You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHEN YOU FIND OUT YOUR GUEST IS A VEGAN!!!

in #vegan7 years ago

Papa, it looked like a delicious vegan lunch. I love the way that you took the unexpected vegan requirements in your stride. Once, years ago, we had a few children over, friends of my sons'. Now to understand how I was completely taken off guard, I need to give just a little bit of background. I was brought up in the apartheid era of South Africa. The idea to invite friends of other races into my home, let alone to embrace other cultures and diets, was unthinkable. But I am a with-it mother, and we absolutely welcomed all of our children's friends from every race and culture. But wow! how that opened my eyes. It was actually such a simple thing. One of the friends was a catholic. Being a staunch protestant, the idea of anyone with another religion in my own home was...well, unthinkable. So here I cooked the most delicious meal that Friday evening for all the friends: meat, meat, meat, potato salad with bacon, homemade bread rolls - with bacon...you get the drift. Only to find out I could not feed one of the children because it is Friday, they do not eat meat, and definitely no bacon. The poor child went to bed with a few slices of store bought bread. But I learned my lesson. Now I always ask the preferences of guests. And also, since then, having my mind opened up, I have experienced some delicious cooking from other cultures in our beautiful land.

What I actually want to say, is that we are all enriched by learning about people with different beliefs, culture, race, backgrounds, etc. And steemit is the ideal platform. Thanks for your beautiful post, as always.

Sort:  

What an interesting story. Thank you for sharing it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53