🥡 Homemade Chinese Takeaway! 🥡

in #vegan5 years ago

Hey Steemers! I've had a major hankering for Chinese food since my all you can eat Vegan buffet the other day so I decided to try and create my own take away at home!


When looking at a Chinese take away menu, it is a little disheartening to see just how few vegan options are available, so it's a massive relief to realise that with all the inventive meat substitutes that keep being created, we can make our favourites at home!

10.jpg


Now I realise that this is a little bit of a cheat meal... meaning I didn't make much of it and a lot of it relies on ready made items but the point of this post is not to share some culinary wizardry- it is to show you how easy it is to make things that you never thought possible using readily available ingredients and some 'accidentally vegan' pre-made products.



What You'll Need:


  • 1 pack vegan 'mock duck'- I used Linda McCartney's Shredded Hoisin Duck but there are other good brands on the market
  • 1 pack 'Chicken' pieces- I used Quorn but again lots of brands now make these
  • Small bag of mixed stir fry veggies
  • 2 inch chunk of cucumber
  • 3 spring onions
  • Small tortilla wraps
  • Rice noodles
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 sachet satay sauce
  • 1 small bottle of hoisin sauce

Optional sides:

  • Veggie spring rolls
  • Vegan Oriental crackers.

1.jpg


Method:


  • Thinly slice your cucumber and spring onions.

2.jpg


  • Heat a tablespoon of oil in 2 large pans, then add the 'duck' to one and the 'chicken' to another. Cook on a medium heat for a few minutes.

3.jpg


  • Add the hoisin sauce to the 'duck'.

4.jpg


  • Add the satay sauce to the 'chicken'.

5.jpg


  • Heat well, stirring occasionally.

  • Add the stir fry and a couple tablespoons of soy sauce to the chicken, heat for a couple more minutes.

6.jpg


  • Heat the wraps in the microwave and prepare the rice noodles according to the packet instructions.

  • Spoon the duck into the wraps with spring onion and cucumber. Serve the chicken satay on the rice noodles with a side ramekin of soy sauce for dipping the spring rolls.

It's that easy!

7.jpg

SO much better than a takeaway and takes literally minutes to prepare! Perfect for a lazy weekend at home on the couch with a good movie 😊

chines.jpg


I hope you enjoyed this post- if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more delicious vegan food!


Sort:  

Wow such a brilliant idea you had. I am going to make this at Christmas when I am with my family. I am vegetarian and my two grand daughters are both vegan so it’s perfect. And we all love Chinese! Not always easy to get from your local takeaway shop to meet dietary requirements.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

You should totally try it! My mother saw a picture of this and demanded I make it for the family on Christmas eve 😊 Can't wait to see their faces when they try it!

yum! you did a good job... looks good!

Thanks so much! I was pleased with it 😊

Homemade chinese takeaway is clearly something I didn't know existed but something I always knew I needed. That looks so divine, I need to live vicariously through you right now lol

I know right? That's the great thing-if you find something you think you can't have as a vegan, there is ALWAYS a way to make it happen 🌱

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99