What will your reply be?

in #vegan6 years ago

When your children or grand children ask what did you do to save the world what will your reply be?

This is a question I have thought on for a good long time now. I know what I will say. How about you?

What will your answer be?

Src

Over the last few months study after study have been released multiple statements have been made by global organisations stating that we must reduce meat consumption in order to curb GHG emissions. Emissions that are greatly contributing to global warming. On the 8th of october the IPCC issued this statement. A stark warning on the massive environmental catastrophe that human kind is creating. A catastrophe that could easily be avoided. In richer western nations we have allowed our society to become a fast turn around, disposable, uncaring mess. Fast food, fast fashion, instant cures and the need to create a fast buck are the backbone of this society. This society that will bring humanity and all other life to the brink of extinction, if not over the edge.

Biodiversity is also being destroyed by humankind's domestication, policy's. These policy's are to break, reproduce (at whatever means necessary), use and slaughter billions of land animals and catch, kill trillions of sea creatures on an annual basis. This path is not a sustainable one. This path will spell the end of all life as we know it.

SRC

Thankfully, with the advent of social media and other news / information sources people are slowly waking up to these issues. In an article by plantbasednews.org on the 12th Oct 2018 there is some startling and impressive news. "The shift toward plant-based food is being driven by millennials, who are most likely to consider the food source, animal welfare issues, and environmental impacts when making their purchasing decisions," said Fiona Dyer, Consumer Analyst at GlobalData. src . But for the older generations, what will be their lightning bolt moment? How can we reach older generations whom have been raised on the idea that meat and dairy is healthy, sustainable and not at all cruel? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

I know that the path we in my home have chosen is the path that causes the least environmental damage. A path that shows empathy and compassion towards animals. A selfish path for our own health. That path is Veganism and I invite you to join us on out journey to a world filled with abundance, caring healthy people and a world that is safe for all life.

All images unless otherwise sourced and noted as such are my own. Sourced images are clickable to show their source. My own images are typically taken with my HTC ONE.

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

Sort:  

That’s a tough question, one that does not carry an easy answer. My husband and I eat the way we do for various reasons but number one, our bodies run better on our current diet. I cook non stop and send my mom pictures of my food almost every night in hopes I can inspire her to want to re create my same recipes. I also send recipes and pictures to my grandma, who at 82 years old isn’t going to take any fluff from me, but has actually made some of the cakes and breads I’ve shared with her. That is huge to me because my grandpa ends up eating and delighting in these treats none the wiser that they are all fairly nutritious and 100% plant based. My tactic is to get the people in my life to try a few of the dishes my husband I eat, giving them exposure to the taste of vegan food without calling it vegan food. For some reason that words has a strange connotation for many so we just avoid it.

It’s a hard question though and without the mass media appealing to the older generations when sifting through this data, I don’t think it’s a question that’ll get answered any time soon.

Totally true, once people hear "vegan food" they clam up, its like it will make them into an activist or something. When in reality it would just make them healthier. Koudos to grandma too! Fair play to her. I love to give people the food I eat and watch as they really enjoy it the when they hear its "vegan food" they are typically in disbelief. The planet needs more like you and hubby, we dont have a huge amount of time left to stop the destruction that is occuring as a result of animal agriculture,

You’re so right, we don’t. I think most are so distracted with having to work several jobs to make a living, Internet and political propaganda, may even be drowning in pharmaceuticals, that saving the planet misses their radar. It’s sad that we are all so distracted that our home falls to the way side. Anyway, Grandma is a gangster so I have to introduce these things slowly and in non threatening ways. Haha… what better way then with pumpkin and zucchini breads 🤷🏼‍♀️

When your children or grand children ask what did you do to save the world what will your reply be?

Took my truck off the road about 10 years ago and became an aspiring vegan and passionate bicyclist. 🚴

Yes, yes, yes, great work! We love to cycle in my house too. When we lived in an urban area all journeys where possible where made by bike. All school trips, trips for small shops, visiting relatives etc. We only got into the car for the big weekly shop! I live out in the countryside now and there is no safe way to cycle with young kids. We do still get out on a quiet weekend for a leisure cycle. We are hoping to move back to a more urban area where the bikes will come back into full effect.

If you ever want any help on the Vegan thing just shout. I'll be glad to help.

If you ever want any help on the Vegan thing just shout. I'll be glad to help.

Much appreciated! ✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32