest environmental worldwide threat that is climate change, the agricultural industry is responsible for more greenhouse gas emissions than the entire transportation sector, largely attributed to methane production from cows. Interestingly, people often argue that it is better for cows to live outside eating grass and enjoying the sunshine. Of course, this is all before it’s grizzly end. While I totally agree, a good life would involve a cow being in its natural environment eating grass, cows burp more methane on a diet of grass than of grain. The ability to feed cows grain is a temptation that often encourages farmers to keep more animals in a smaller space in muddy, eroding tracts of land in less than favourable conditions. Short answer: If you’re looking to reduce greenhouse emissions, it’s time to stop breeding cows for consumption.

When or if you become a vegan, you’ll feel a torrent of emotions hit you all at once. Well, you’ll probably just get angry. Really Angry.

Have you ever seen someone kick a dog in public? Maybe a parent belt their child in a supermarket? If you’re able to get over your fear of attack yourself, you’re probably going to yell at the animal abuser or parent for the mistreatment of the dog or child. Just because you didn’t see all the steps getting the chicken to the plate, it’s chronology leads to a horror that lends a more aware person to want to scream or politely tell-off someone for eating that poor creature. Because really, as I have discussed earlier, if you buy it, you condone this mistreatment of the animal.

You’ll soon realise, that despite your anger, they’ll roll their eyes at you and continue eating. Don’t worry. They just don’t get it yet. After all, eating animals has been a conditioned behaviour for most of us in first world countries and is an accepted norm. Beating a child isn’t.

Maybe we need to start treating defenceless animals the same way we treat defenceless toddlers – with love and respect, despite a little frustration at times.

All the best,

Nick.

All content is original.


Are you a meat-eating megalomaniac? Maybe a voluptuous vegan? To show some love, Upvote, Comment and Follow @nickmorphew!

Looking forward to a particular article? Have ideas for the direction of content? Leave your say below. Most comments are read and considered (the shit ones aren't).


References

Cow burps bump up methane. Dr. Karl S. Kruszelnicki.

Bioaccumulation of heavy metals in oyster tissue and shell.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. I wish more people would wake up to this. Going vegan is one of the best things I've ever done. Once your eyes are open you literally have no regrets, ever.

That's one of my wishes, too. It is very hard to sit back and bite your tongue while this sort of mass scale abuse is happening right now.

Thanks for dropping by, Choo.

Nick.

Thanks for the awesome post! I went vegan 2.5 years ago and it was the best decision I made in my life. 🌱💪

I have never seen Eartlings, I don't think I could handle it 😢

No worries! Glad you liked it! That means so much to me. Especially having put a great deal of time into it.

Do you know your exact veganniversary?? Sadly, I never kept track of mine.. it was around 2012 , though.

Earthlings is BRUTAL. Don't watch it. Leave it to the deniers. They are obligated to watch it.

Nick.

Earthlings is one of the saddest movies ever made.

Absolutely gut-wrenching. Movies are made to elicit a response.. my response to Earthlings was the most primal kind of devastation I've felt. Those poor animals.

Hi, good article. I eat meat but have some days in the week when I'm a vegetarian. I've thought about becoming a vegetarian quite a lot, but with veganism I do worry about getting enough protein. What are the best sources of protein that you have in your diet?

This is my favorite/least favorite question!

Our society has this ridiculous idea that we need to eat animal flesh for protein, when plant-based protein is easier to absorb and provides more than what we need in our daily diet!

Before worrying about how much protein you'd be missing, try looking at how much protein you're currently getting and seeing how much protein you actually need. If you're still worried about protein, here's a list of great sources of plant-based protein, along with some more information about protein needs :)

http://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-food/vegan-sources-of-protein/

.. but protein?
.. but lions!
.. but calcium.

Myths go on forever, right. I remember the days when I was saying "but protein". Glad I woke up to it!

Thanks for dropping a line.

Nick.

Thank you for this.
I am trying to develop more muscle definition and the gym instructors go on and on about protein...one even told me he puts a can of tuna into his smoothie for extra protein! I clicked on the link and some of those foods I already knew, some are surprising. Thanks again.

When I'm trying to build muscle, I usually just supplement with vegan protein powders - they have lots of tasty ones, plus they have way more nutrients than whey :) Good luck!!!

Haha.. I think "yoga" hit the nail on the head. Many of the plant based doctors I have heard say that the best way to identify that someone is getting enough protein is if they walked through the door.

You'll likely be getting enough protein if you aren't hungry and eating a normal amount of calories.

Good sources include nuts and seeds (I eat almonds, cashews and walnuts and flax seeds mainly), grains and legumes such as lentils and various beans and peas.

If you're REALLY interested in some terrific whole foods vegan recipes that will turn your mind upside down, check out nutritionfacts.org
And get a hold of Dr Greger's How to Not Die Cookbook.

Once you start looking into it more, you'll become more aware of what you're getting on a plant based diet that you're just not getting by consuming meat products.. eg. FIBRE! Lol.

Best part about veganism is probably the regularity!

Anyway, Dr Greger has a great set of resources! You should definitely check out his site.

Cheerio for now!
Nick

Thanks Nick. I think my issue is that most of the vegans and vegetarians I know eat really bland random things like boiled cabbage and gravy for dinner. I know for sure they don't get enough protein. But then I know there are vegan atheletes and body builders. The info you've given is good. I want my kids to know there is more to food than meat and two veg so we often have indian daals etc for dinner. I'll be adding some more of your suggestions now :)

That's really exciting! Its great the kids have such an open minded mum giving them other options.

Stick with Dr Greger's evidence based approach and you'll be set. None of the recipes of his that we've cookee have been bland.

Cheerio.
Nick

Congratulations @nickmorphew! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Dude, your killing it. Great post, well thought out and considered. Part of my realisation was through animal welfare and canine cognition. Earthlings put me over the edge. I lost all faith in humanity that day. I got angry, VERY ANGRY. I just couldn't believe that everyone else was still doing the very same shit I was doing.

Now I am going down a different path, I am doing everything I can to expose the cruelty of all animal industries. The very fact that we as a species exploit every other species for our own gain, we don't even think about the rights that we trample over every single day. I love to show people how easy it is to actually give a Fuck in a world where not giving a Fuck is the norm. If that is through their stomachs so be it.

Going vegan is the best thing my family have ever done. Everything is better as a vegan. EVERYTHING.

Keep up the great work Nick. You have a new follower.

Yo, Moon!

Great words, my friend. Isn't it weird that somehow we just make that switch? But then again, I think we are totally geared towards compassion. It takes a lot of effort to train people to feel nothing when they harm another creature - this conditioning isn't actually even needed for the vast majority of people, because when they go to the supermarket, they see none of the blood, screams and cries. It is as though, because they didn't do it, that they're still good people. Good people just don't allow this to happen when their blinders are lifted.

I'm very envious of you. Hayley and I are the only vegans in our immediate family. And while I've been the dominant person (and often seen as the crazy one) no one has really tried to "shoot me down".

I agree - veganism is absolute compassion and makes life so much more beautiful.

Moon, for letting me know you're following me, this post gets an upvote! I'll try my best to maintain the quality you deserve and I want to thank you for taking the time out of your day to read my work - I sincerely appreciate it.

All the best,
Nick

For sure it really is a Light bulb moment. We are brought up not to hurt animals but to eat meat, it is an immediate contradiction in our moral compass and one that can take some time for us to see. My family is myself my Wife and my 3 kids, 17, 10 and 8. My folks have cut down quite a bit on their consumption and my sister only eats fish, she wont use any animal testing brands etc... My other brother will probably die with a cow steak or a pig sausage in his mouth. I'll never give up hope for him though, after all I was a BIG meat eater. Now, only monching on plants I am stronger, faster, I sleep better and generally have a much better outlook on life. Plus at nearly 40 years of age I have more energy than I had 10 years ago!

Don't sweat the crazy person tag, I have that in my larger family too! We are the only vegans in our friend group. Again, I am leading by example. I plan on being in the best shape of my life for my 40th and by doing this I can show everyone that not only is being Vegan the most compassionate lifestyle but the best way to be ripped as you age!

People just don't believe that you can feel this way only eating plants. It is hard to explain thoroughly to people but hey, they will get it when they get it.

Keep it up man.

Earthlings made me cry from beginning till end. Such a brutal documentary but we cannot ignore the hard reality right? Earthlings and What the Health helped my hubby and I become vegans. Great read and I got my mint, ginger and cardamon tea ready for the documentaries... never seen those two. Thanks for an amazing share!

This is such an important issue and I really appreciate this post. it gives me hope that people have the right mind set towards veganism beside for their own health. I went vegetarian and eventually vegan, I just recently made a post on this and plan to continue with more stories. Earthlings is defiently a must for everyone, I watched it 3 times myself (lots of crying).

Thanks for the inspiring and influential post, keep it up!

Thanks Maddy!

May I ask why you watched it so many times?? You're crazy! Great to hear from another vegan blogger!

Take care,
Nick

This post has received gratitude of 1.11 % from @appreciator thanks to: @nickmorphew.

You got a 2.26% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @nickmorphew!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42